We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Never Again!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Hilton Richmond Downtown
Ranked #8 of 82 Hotels in Richmond
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersBronze level
Reviewed May 6, 2013

Here for business attending a Buffini Turning Point - group rate was filled at Marriott across the street so I used my Honor Points and paid a night to stay here... Big mistake. staff friendly but bed OLD and VERY uncomfortable .... Not pleased at all. No breakfast included 21 dollar additional charge for parking and awful street noise .... Feel like checking out and finding new hotel for I have another day here in Richmond . I stay often in Hilton's and this one does not measure up!

  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Cathi A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
tripin1, General Manager at Hilton Richmond Downtown, responded to this reviewResponded May 7, 2013

Dear Cathy;

Thanks for your visit and feedback. We appreciate you a loyal Hilton guest, but disappointed you didn't have a wonderful experience like the majority of our other guests. I immediately emailed you, as well via your Tripadvisor email link too in hopes to correct on your stay. We know you have choices, and hope you find a location to your satisfaction tonight. Our beds are the GSS / Sleep system, we'll have engineering review your comments, sometimes the dial settings can need replacement. Like all Hilton Garden's, we do offer a full cooked to order buffet breakfast, but this is not included in your rate, like some of our "sister hotels", Embassy or Hampton. Yes, our valet parking is also $21, yet competitive, or less than most hotels in the city. We do have interior rooms (noted by many of our guests on Tripadvisor prior) that are very quiet, so perhaps in the future that would be a good request at some downtown hotels. We certainly do have "the sounds of the city" on some nights, some people like, and some don't. Thanks again, we certainly appreciate your visit and feedback. I hope we can talk / email offline to resolve your concerns. Sincerely, John Cario - GM.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (1,537)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

1,198 - 1,204 of 1,537 reviews

Reviewed May 5, 2013

First time in Richmond va. The hotel was very nice, spacious, clean, and comfortable. In the heart of downtown close, and convient. Staff was friendly and helpful. Pool area, and indoor patio spectacular. Will definitely revisit. :D

  • Stayed: May 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank mischelle89
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
tripin1, General Manager at Hilton Richmond Downtown, responded to this reviewResponded May 10, 2013

Dear Mischelle89;

We appreciate your recent visit and feedback on Tripadvisor. Glad to hear you enjoyed the pool and atrium area sometimes hidden on our 2nd floor / interior of the hotel. Hope to see you back soon.

Sincerely,

John and team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 2, 2013

The entire staff are helpful, courteous, friendly and they bend over backwards to make sure everything is ok with my visit. The front desk always greet you as you come in and go out and the waitress at the restaurant are the best. The management make it a point to speak to you and ask if they could do anything to make your stay better. They are always in a positive mood and that carries over to each person on the staff. This is a great team and other hotels could use them as a model.

  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Hilton Garden Inn
Thank Donald R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
tripin1, General Manager at Hilton Richmond Downtown, responded to this reviewResponded May 15, 2013

Dear Don;

Thanks for your recent visit and outstanding review of our team and services we provide. So glad to hear that we should be a model for others ! We'll share this with the team, and continue to do what we do. Hope to see you back soon.

Sincerely,

John Cario
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 1, 2013

I had called the day before and was able to receive an early arrival. Upon arrival the car valets were quick to get to the car and helps us on the way to check in. Although all of the desk clerks were very busy they each took a moment to greet us. As we checked in I informed the clerk that although we reserved for two nights we would only be able to stay one night. The clerk corrected our reservation immediately and introduced us to the hotel. The hotel common areas are very nice with a comfortable lobby bar and a convient cozy restaurant. Our room was very large and well appointed with a king bed, large flat screen tv and the expected coffee maker, microwave and refrigerator. We were in town for a Bill Cosby show at the Center Stage just across the street. Morning buffet at the hotel restaurant was delicious and hot from the serving trays. After checkout we stored our bags at the hotel while we toured the downtown area.

  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank hybrid_db
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
tripin1, General Manager at Hilton Richmond Downtown, responded to this reviewResponded May 10, 2013

Dear Hybrid;

Thanks for your recent visit while attending the Bill Cosby show next door. I was glad to hear all went well, and you experienced some of Richmond Downtown and all we have to offer. Hope to see you back soon for another Concert, event, or just an overnight stay in RVA.

Sincerely,

John Cario
GM

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 30, 2013

I've lived in the Washington DC area since the 1980's but never quite managed to make my way to Richmond. So, my husband and I stayed at this property on a weekend trip to Richmond to see a show at the National Theater and explore Richmond. The property is well situated (National Theater is right across the street). The king room had great high ceilings so it felt really spacious. Staff was great and very helpful. Take full advantage of their complimentary shuttle which will take you just about anywhere worth going in Richmond. They'll pick you up as well! Breakfast was standard hotel fare but yummy.

  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Kcarrsmith
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
tripin1, General Manager at Hilton Richmond Downtown, responded to this reviewResponded May 1, 2013

Thanks for your recent visit from DC. Yes, the National is a few blocks away, and they have some great shows, glad you made it to one. We are pretty much in Richmond's Theater District with CenterStage next door, the Landmark a courtesy shuttle ride away, and the Byrd not far either. Glad to hear we provided the complimentary shuttle service to you, and you enjoyed your visit, come back !! I hear the summer National lineup is looking strong.

See you soon,

John Cario - GM

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 29, 2013

Upon arrival the front lobby looked and gave the feel of any 5 star hotel. During check-in Nick T. was most courteous and informative when asked questions regarding the area surroundings. He was prompt and efficient when a problem with the TV was encluntered. The drivers of the shuttle were extremely responsive and pleasant. At check-out Torrey J. was very courteous and helpful with questions regarding valet parking after check-out. (He was applaudingly patient as I had a lot of questions) The other staff were always approchable and welcoming. I have stayed at several Hilton Garden Inns and HGI downtown Richmond by far provided the most pleasent experience. I give them 6 stars!

  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Hilton Garden Inn
Thank Regina T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
tripin1, General Manager at Hilton Richmond Downtown, responded to this reviewResponded May 1, 2013

Dear Regina;

Thanks for your recent visit and "6 star" review !! We appreciate your feedback, and have shared your comments with the team, especially those you mentioned. We hope to see you back soon for another great visit.

John C.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 29, 2013

Overall a great place to stay. My air conditioner in my room did not seem to be cooling quite as good as it should have and other guests were a bit noisy when closing their doors. Didn't sleep as good as I could have.

  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Hilton Garden Inn
Thank Wanda G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
tripin1, General Manager at Hilton Richmond Downtown, responded to this reviewResponded May 1, 2013

Wanda;

Thanks for your visit and Excellent rating. We'll check into the AC noise you encountered, and hope to see you back soon.

Sincerely,

John - GM

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Richmond hotels
0.5 mi away
The Jefferson Hotel
The Jefferson Hotel
#1 of 82 in Richmond
1,290 reviews
0.3 mi away
Linden Row Inn
Linden Row Inn
#6 of 82 in Richmond
1,069 reviews
0.5 mi away
Omni Richmond Hotel
Omni Richmond Hotel
#12 of 82 in Richmond
1,976 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
The Berkeley Hotel
The Berkeley Hotel
#7 of 82 in Richmond
907 reviews
0.1 mi away
Richmond Marriott
Richmond Marriott
#19 of 82 in Richmond
739 reviews
0.3 mi away
Delta Hotels by Marriott Richmond Downtown
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hilton Richmond Downtown? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hilton Richmond Downtown

Address: 501 E Broad St, Richmond, VA 23219-1809 (Formerly Hilton Garden Inn Richmond Downtown)
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Virginia > Richmond
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Green Hotel in Richmond
#5 Luxury Hotel in Richmond
#5 Romantic Hotel in Richmond
#5 Business Hotel in Richmond
#7 Family Hotel in Richmond
Price Range: $160 - $352 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Hilton Richmond Downtown 4*
Number of rooms: 250
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to the state of Virginia, and the Hilton Richmond Downtown, located in the heart of historic downtown Richmond. This premiere hotel is located within minutes of I-95 and I-64, across the street from the Greater Richmond Convention Center, two blocks from the Richmond Coliseum, and the National Theater, and next door to Richmond Center Stage. Formerly the beloved Miller & Rhoads Department Store, the original marble floors and restored millwork grace the lobby, providing our guests with a combination of historic charm, southern hospitality and modern amenities. This spacious and inviting Hilton hotel is an easy choice for the discerning traveler and for families who are looking for a place they can feel at home. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Booking.com, Priceline, Orbitz, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, Cancelon, HotelQuickly and getaroom.com so you can book your Hilton Richmond Downtown reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hilton Garden Inn Richmond Hotel Richmond

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing