We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Hilton Garden Inn”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Hilton Richmond Downtown
Ranked #8 of 81 Hotels in Richmond
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersBronze level
Wilson, North Carolina
Level Contributor
10 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Hilton Garden Inn”
Reviewed June 5, 2014

Very nice looking hotel, staff was very helpful and courteous. Lobby was spacious and very clean. My room was large, clean and well appointed. I would definitely consider staying here again. Lunch was wraps, nothing very spectacular. There are several good restaurants in the area as well. Valet parking was a little expensive for the area but I felt like my car was in a safe area and well attended to.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank RodneyG
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
tripin1, General Manager at Hilton Richmond Downtown, responded to this review, June 9, 2014
Dear Rodney;

Thanks for your great feedback and review of our Hilton Garden on Tripadvisor. I was glad to learn you enjoyed your visit with us, and we certainly hope to see you back soon. We'll share your comments with the team. Safe travels ahead.

Sincerely,

John Cario - GM
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,439 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    793
    435
    138
    47
    26
See reviews for
357
271
75
586
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (258)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
New York City, New York
1 review
Reviewed June 2, 2014

Great hotel, great accommodations. Absolutely best staff: great communication skills, attentive, pleasant, friendly, knowledgeable, courteous. Clean with large rooms and great housekeeping staff. Great experience begins at entrance from Valet staff to Front Desk Staff to Exceptional Restaurant Staff to Accommodating Support Hotel staff. The best of southern hospitality. Great Management staff who are accessible.

Room Tip: All rooms are good.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Frederick L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
tripin1, General Manager at Hilton Richmond Downtown, responded to this review, June 4, 2014
Dear Frederick;

Thanks so much for your great review about our "Great Hotel". We'll share with the team your wonderful comments about the hotel. We hope to see you back soon.

John Cario
GM
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dacula, United States
1 review
Reviewed June 2, 2014

excellent hotel experience rooms large and quite . The hotel staff were friendly and welcoming throughout my stay. Only area of improvement would be showers water pressure was light and I felt like I didn't get shampoo out of my hair !

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Hilton Garden Inn

Helpful?
Thank Michael F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
tripin1, General Manager at Hilton Richmond Downtown, responded to this review, June 4, 2014
Dear Michael,

Thank you for your recent visit to Richmond and stay with us. Glad to hear you enjoyed your visit, however disappointed to hear the water pressure in your room wasn't the best. As noted in my personal email to you we will investigate that rooms showerhead and pressure to ensure it is functioning properly. I do apologize for this inconvenience, and hope you'll return again soon !

Sincerely,

John Cario - GM
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Richmond, Virginia
Level Contributor
27 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed May 27, 2014

This hotel never ceases to please. I have stayed here multiple times and every single time have had a great experience. The valet service and the front desk check in service was so helpful and friendly. The room was incredible and the bed and pillows oh so soft and comfortable. The entire hotel was very clean. I don't think I passed a single employee that didn't take time to say hi. I HIGHLY recommend this hotel to anyone staying in the Richmond, VA area.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Tammy A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
tripin1, General Manager at Hilton Richmond Downtown, responded to this review, June 2, 2014
Dear Tammy;

Thanks for your post about your recent "Great Accommodations" with us in Richmond. Glad to hear you also enjoyed your nights sleep with our bedding. Hope to see you back soon.

John and team.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Allentown, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
40 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed May 27, 2014

Just stayed at the Hilton Garden Inn in downtown Richmond VA. Clean, but small, rooms. Weird room numbering system on the floors. Some rooms are an extremely long, long walk from the elevators, with no shortcut.

Hotel staff was amazingly cordial and exhibit the best of southern hospitality. Did not eat in the hotel, but I did enjoy drinks in the bar several times.

Only downside was the fitness room. 3 treadmills. One worked but needed a new belt; the belt was stretched. The other two did not work: one would not start and the other had a sign on it that it did not work. Not good.

Room Tip: Ask to be closer to the elevator. Otherwise its could be a very long walk.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MLG18104
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
tripin1, General Manager at Hilton Richmond Downtown, responded to this review, June 2, 2014
Thank you for your recent stay and feedback. Sorry to hear you were inconvenienced with the treadmills. We did have repairs made for a new monitor, but obviously during your visit this was on order. In the future we also partner with the local YMCA should you need an alternative and expanded facility for your workout. Thanks again for your feedback, and we hope to see you back soon. Sincerely, John Cario - GM.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
VA
Level Contributor
23 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
Reviewed May 24, 2014 via mobile

We are currently in Richmond for a sports event at the convention center and are staying at the Hilton Garden Inn for the third time. I knew I'd better write the review while I was here or I might not do it. I love this hotel for the people, the convenience, and the ambience. It is meticulous cleanliness, and obvious great management. We checked in and went to our room which only had one window. My husband called down and asked if it would be possible for us to move to a brighter room and it was done within minutes. I asked for an early cleaning and it was done. Our rollaway bed was delivered immediately upon our arrival. Our need for an early brown bag breakfast was accommodated for our son. Even little things like grape water pressure impressed me. We will be back the next time we are in Richmond. Highly recommended.

Stayed May 2014
Helpful?
Thank oliviaonthebeach
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
tripin1, General Manager at Hilton Richmond Downtown, responded to this review, June 2, 2014
Dear Olivia On The Beach;

Thanks for your visit and feedback, guessing maybe here for the Volleyball event ? Glad to hear you enjoyed your visit, as well the team addressed your initial room request change, and your other requests during your visit. We look forward to your next Richmond visit.

Sincerely,

John Cario - GM
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Richmond, Virginia
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed May 21, 2014

From the moment we drove up the valet attendants, the front desk person and the restaurant staff were so friendly and efficient, especially both Hannah and Chandra in the restaurant. The location offered us easy off, easy on I -95 access.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank 919LizM
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
tripin1, General Manager at Hilton Richmond Downtown, responded to this review, May 22, 2014
Thank you for your recent stay with us, and recognizing our team. I will thank all, and personally Hannah and Chandra, yes they certainly do a great job for us in the restaurant. Additionally, as you said we are easy to i95 & i64 and very convenient for those traveling to Richmond. We look forward to your next visit, and sincerely appreciate your post to Tripadvisor.

Sincerely,

John Cario - GM
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Richmond hotels
0.5 mi away
Omni Richmond Hotel
Omni Richmond Hotel
#11 of 81 in Richmond
1,855 reviews
0.5 mi away
The Jefferson Hotel
The Jefferson Hotel
#1 of 81 in Richmond
1,224 reviews
0.3 mi away
Linden Row Inn
Linden Row Inn
#6 of 81 in Richmond
1,013 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Quirk Hotel
Quirk Hotel
#9 of 81 in Richmond
670 reviews
0.5 mi away
The Berkeley Hotel
The Berkeley Hotel
#7 of 81 in Richmond
830 reviews
0.1 mi away
Richmond Marriott
Richmond Marriott
#22 of 81 in Richmond
698 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hilton Richmond Downtown? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hilton Richmond Downtown

Property: Hilton Richmond Downtown
Address: 501 E Broad St, Richmond, VA 23219-1809 (Formerly Hilton Garden Inn Richmond Downtown)
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Virginia > Richmond
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Green Hotel in Richmond
#5 Luxury Hotel in Richmond
#5 Romantic Hotel in Richmond
#5 Business Hotel in Richmond
#7 Family Hotel in Richmond
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Hilton Richmond Downtown 4*
Number of rooms: 250
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to the state of Virginia, and the Hilton Richmond Downtown, located in the heart of historic downtown Richmond. This premiere hotel is located within minutes of I-95 and I-64, across the street from the Greater Richmond Convention Center, two blocks from the Richmond Coliseum, and the National Theater, and next door to Richmond Center Stage. Formerly the beloved Miller & Rhoads Department Store, the original marble floors and restored millwork grace the lobby, providing our guests with a combination of historic charm, southern hospitality and modern amenities. This spacious and inviting Hilton hotel is an easy choice for the discerning traveler and for families who are looking for a place they can feel at home. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Hotwire, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Priceline, Cancelon, Hotel.de, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hilton Richmond Downtown reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hilton Garden Inn Richmond Hotel Richmond

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing