We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Excellent staff, convenient location”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Hilton Richmond Downtown
Ranked #9 of 81 Hotels in Richmond
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersBronze level
Level Contributor
12 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Excellent staff, convenient location”
Reviewed August 20, 2013 via mobile

The staff was the highlight of my stay, from the front desk attendants and the restaurant staff, to the exceptional shuttle drivers, the Hilton Garden Inn Richmond knows how to treat their guests. Great value and convenient access.

  • Stayed August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank jenniebradford
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
tripin1, General Manager at Hilton Richmond Downtown, responded to this review, August 26, 2013
Dear Jennie;

We thank you for your great visit, and feedback on our staff. I'll certainly thank them for once again providing great service to our visitors to Richmond, and our hotel.

John C.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,420 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    778
    432
    138
    46
    26
See reviews for
351
264
75
580
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (258)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Richmond, Virginia
Level Contributor
25 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed August 20, 2013

My husband and I stayed here for two nights in August, 2013. We live in the area but we were attending two back-to-back concerts at The National and wanted a mini-vacation. Great location, spotlessly clean rooms and immaculate property. Nice bar area (pricey, but delicious specialty drinks), very good breakfast buffet. The best part of the stay was the employees: each and every employee we encountered could not have been more pleasant, polite, helpful and genuinely engaging. The hotel also offers food vouchers for half price when you book your stay (not always, but do check on this). The lobby area is really stunning - it feels like a much pricier hotel.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MadDog17
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
tripin1, General Manager at Hilton Richmond Downtown, responded to this review, August 26, 2013
Dear Maddog;

Thanks for your visit and great review. Yes, we are fortunate to be in the heart of concert country in Richmond; The National, Center Stage, and more. Great to hear the staff took good care of you and you enjoyed your visit. Hope to see you soon !

Sincerely,

John & Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Anchorage, Alaska
Level Contributor
45 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
Reviewed August 20, 2013

First - I'm a Hilton Honors Gold member. My opinion was certainly improved by having had a lovely upgrade to a corner suite. The early check in, complimentary bottled water, attentive room service, warm staff - it's all deserving of a 5. Kudos.

However, today I learned that my friend had a deeply disturbing incident late at night. A male employee knocked on her door, uninvited. Surprised that she answered, he said the front desk just wanted to know if anyone was in the room (we were only halfway through our stay). Apparently the young male employee couldn't get away from the conversation fast enough. She was left with the impression that having a key in his hand, he would have entered the room if she not been there. We can only speculate what his intentions were since housekeeping was complete for the day (no they don't do turndown service).

So, this is a good reminder to keep your valuables with you or locked properly in the safe. Bolt doors and use the chains on doors. Report suspicious behaviour to management directly.

Thanks for the lovely stay HGI. However, you might have a rat aboard your ship.

Room Tip: The corner one rooms suites are very comfortable. Thanks again for the upgrade!
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank anchorage1977
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
tripin1, General Manager at Hilton Richmond Downtown, responded to this review, August 21, 2013
Thanks for your visit and great review, but I am concerned and need some more information to investigate your friends claim. We did have several late checkouts / dueouts this week with the conference, and do have late staff checking the status, so this could be the case. I emailed you personally to get some more and investigate, as this is the first such comment related to your notes of this.

I look forward to your response,

Sincerely,

John Cario - GM
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
13 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed August 20, 2013 via mobile

Excellent downtown hotel, across the street from the Conference Center. Easy walk to restaurants and historic sites. Friendly staff and a shuttle service to other downtown locations. My only disappointment was no airport shuttle service, but the front desk was quick to call a taxi for transportation to the airport.

  • Stayed August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank DarlisM
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
tripin1, General Manager at Hilton Richmond Downtown, responded to this review, August 26, 2013
Dear DarlisM;

Thanks for your visit and great feedback on our hotel. While we do offer shuttle service in the 2 mile area; Restaurants, Businesses, and attractions, we don't offer Airport Shuttle as you mentioned. Again, thanks for your great review and we hope to see you back soon.

Sincerely,

John and team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
pasadena, United States
1 review
Reviewed August 19, 2013

lovely hotel. service always exceeded expectations. everyone so very polite and helpful. room was very clean. bed was great to sleep on. got a good night's rest both nights. wish the dining room was open for dinner. only complaint with room, could not adjust the temperature to cool the room at night, enough.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Hilton Garden Inn

Helpful?
Thank Elizabeth B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
tripin1, General Manager at Hilton Richmond Downtown, responded to this review, August 26, 2013
Dear Elizabeth;

Thanks for your visit and post. Glad to hear overall a good stay, with a few comments we'll address. I sent a personal email to learn more, so we can check on the AC unit. Also, when did you try our dining area, this is open at night ? Thanks again, and look forward to your reply, and next visit.

Sincerely,

John Cario
GM
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washingtonq, United States
1 review
Reviewed August 19, 2013

Stay was great except for the fact that the AC was broken, there were no in room movies and there was no minibar, just an empty fridge. The bathroom should also have had a mouthwash bottle. But the front desk was very helpful and the bar staff was great. The club sandwich was delicious.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Hilton Garden Inn

Helpful?
Thank Nicole P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
tripin1, General Manager at Hilton Richmond Downtown, responded to this review, August 26, 2013
Dear Nicole; Go Skins ! Glad to hear you visited for the first year of Redskins training camp. We were glad to be the new home for the Redskins for their summer training. So sorry to hear of your AC concerns, we did have a glitch with our main DU unit controlling the in-room units during the time you stayed. I apologize for any inconvenience and certainly welcome the call to further address as needed. Glad to hear you enjoyed the rest of your visit, and the club sandwich, perhaps the famous M&R club !

Thanks,

John - GM
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
alexandria, va
Level Contributor
32 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed August 18, 2013

This hotel is a half block from the Convention Center and near most downtown spots of interest. I went to the old Miller and Rhodes department store as a child and was happy to see the building thus preserved (they even have some M & R stuff in a display case in the lobby). The room -- a King looking on the "courtyard" was OK, very clean, a bit dark (with only one rather small window on a somewhat dark area rather optimistically called a courtyard. But the room was conveniently located and worked for us. The room was marvelously quiet at night and the bed was comfortable. The people at this hotel are wonderful...helpful, courteous and warm. The restaurant is not so good....not terrible, but not great. However it was very convenient to have a real restaurant in the building. All in all, a good experience for a good price -- but do not expect Hilton-type luxuries in the Garden Inn.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank amanda483
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
tripin1, General Manager at Hilton Richmond Downtown, responded to this review, August 26, 2013
Dear Amanda;

Thank you for your recent visit and feedback. Overall a great review of our hotel, however I trust our Chef and team would love your additional valuable feedback on our restaurant. We are in the middle of a menu change, a re-branding of our lounge, and always working to improve in all areas. Let us know some other thoughts at your convenience, you know how to find us !

Sincerely,

John Cario
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Richmond hotels
0.5 mi away
Omni Richmond Hotel
Omni Richmond Hotel
#12 of 81 in Richmond
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,833 reviews
0.3 mi away
Linden Row Inn
Linden Row Inn
#8 of 81 in Richmond
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,003 reviews
0.5 mi away
The Jefferson Hotel
The Jefferson Hotel
#1 of 81 in Richmond
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,211 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Quirk Hotel
Quirk Hotel
#6 of 81 in Richmond
4.5 of 5 bubbles 639 reviews
0.5 mi away
The Berkeley Hotel
The Berkeley Hotel
#7 of 81 in Richmond
4.5 of 5 bubbles 804 reviews
0.1 mi away
Richmond Marriott
Richmond Marriott
#21 of 81 in Richmond
4.0 of 5 bubbles 689 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hilton Richmond Downtown? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hilton Richmond Downtown

Property: Hilton Richmond Downtown
Address: 501 E Broad St, Richmond, VA 23219-1809 (Formerly Hilton Garden Inn Richmond Downtown)
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Virginia > Richmond
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Green Hotel in Richmond
#5 Romantic Hotel in Richmond
#5 Business Hotel in Richmond
#6 Luxury Hotel in Richmond
#7 Family Hotel in Richmond
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Hilton Richmond Downtown 4*
Number of rooms: 250
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to the state of Virginia, and the Hilton Richmond Downtown, located in the heart of historic downtown Richmond. This premiere hotel is located within minutes of I-95 and I-64, across the street from the Greater Richmond Convention Center, two blocks from the Richmond Coliseum, and the National Theater, and next door to Richmond Center Stage. Formerly the beloved Miller & Rhoads Department Store, the original marble floors and restored millwork grace the lobby, providing our guests with a combination of historic charm, southern hospitality and modern amenities. This spacious and inviting Hilton hotel is an easy choice for the discerning traveler and for families who are looking for a place they can feel at home. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Hotwire, Travelocity, Orbitz, Hilton Hotels Direct, Priceline, Cancelon, getaroom.com, TripOnline SA, HotelsClick, HotelQuickly and Hotel.de so you can book your Hilton Richmond Downtown reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hilton Garden Inn Richmond Hotel Richmond

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing