We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Hilton Richmond Downtown
Nearby Hotels
$139
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
$127
$108
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
$84
Country Inn
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Linden Row Inn(Richmond)
$143
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
$103
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Omni Richmond Hotel(Richmond)
$171
$161
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
$237
$227
Hilton.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
The Jefferson Hotel(Richmond)
$275
Preferred Hotels
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
$119
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$139
Delta Hotels
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
Reviews (1,639)
Filter reviews
1,639 results
Traveler rating
925
482
147
54
31
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
925
482
147
54
31
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsdepartment storeconvention centergarden innfront deskvalet parkinghigh ceilingswithin a mile radiusvalet staffshuttle servicehistoric buildingthe executive loungefull servicefree shuttlebusiness triphotel staffvery nice hotelenjoyed my stay
Filter
Updating list...
1,394 - 1,399 of 1,639 reviews
Reviewed October 8, 2012

This was a very nice place to stay. The staff was very helpful and kind. The room was large, but overlooked a courtyard, so it was not very private. The other issue was that over a 2 night stay, never was my room cleaned. Not sure what is up with that, but wasn't a huge deal.

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank AE88
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
tripin1, General Manager at Hilton Richmond Downtown, responded to this reviewResponded October 9, 2012

Thank you for your recent stay and comments. Yes we do have some interior courtyard / atrium rooms that tend to be quieter, but as you mentioned if guests are using this area, maybe not as private. We also have the majority of exterior rooms for a city view, or more light from the outside, so you have choices when you return. I'm glad to hear overall you had a nice stay, but honestly disappointed we missed servicing your room even though it wasn't a big deal to you. We will investigate this miss, and ensure we do better in the future. Thanks for your feedback.

Sincerely,

John Cario -GM

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 7, 2012

I highly recommend the Hilton Garden Inn Richmond VA!! My experience was perfect! Fabulous staff! Helpful and courteous; great customer service! Front desk, valet parking, restaurant - everyone was so kind and helpful. The room was perfectly clean, spacious, with a huge comfy king bed! Location was perfect - right in the middle of downtown. I had breakfast in the hotel restaurant and loved the made-to-order eggs! The breakfast buffet had a large variety of food choices, including lots of fresh fruit, but the omelette was the best. Overall, a very memorable stay; I'd definitely stay there again.

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank advntrr60
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
tripin1, General Manager at Hilton Richmond Downtown, responded to this reviewResponded October 9, 2012

Thank you for your visit and review. I was pleased to hear we "exceeded your expectations", our goal, and in every way. We certainly strive to uphold the high standards of customer service that Conrad Hilton himself instilled in us all. & Yes, we do have some great omelet's, and more at the American Grill, even a brand new Chef ! We hope to see you soon. John C.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 3, 2012

If you judge only by the outside appearance, you would probably go across the street to another hotel that looks better. BUT --- in here you'll find a really nice hotel, with a completely unbeatable staff. They're ALL wonderful, helpful people, from the manager on down. We're very happy the National Veterans Wheelchair Games chose it.

  • Stayed: June 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank AWF3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
tripin1, General Manager at Hilton Richmond Downtown, responded to this reviewResponded October 9, 2012

I am glad you took a "Closer Look", as we would agree. We are not your typical HGI, nor like our neighbors, we are better ! While we have all the same Brand Standards, we are fortunate to be in the former Miller & Rhoads historic department store as you mentioned. We are a bit larger than most (250 Guest Rooms), 6000 feet of meeting space, and 20,000 feet of retail space, with new retail and businesses hopefully coming soon. Additionally, we have 133 Apartments in this facility. We are glad you enjoyed your visit, the lounge food from our Great American Grill, and our friendly staff.

Sincerely, John C - GM

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 3, 2012

The hotel is housed within a former department store building and is known to be historic to a true citizen from Richmond. The hotel lobby has the original marble flooring from the department store and each floor has signage which outlines what department of the store were housed upon the floor, a neat touch.

The lobby area is decorated very well and is very bright in regard to lighting. The front desk staff were very friendly, helpful and expeditious. I had a room on the 7th floor and I paid just over $125.00 per night. My hotel room was decorated quite well and offered comfortable bedding and bath. The room had a nice TV and channel selection and a comfortable chair and ottoman. The room was average in size and was quiet throughout the night.

The food I had in the downstairs bar was absolutely fantastic and I would say if you have an opportunity to stay at this Hilton Garden Inn in Downtown Richmond, you will likely be happy if you opted to stay as a guest. The only issue I had was not noticed as a guest but as a business owner, and that is there were too many employees at the hotel that evening. When do you hear that when discussing a hotel? NEVER.

Good luck on your stay.

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank LiscomeBay
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
tripin1, General Manager at Hilton Richmond Downtown, responded to this reviewResponded October 12, 2012

Thank you for your recent visit and feedback. I was glad to see you enjoyed your stay, the room, the staff, and the fantastic lounge food as you stated. We are proud to be in the Historic Miller & Rhoads Department store and strive to continue the legacy of good service as a hotel and restaurant. We look forward to your next visit.

Sincerely,

John Cario
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 3, 2012

We spent time here for my sons graduation, and returned for my grandsons christening. The rooms are large and comfortable. The bed was great; sleep number adjustable. Can't beat the chocolate chip cookies in the afternoon. Everyone is friendly. Valets and desk staff couldn't be more helpful.

Room Tip: Inside rooms are quieter.
  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank COBrewer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
tripin1, General Manager at Hilton Richmond Downtown, responded to this reviewResponded October 9, 2012

Dear COBrewer;

Thanks for your recent visit. Glad to hear you enjoyed our "Sleep System Bedding", cookies, and our friendly staff. We look forward to your next visit with us.

Sincerely,

John Cario
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews