We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The welcome by Mrs. C will always be appreciated to come back to visit”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Hilton Richmond Downtown
Ranked #8 of 82 Hotels in Richmond
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersBronze level
Reviewed September 2, 2013

I was recently in this Hotel for our 32nd wedding Anniversary and the service was excellent and the welcome was very nice. Mrs.C the hotel attendant was so accommedating and fun to talk with, We were very happy with the service from all the staff.

Room Tip: Higher floors better view of the city!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Brenda l
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
tripin1, General Manager at Hilton Richmond Downtown, responded to this reviewResponded September 4, 2013

Dear Brenda;

Congrats on your recent 32 nd. wedding anniversary, and I was glad to hear you enjoyed your visit with us. I will thank Ms. C and the team for their efforts, and nice "welcoming" to our hotel. We hope to see you back soon. John Cario - GM

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (1,539)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

1,115 - 1,121 of 1,539 reviews

Reviewed September 1, 2013

Service is excellent, rooms are huge and the staff is top notch. We felt as if we were in a 5 Star 5 Diamond resort. Clean rooms, public areas and especially the pool and exercise rooms. The greatest asset are all the staff, they really want you to have a great stay.

Room Tip: Ask for one on the street side, they are larger
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Thayer P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
tripin1, General Manager at Hilton Richmond Downtown, responded to this reviewResponded September 4, 2013

Dear Thayer P;

Thanks very much for the review after your recent visit. So glad we delivered in a 5 star fashion. We hope to see you back soon. Sincerely, John & Team.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 27, 2013

I was recently in this hotel for one week and I must say that it is one of the nicest hotels I have been. It is centrally located, close to the Capitol Building. The rooms are very large and comfortable, and well isolated so that you don't hear noises from other rooms or the corridor. Very good bed and pillows. Very nice common area; good breakfast and restaurant for a reasonable price. Every day in the lobby there is complimentary coffee in the morning and lemonades and cookies in the afternoon-evening. Small but nice gym and swimming pool (indoor, with whirlpool also). Free Internet connection in all the hotel, quite fast. Free printing via e-mail.
On top of that, the staff is excellent -- nice, efficient and with the best disposition to help, especially the manager and the reception and shuttle staff. They took good care of some packages I received before my arrival and helped me with many other things during the seven days I spent there, without a single complain or "awkward face", just smiles. The hotel offers a complimentary shuttle service to take you (and pick you up) in a radius of 2 miles. This is much appreciated and saves you much in taxis.
I was attending a couple of conferences and all our group shared the same positive impression about the hotel.
I would definitely recommend this hotel in Richmond. Congratulations to Hilton and to the management of this particular hotel. I wish I could find this quality everywhere I go.

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ulisesagain
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
tripin1, General Manager at Hilton Richmond Downtown, responded to this reviewResponded August 30, 2013

Thank you for your recent long stay with us and great feedback. It is our pleasure to assist our guests during their stays with us. We strive to provide the "home away from home" atmosphere and service with a smile !

We appreciate your wonderful review, and hope you have a chance to come back and visit Richmond in the future.

Sincerely,

John Cario & team.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor Member
1
Reviewed August 26, 2013

I highly recommend this hotel, the value is great and the rooms are huge. Was very happy with the service at this hotel. The lobby is really pretty, have a beer in their bar area ( they have a few local brews and wines).

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Hilton Garden Inn
Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
tripin1, General Manager at Hilton Richmond Downtown, responded to this reviewResponded August 30, 2013

Thank you for your visit and feedback. Glad to hear you liked our rooms, and yes being in the former large historic Miller & Rhoads department store the majority of the rooms are large and high cielings as well. Yes, we have some local craft beers on draft at our "Thirst & Fifth" lounge that it sounded like you enjoyed. We hope to see you back again soon.

John Cario - GM

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 25, 2013

Was attending a conference at the Richmond Marriott and Convention Center and the Marriott was sold out for the first night -- so stayed across the street at the Hilton Garden Inn. Beautiful renovation of a former department store -- my top floor room was ginormous with amazing high ceilings. Not a great view -- but all the amenities you could want -- refrigerator, safe, good outlets for all the electronics we now cart around...

Staff was terrific -- particularly in the restaurant. Could not have been more welcoming.

Good price/value relationship.

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank mdtravelbaltimore
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
tripin1, General Manager at Hilton Richmond Downtown, responded to this reviewResponded August 26, 2013

Dear Mdtravelbaltimore;

Thanks for your visit and great review of our facility. Yes, we are happy to be close to the convention center, the Marriott, and many more downtown Richmond venues. We hope to see you back soon.

Sincerely,

John Cario
GM

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 24, 2013

Was in Richmond for a conference. Nice location, walking distance to convention center and nearby restaurants. Room was very spacious and clean. Very friendly staff. Nice breakfast. Very friendly staff at front desk and in the lobby bar.

Stayed: August 2013, traveled on business
Thank PatrickKaler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
tripin1, General Manager at Hilton Richmond Downtown, responded to this reviewResponded August 26, 2013

Dear Patrick;

Thank you for your recent visit and positive feedback. I will share this with the team and thank those who made your stay special. We look forward to your next stay with us.

Sincerely,

John - GM

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 22, 2013

Visited the Hilton Garden Inn last week & was greeted by the wonderful, warm & genuine staff. Everyone always has a smile & is always available to assist you with anything! The hotel has had a facelift recently! LOVE IT! It reminds me of a boutique hotel. Included was the bar/lounge area, which was fine before; but now it is AWESOME! Thirst & Fifth GastroPub is such a great place to hang out in! The furniture is comfy, the drinks are fantastic & the new menu so appetizing! There are several seating areas in the overall space, but all have their own sense of privacy. A double-sided fireplace rounds out the area. You can comfortably engage in lively conversation with a group of people, catch up on some work (NOT!!), watch TV from one of the several flat screens, read or just people watch! The entire design is wonderful & implemented from the moment that you walk thru the entrance. The natural garden flow is evidenced in subtle nuances as you make your way thru the lobby to the elevators to the on-site restaurant. Hilton Garden Inn RVA has become my go to spot for out of town guests & staycations & just to hang out. Great place in the heart of the city to go have a great lunch (try the M & R Club w/Truffle Fries) or to unwind after work! You won't be disappointed!

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Joy24_10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
tripin1, General Manager at Hilton Richmond Downtown, responded to this reviewResponded August 26, 2013

Dear Joy24;

Thanks so much for your wonderful review and pictures you posted. We appreciate the great reviews of our facility and menu items. We look forward to your return visit, and thank you for sharing your visit with the world !

Sincerely,

John Cario

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Richmond hotels
0.5 mi away
The Jefferson Hotel
The Jefferson Hotel
#1 of 82 in Richmond
1,291 reviews
0.3 mi away
Linden Row Inn
Linden Row Inn
#6 of 82 in Richmond
1,069 reviews
0.5 mi away
Omni Richmond Hotel
Omni Richmond Hotel
#13 of 82 in Richmond
1,984 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
The Berkeley Hotel
The Berkeley Hotel
#7 of 82 in Richmond
915 reviews
0.1 mi away
Richmond Marriott
Richmond Marriott
#19 of 82 in Richmond
742 reviews
0.3 mi away
Delta Hotels by Marriott Richmond Downtown
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hilton Richmond Downtown? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hilton Richmond Downtown

Address: 501 E Broad St, Richmond, VA 23219-1809 (Formerly Hilton Garden Inn Richmond Downtown)
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Virginia > Richmond
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Green Hotel in Richmond
#5 Romantic Hotel in Richmond
#5 Business Hotel in Richmond
#5 Luxury Hotel in Richmond
#7 Family Hotel in Richmond
Price Range: $159 - $357 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Hilton Richmond Downtown 4*
Number of rooms: 250
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to the state of Virginia, and the Hilton Richmond Downtown, located in the heart of historic downtown Richmond. This premiere hotel is located within minutes of I-95 and I-64, across the street from the Greater Richmond Convention Center, two blocks from the Richmond Coliseum, and the National Theater, and next door to Richmond Center Stage. Formerly the beloved Miller & Rhoads Department Store, the original marble floors and restored millwork grace the lobby, providing our guests with a combination of historic charm, southern hospitality and modern amenities. This spacious and inviting Hilton hotel is an easy choice for the discerning traveler and for families who are looking for a place they can feel at home. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity, Priceline, Orbitz, Hotwire, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, HotelQuickly and getaroom.com so you can book your Hilton Richmond Downtown reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hilton Garden Inn Richmond Hotel Richmond

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing