We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Surprise!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Hilton Richmond Downtown
Ranked #7 of 82 Hotels in Richmond
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersBronze level
Reviewed January 1, 2014

We stayed here last night for New Year's Eve with another couple. We both have three year old sons and we wanted to do something to celebrate with them. I searched online for a hotel with an indoor pool. After reading reviews I'm glad we chose the HGI. It was clean, comfortable and spacious. We enjoyed the pool and the room service cheeseburger and fries were excellent. The best part was how friendly the staff was. Great hotel.

  • Stayed: December 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank bbrookie1230
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
tripin1, General Manager at Hilton Richmond Downtown, responded to this reviewResponded January 6, 2014

Happy New Year & we thank you for your New Year's visit with us and your great feedback. Glad to hear you enjoyed the pool, burgers, and our friendly staff. We hope to see you back soon. Sincerely, John and team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (1,581)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

1,081 - 1,087 of 1,581 reviews

Reviewed December 30, 2013

Found this hotel to be in an excellent central location. The room was clean and the bed linen was crisp and clean, as well, the bed was very comfortable. The bathroom was clean. This was your basic room, no frills, but we were very pleased. We had drinks and food in the bar area, which was good and the entire staff was so pleasant and helpful. We will definitely stay there again. I labor over picking a hotel, just because I'm soooo picky. So I hope this review will be helpful to others. We stayed at 2 other hotels in downtown Richmond and this was our best experience so far.

  • Stayed: December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Colleen J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LWharton, Front Office Manager at Hilton Richmond Downtown, responded to this reviewResponded December 31, 2013

Thank you for your response! We work hard to provide our guests with clean accomodations and a pleasant, friendly atmosphere. I am glad to see that our efforts are paying off! I will make sure to share your comments with the team. Thanks for staying with us, and we look forward to seeing you again in the new year!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 29, 2013

I have to say - this one surprised me! The food was really GREAT! YES, I KNOW what ya thinkin' - a HGI - really?? YES! It's like they downgraded a Westin and kept the chef along w/his menu :) Bizarre in a good way for guests. Room was average (probably would give the room itself a 3 but the food bumps this property up a notch). Valet parking is required, though they are very careful with your cars (moreso than some dealerships ~ hissss~ HIGHLY recommend them for business and even a short personal getaway. The Tomato Crab soup in particular is TDF!

  • Stayed: November 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank TheNCGeechieGal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
tripin1, General Manager at Hilton Richmond Downtown, responded to this reviewResponded December 30, 2013

Glad to see you tried our "best kept secret" and Chef Matthew's Tomato Crab soup, yes it is tasty. While we are a Hilton Garden Inn, we are also in the former Historic Miller & Rhoads Department Store in Downtown Richmond. This said, we are a bit larger and different than some of the other HGI's, but with the same great Hilton Garden standards, along with a wonderful and talented food team, including our Chef. We hope to see you back soon, and I have already shared your nice review with the Chef. Happy Holidays - John C. - GM.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 29, 2013

Found this hotel to be most convenient when visiting family in the Churchill area of Richmond for Christmas. All hotel employees were found to be more than helpful, especially since they were working on Christmas day. We ate breakfast in the dining room on our day of departure and the staff were just wonderful. Courteous, cheerful and most helpful. Good hotel for the money!

  • Stayed: December 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Hilton Garden Inn
Thank Sandra C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
tripin1, General Manager at Hilton Richmond Downtown, responded to this reviewResponded December 30, 2013

Dear Sandra;

Thank you for your recent Christmas stay and feedback to Tripadvisor. We were glad to have you for the holidays, and we'll certainly thank the team for their efforts on Christmas. We hope you enjoyed your family visit, and we hope to see you back for future visits.

Sincerely,

John - GM

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 28, 2013

Before making the reservation at this hotel, I had read Trip Advisor comments about asking for a room on one of the higher floors, and to ask for an "inner room", i.e., one not overlooking one of the streets, especially Broad St, because of traffic noise. I made the reservation online, making the specific request for an upper floor interior room, and the front desk clerk did just that...We did not mind at all the bit of a walk from the elevator to our room. The room was clean and comfortable. The breakfast buffet (additional charge) was very nicely prepared with cold items on the buffet, and hot items brought to one's table.

All service was excellent...cordial and courteous, from the valet parking attendant to the bellman and the shuttle driver. The shuttle was available within a 2-mile radius and relieved us of having to drive in unfamiliar territory.

Room Tip: To avoid traffic noise, ask for an upper floor, interior room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank KathrynCNC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
tripin1, General Manager at Hilton Richmond Downtown, responded to this reviewResponded December 30, 2013

Dear Kathryn;

Glad to see you read the reviews and selected a quiet interior unit and got a "good night's sleep". Sounded like the rest of your visit was great too ! Hope to see you soon.

Sincerely,

John Cario - GM

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 27, 2013

Huge, spacious room, although it felt like we walked around 3 sides of the building to get there from the elevator. Great location, walked everywhere I wanted to go. Breakfast was really good. Room was clean & comfortable. My only complaint is the shower, very weak!

  • Stayed: December 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank pubcrawler73
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
tripin1, General Manager at Hilton Richmond Downtown, responded to this reviewResponded December 30, 2013

Dear Pubcrawler73; I like your "screen name", did you hit any of the nearby Richmond pubs or restaurants, we have many close by ? We do appreciate your visit and feedback, and will certainly check on that shower you noted. Hope to see you back soon, and Happy New Year ahead. John C - GM

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 27, 2013

Nice room for the price. Very clean. Comfortable beds. Due to lack of "free" parking we opted to use valet parking. Within walking distance to shopping, Starbucks, movie theater. There is an on-site restaurant but we chose to order out. Staff was extremely nice. After a long day -- I enjoyed the pianist in the lobby.

  • Stayed: November 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank luv2trvl94
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
tripin1, General Manager at Hilton Richmond Downtown, responded to this reviewResponded December 30, 2013

Thanks for your visit and great feedback. Glad to hear you enjoyed your visit, the surrounding area, and our lobby too ! Hope to see you back soon.

Happy Holidays,

John Cario - GM

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Richmond hotels
0.3 mi away
Linden Row Inn
Linden Row Inn
#6 of 82 in Richmond
1,089 reviews
0.5 mi away
The Jefferson Hotel
The Jefferson Hotel
#1 of 82 in Richmond
1,336 reviews
0.5 mi away
The Berkeley Hotel
The Berkeley Hotel
#8 of 82 in Richmond
964 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Richmond Marriott
Richmond Marriott
#14 of 82 in Richmond
822 reviews
13.2 mi away
Hilton Richmond Hotel & Spa / Short Pump
6.1 mi away
The Westin Richmond
The Westin Richmond
#4 of 82 in Richmond
762 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hilton Richmond Downtown? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hilton Richmond Downtown

Address: 501 E Broad St, Richmond, VA 23219-1809 (Formerly Hilton Garden Inn Richmond Downtown)
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Virginia > Richmond
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Green Hotel in Richmond
#4 Luxury Hotel in Richmond
#5 Romantic Hotel in Richmond
#5 Business Hotel in Richmond
#7 Family Hotel in Richmond
Price Range: $172 - $355 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Hilton Richmond Downtown 4*
Number of rooms: 250
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to the state of Virginia, and the Hilton Richmond Downtown, located in the heart of historic downtown Richmond. This premiere hotel is located within minutes of I-95 and I-64, across the street from the Greater Richmond Convention Center, two blocks from the Richmond Coliseum, and the National Theater, and next door to Richmond Center Stage. Formerly the beloved Miller & Rhoads Department Store, the original marble floors and restored millwork grace the lobby, providing our guests with a combination of historic charm, southern hospitality and modern amenities. This spacious and inviting Hilton hotel is an easy choice for the discerning traveler and for families who are looking for a place they can feel at home. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with HotelPower, Booking.com, Expedia, Priceline, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Orbitz, Hotwire, HotelQuickly, getaroom.com, TripOnline SA and Cancelon so you can book your Hilton Richmond Downtown reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hilton Garden Inn Richmond Hotel Richmond

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing