We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wonderful Get-away”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Richmond
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Historic Mankin Mansion Bed and Breakfast
Ranked #4 of 13 Richmond B&B and Inns
Reviewed January 16, 2012

Bought the Living Social deal and enjoyed our trip more than expected. We had a gorgeous room and the most hospitable hosts. They love what they do and it shows. The breakfast was delicious and so were all the little extras, like the cheese platter and snacks that were in our room. The only downside was that they were having trouble with the internet in our room. Fortunately, they had a comfortable game room where we could bring our laptops and get some work done.

  • Stayed: January 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank aabejon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (83)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

28 - 34 of 83 reviews

Reviewed January 11, 2012

My boyfriend and I purchased the Living Social deal for a 2 night stay at the B&B. We ended up receiving everything in the deal plus more than we ever expected. The owners are extremely hospitable, attentive and accommodating without being intrusive on the experience, which can sometimes happen at B&B's. The Gardener's Cottage had more than enough room for 2 of us including snacks (candies, popcorn, cheese platter and wine) upon our arrival, comfortable rooms and a cute kitchen equipped with anything you will need. A gourmet cooking class must have been taken for the type of breakfast the owners were able to prepare each morning. The classic mansion grounds were perfect for pictures or outside relaxation during your stay. If you prefer to stay close, a variety of chain restaurants are less than 2 miles away (Olive Garden, Longhorn, Applebee's). Downtown Richmond is about 10 miles away with a variety of fashionable and sophisticated restaurants, shops, lounges, etc. Highly recommend the mansion for a weekend getaway if you're looking for relaxation, a variety of activities and exceptional service.

Room Tip: Gardener's Cottage was perfect for two adults. It would also be good for two adults with childr...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ARJ124
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 29, 2011

We were greeted by the owner who was very friendly. When he showed us to our room, it was actually a seperate cottage, with a living room, 2 bedrooms, full kitchen, it was a great place; the only drawback was the very small bathroom. But it was a very nice place, very quite and the breakfasts were wonderful! It was off the beated path but it was very easy to get around town and to the Interstate.

  • Stayed: October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Kimberly V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 22, 2011

I purchased the LivingSocial deal for The Mankin Mansion as a Christmas present for my boyfriend. We stayed on a Sunday and Monday night and had a perfect experience. We stayed in the Jefferson Suite and loved the sun room! The bottle of wine, popcorn and candy were a wonderful touch. The beds were amazingly comfortable. Only complaint I have is that the pillows were a bit too soft for my taste.

Breakfast was amazing both mornings. Paula and Martin were so attentive and sweet. I loved them so very much! The mango bellinis were particularly delicious.

The grounds were spectacular and everything was just magical. I can't say enough great things about this place!

  • Stayed: December 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Casey C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 22, 2011

My husband and I were searching for a B&B close to our Williamsburg, VA home as we were getting away for our 19th wedding anniversary. It fell on a work day and he needed to be able to vacation one work day plus half of another day and return to work. This worked great for location. I found it through LivingSocial.

Room Tip: Bridal Cottage fantastic and romantic.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Boltwoman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 12, 2011

My boyfriend and I - both from CA - found this Bed & Breakfast, which is also a wedding resort, through LivingSocial - and we are so so glad we did! We had a wonderful time at this relaxing B&B after a very busy, fast-paced time in DC. The owners, Paula & Martin, were incredibly friendly and accommodating. We stayed in the Farmer's Cottage, which had the most comfortable bed and adorable country-style decorations. The breakfast was delicious each day, and they were easily able to accommodate my vegetarian diet and my boyfriend's aversion to eggs! I know we will definitely make another visit whenever we're in the area again! Oh, and the game room is fantastic - we spent a few hours in there every night playing pool, darts, foosball, checkers, and basketball.

  • Stayed: August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank missruthamy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 1, 2011

My husband and I stayed at the Mankin Mansion in June and we had such a great time. The proprietors treated us like family, and we felt welcome from the minute we arrived. We got stuck in traffic and didn't get into Richmond until late at night. I called to let them know and they checked me in over the phone! Upon our arrival there was a typed letter to us giving instructions of what to do. The room was fabulous, and the game room was so fun.
The grounds are beautiful, the breakfast was FANTASTIC (did I mention that I told them about my gluten allergy and they made me a gluten-free breakfast every morning?), and the people were so friendly.

Overall it was one of my favorite vacations in my life. I cannot wait to go back and spend more time there.

  • Stayed: June 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank musikid5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Richmond hotels
5.4 mi away
The Jefferson Hotel
The Jefferson Hotel
#1 of 82 in Richmond
1,317 reviews
4.8 mi away
The Berkeley Hotel
The Berkeley Hotel
#8 of 82 in Richmond
943 reviews
5.3 mi away
Linden Row Inn
Linden Row Inn
#6 of 82 in Richmond
1,080 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
10.6 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Richmond/Glenside
17.6 mi away
Hilton Richmond Hotel & Spa / Short Pump
5 mi away
Hilton Richmond Downtown
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Historic Mankin Mansion Bed and Breakfast? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Historic Mankin Mansion Bed and Breakfast

Address: 4300 Oakleys Ln, Richmond, VA 23223-5956
Location: United States > Virginia > Richmond
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Kitchenette
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 13 B&Bs / Inns in Richmond
Price Range: $125 - $295 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Historic Mankin Mansion Bed and Breakfast 3*
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to Historic Mankin Mansion. The ideal setting for a bed and breakfast stay. Enjoy the best of both worlds: a location close to modern day Richmond, all the while experiencing the ambiance of another era on this historic estate. We combine Southern Hospitality, Lasting History and Exceptional Service. Our suites and cottages have been lovingly restored and appointed with antique and vintage decor. Whether visiting the Richmond area for pleasure, a romantic getaway, vacation or a business traveler wanting personal attention. We are also available for corporate retreats. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Historic Mankin Mansion b&b
Historic Mankin Mansion Hotel Richmond

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing