We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very Nice”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Hilton Richmond Downtown
Ranked #9 of 81 Hotels in Richmond
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersBronze level
Fairfax, Virginia
Level Contributor
8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Very Nice”
Reviewed March 20, 2013

Very conveniently located to Coliseum and to Landmark Theatre and walking distance to restaurants. Clean with helpful staff. Great Value. Was here for a conference. Will stay again if i ever come back to Richmond...

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank pannan73
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
tripin1, General Manager at Hilton Richmond Downtown, responded to this review, April 8, 2013
Thanks for your stay and post to Tripadvisor, we appreciate the feedback.

John Cario - GM
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,420 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    778
    432
    138
    46
    26
See reviews for
351
264
75
580
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (258)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviewed March 19, 2013

The Hilton Gardens was a very nice stay. I was in town for a conference at the convention center right across the street. So just for that purpose, it's a good value. There are plenty places to eat (restuarants, subway etc) a block or two within walking distance. The hotel lobby is beutiful, clean and has a bar area. Also this Hilton had a full service restaurant. The rooms were modern, semi spacious with seperate coffee break that was not located in the bathroom. Flat screen TV and writing desk.
My friend stayed in a suite, so I was able to see that layou as well. Although i was not in pressed by it, it had a lot of space! I would stay here again if at another conference.
Con: Richmond is not a safe city, so please be careful at night.

Room Tip: specify the number of travelors, or you will get stuck with a King Size bed
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Dbone1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
tripin1, General Manager at Hilton Richmond Downtown, responded to this review, March 25, 2013
Dear Dbone;

Thank you for your stay with us and feedback. We appreciate your comments to Tripadvisor, and certainly agree ! There are many new restaurants now on Grace St. behind us as well, and our vans can also take guests within 2 miles to more restaurants / attractions.

Sincerely,

John Cario
GM
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Virginia Beach, Virginia
1 review
Reviewed March 19, 2013

Great location if you are going to a show at Landmark Theatre. The shuttle staff was excellent, very courteous, kind, and punctual. They will take you to a restaurant, pick you up, and take you back to the hotel if its in the local radius. Rooms were clean, comfortable and quiet.

Room Tip: Ask for a room facing street/outside. Interior rooms face a courtyard and with a small window offer...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jennifer T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
tripin1, General Manager at Hilton Richmond Downtown, responded to this review, March 25, 2013
Dear Jennifer;

Thanks for your recent visit to Richmond, the Landmark, and our hotel. We appreciate your feedback on Tripadvisor about the hotel and especially our van services. We hope to see you soon for another Richmond visit.

Sincerely,

John Cario
GM
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Clifton, Virginia
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed March 10, 2013

Clean hotel with friendly and helpful staff. Good hot breakfast. Small bar with local wines. Nice pool for the kids. Been going there for 5-6 years in a row without disappointment.easy walking distance to the Richmond Coliseum and the convention center.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank JimmyC57615
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
tripin1, General Manager at Hilton Richmond Downtown, responded to this review, March 25, 2013
Dear Jimmy C;

Thanks for your many visit's to our hotel and recent stay and feedback. We are fortunate to have a great location convenient to the Coliseum, Convention Center, Centerstage, and more. If not walking distance, certainly our vans can assist for the other nearby Richmond attractions. We look forward to your many visits ahead.

Thanks,

John Cario
GM
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DC
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviewed March 9, 2013

I arrived at the hotel around 11:30 pm. I was greeted with valet parking. The hotel was easy to find and the staff was extremely courteous, with outstanding performance.

MissC checked me in and her service stood out as the best I ever remember receiving while on travel. I cannot say enough about how welcome and blessed I was made to feel after a long drive.

The room was immaculate with an adjustable bed, microwave, and minifridge: standard. The room price was also outstanding considering the amenities. I will definitely look for the Hilton and specifically this Hilton when traveling to Richmond and abroad.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Chris B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
tripin1, General Manager at Hilton Richmond Downtown, responded to this review, March 25, 2013
Dear Chris;

Thank you for your recent stay with us and feedback. I will thank Ms. C for taking great care of you during your stay and late arrival to the hotel. We hope to see you again soon.

Sincerely,

John Cario - GM
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Elizabeth City, NC
Level Contributor
15 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed March 9, 2013

Valet parking with in & out service. More importantly, two shuttles take you anywhere w/in a two mile distance with freindly drivers. Entire staff takes a moment to pause with their busy schedules to look you in the eye, smile and ask how you are doing. Rooms are immaculate and quiet and hot breakfast always starts our day out right! Warm cookies always ready when we come back from a long day. Walking distance to all downtown areas.

  • Stayed March 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank edbt08
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
tripin1, General Manager at Hilton Richmond Downtown, responded to this review, March 25, 2013
Thanks for your recent "perfect visit" and feedback. We do have a great team that does take their time to serve our guests professionally and efficiently. We look forward to your next visit,

Sincerely,

John & team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Virginia
Level Contributor
15 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed March 8, 2013 via mobile

Nice lobby, very spacious. Resturant on first floor, decent food. Valet parking staff fast, friendly and efficent. Parking downtown kinda sucks, so this was nice. Easy access.

Good desk staff. Room was very nice, and pretty big. Very nice king bed that was adjustable for firmness, which was kinda neat. Good tv selection although TV could have been bigger for the room size. Large room made it seem prety small. Internet was very good and fast enough to stream movies on Netflix.

Room service staff was great, food was decent. Housekeeping was good as well.

Overall B+. Would stay here again.

Stayed March 2013, traveled on business
Helpful?
Thank honaker6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
tripin1, General Manager at Hilton Richmond Downtown, responded to this review, March 25, 2013
Dear Honaker6;

Thank you for your recent visit and feedback. Overall great comments, and glad to hear the internet speeds worked well for your videos. We recently added upgraded fiber optic highspeed internet, and continually review all our services to ensure we are ready to serve our guests.

Thanks again,

John Cario - GM
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Richmond hotels
0.5 mi away
Omni Richmond Hotel
Omni Richmond Hotel
#12 of 81 in Richmond
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,833 reviews
0.3 mi away
Linden Row Inn
Linden Row Inn
#8 of 81 in Richmond
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,003 reviews
0.5 mi away
The Jefferson Hotel
The Jefferson Hotel
#1 of 81 in Richmond
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,211 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Quirk Hotel
Quirk Hotel
#6 of 81 in Richmond
4.5 of 5 bubbles 638 reviews
0.5 mi away
The Berkeley Hotel
The Berkeley Hotel
#7 of 81 in Richmond
4.5 of 5 bubbles 804 reviews
0.1 mi away
Richmond Marriott
Richmond Marriott
#21 of 81 in Richmond
4.0 of 5 bubbles 691 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hilton Richmond Downtown? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hilton Richmond Downtown

Property: Hilton Richmond Downtown
Address: 501 E Broad St, Richmond, VA 23219-1809 (Formerly Hilton Garden Inn Richmond Downtown)
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Virginia > Richmond
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Green Hotel in Richmond
#5 Romantic Hotel in Richmond
#5 Business Hotel in Richmond
#6 Luxury Hotel in Richmond
#7 Family Hotel in Richmond
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Hilton Richmond Downtown 4*
Number of rooms: 250
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to the state of Virginia, and the Hilton Richmond Downtown, located in the heart of historic downtown Richmond. This premiere hotel is located within minutes of I-95 and I-64, across the street from the Greater Richmond Convention Center, two blocks from the Richmond Coliseum, and the National Theater, and next door to Richmond Center Stage. Formerly the beloved Miller & Rhoads Department Store, the original marble floors and restored millwork grace the lobby, providing our guests with a combination of historic charm, southern hospitality and modern amenities. This spacious and inviting Hilton hotel is an easy choice for the discerning traveler and for families who are looking for a place they can feel at home. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Hotwire, Orbitz, Priceline, Travelocity, Hilton Hotels Direct, Cancelon, getaroom.com, TripOnline SA, HotelsClick, HotelQuickly and Hotel.de so you can book your Hilton Richmond Downtown reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hilton Garden Inn Richmond Hotel Richmond

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing