We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Truly Superior Service!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Hilton Richmond Downtown
Ranked #7 of 82 Hotels in Richmond
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersBronze level
Reviewed February 27, 2012

King room was fairly roomy, usual for Hilton brands. Well kept, large desk, plenty of outlets on desk and bedside tables for phones and computers. Bathroom clean but otherwise unremarkable. Top floor was quiet, no noise from adjoining rooms. Good location across from convention center, but not close to best restaurants. Shuttle available to get to around made up for that. Service was stellar, at check-in, in the restaurant, and from the valet. Very impressed with their friendliness and attention to my needs throughout the visit. Breakfast was between a buffet and full-service; hot meals ordered at the grill then delivered to the table, along with a fruit and bread buffet. Comfortable bar open to the lobby and its street view, so you are not locked away from the city. One negative is $21/day valet-only parking, no self-parking available. Public “honor lot” across the street, but not large and fills quickly.
Pro: Outstanding service in all areas.
Con: Expensive parking.

Room Tip: Most rooms have view of the hotel's other wing - be sure to ask if you want a street view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Jesse W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
tripin1, General Manager at Hilton Richmond Downtown, responded to this reviewResponded March 1, 2012

Thank you for your recent visit and feedback. We'll review your positive visit with the team, and thank those that exceeded your expecations, and delivered "superior service". We look forward to your return visit to Richmond, or at one of other Hilton Brand locations.

Sincerely,

John Cario
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (1,550)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

1,393 - 1,399 of 1,550 reviews

Reviewed February 26, 2012

I only spent one night at this particular Hilton hotel, however, I frequently stay in Hilton brand hotels throughout the year, and this one was a bit disappointing for me. The bed was comfortable, and the room was large and spacious with huge picture windows.Unfortunately, the view from those windows on the 7th floor were right in to other hotel guests rooms, due to the square configuration of the courtyard below. Although the television was a modern, flat panel it was awkwardly small. The property earned a "poor rating" in my book due to the unsightly bathroom issues. The base of the toilet was covered in a thick layer, shiny layer of white caulk, as well as, the faucet and tile in the tub area. Additionally, the wallpaper in the bathroom was peeling off the walls. At a cost of approximately $150, one would definitely not expect to find these very noticeable, unsightly issues in the bathroom.

Room Tip: Rooms facing the courtyard do not extend much privacy.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank RileyPA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
tripin1, General Manager at Hilton Richmond Downtown, responded to this reviewResponded March 1, 2012

Thank you for your recent visit and review. We were disappointed as well to hear your comments. We certainly can do much better, and we'll address your noted concerns ahead. Thank you for your reply to my personal email so that we can address the actual room you stayed in. While we have a preventive maintenance program in place, we obviously missed the mark on your room, and visit. Thank you for your feedback, we hope to show we can do better in the future.

Sincerely,

John Cario
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 21, 2012

I spent 2 nights at this hotel over the past weekend and wished I could have stayed more nights. I had my children with me, and they loved it also...so much that my little said he wanted it to be his new house. We enjoyed the indoor heated pool. Our room was very clean and spacious. Flat screen tv, microwave & refrig in the room. Vending machine filled with good stuff. And the breakfast was the bomb.com! I will always stay at this place whenever I go back to Richmond.

  • Stayed: February 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank tnn1970
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
tripin1, General Manager at Hilton Richmond Downtown, responded to this reviewResponded February 22, 2012

Thank you for your recent visit to Richmond and your stay with us. We are so glad to hear we have some new fans, as well you made our day regarding breakfast and your comment "breakfast was the bomb.com". We appreciate the positive feedback, and I will thank the team for their efforts during your visit.

We look forward to your return visits to Richmond and your stay with us at the Hilton Garden Inn.

Sincerely,

John Cario
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 20, 2012

My husband and I enjoy staying in this hotel when we come into Richmond for a weekend. The rooms are modern and clean, the beds comfortable, the service great. This hotel is in the heart of Richmond on Broad St. in a former elegant department store building. They've done a great job transforming it into a very nice hotel. This hotel provides an excellent shuttle service which will take you anywhere you want to go within a very large area of downtown including most of the restaurant district. Our driver, James, was delightful. They even were waiting outside the restaurant for us to take us back to the hotel. Loved not having to pay a taxi fare. Valet parking for our car was fast, courteous, and efficient.

  • Stayed: February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Barbel7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
tripin1, General Manager at Hilton Richmond Downtown, responded to this reviewResponded February 22, 2012

Thank you for your recent visit to Richmond and your stay with us at the Historic Miller and Rhoads, now Hilton Garden Inn hotel & M&R Residences. We appreciate the positive feedback, and I will certainly thank James (Van Driver) and the valet team for their efforts during your visit. We look forward to your return visit to Richmond and another wonderful stay at the Hilton Garden Inn.

Sincerely,

John Cario
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 7, 2012

I travel frequently. I have had great customer service at run down hotels, bad customer service at nice hotels, and forgettable service at forgettable hotels. This hotel & staff were in the business of winning customers! clean amenities, tall ceiling rooms and motivated staff compel me to write a review for the first time in my 5 years of constant travel across the nation.

  • Stayed: February 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jason B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
tripin1, General Manager at Hilton Richmond Downtown, responded to this reviewResponded February 13, 2012

Dear Jason;

Thank you for your recent visit and first ever Tripadvisor post about your stay. We were glad to hear you very much enjoyed your visit. We most certainly strive to "win" our customers with great service and product in this very competitive business, by doing it "one at a time".

We look forward to your next stay with us here in Richmond.

Sincerely,

John Cario
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 4, 2012

I've stayed pretty much everywhere in downtown Richmond, but this was my first time at the HIlton Garden Inn, in the old Miller & Rhoads Dept Store building. I'll never stay anywhere else. It was extremely central, right next to the convention center, walking distance from the courts, walking distance from the General Assembly -- very well positioned for business travel to Richmond. The room was spacious, modern, well-appointed, with microwave, fridge, big TV, a bed with the firmness adjustability dial. There was a perfectly adequate fitness center with new cardio equipment and TVs for each machine. Walking distance to some super restaurants, including Pastures, Gibson's Grill, and Tarrants Cafe. Highly recommend.

Room Tip: Don't get too near the elevators because they have a voice that says Going Up and Going Down. I...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank dogwalkerNorfolk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
tripin1, General Manager at Hilton Richmond Downtown, responded to this reviewResponded February 7, 2012

Dear Dogwalker Norfolk;

Thank you for your recent visit and feedback. Great to hear your comments, and glad to be listed as "Best Place to stay Downtown" in Richmond. We look forward to your future visits with us, as well many exciting events ahead in Richmond including the Lion King next door at the Center Stage, and Elton John ahead too. We also agree on your restaurant comments as well; The new Pasture on Grace Street and Tarrants certainly make the Richmond Restaurant tops list.

Sincerely,

John Cario
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 30, 2012

Got a good rate for a king evolution room using the Virginia Museum of Fine Arts Package. Surprisingly, the package didn't provide anything other than the room itself. Check in went smoothly but the staff was not very friendly. In fact, they bordered on being rude.

The room was standard. There was a $3.00 per day charge for the safe - bummer! No written instructions on how to connect to Internet. Got information from front desk...the person seemed hassled that I was calling.

Fitness room was a farce.

Didn't eat at the restaurant, but wafts of breakfast reached us all the way up the to corridor on the 6th floor.

Thick, large towels and Neutrogena bath products were a plus.

Stayed: January 2012, traveled as a couple
Thank 43josie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
tripin1, Front Office Manager at Hilton Richmond Downtown, responded to this reviewResponded February 3, 2012

Thank you for your feedback regarding your recent stay with us. I apologize for you "wishing for more" and the less than stellar service you received during your visit. This is certainly not the level of excellence we strive to provide. Your concerns have been addressed with the team. Based on your comments regarding the package rate you booked for the VMFA, we are continually reviewing our packages to always ensure we add more value to you, and we appreciate this feedback. I hope that you will give us another opportunity to show that we can and will do better. Your feedback is the key to our success. Thank you again.

Christi Barbee
Front Office Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Richmond hotels
0.5 mi away
The Jefferson Hotel
The Jefferson Hotel
#1 of 82 in Richmond
1,301 reviews
0.3 mi away
Linden Row Inn
Linden Row Inn
#6 of 82 in Richmond
1,074 reviews
0.1 mi away
Richmond Marriott
Richmond Marriott
#19 of 82 in Richmond
748 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Omni Richmond Hotel
Omni Richmond Hotel
#15 of 82 in Richmond
2,019 reviews
13.2 mi away
Hilton Richmond Hotel & Spa / Short Pump
0.5 mi away
The Berkeley Hotel
The Berkeley Hotel
#8 of 82 in Richmond
933 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hilton Richmond Downtown? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hilton Richmond Downtown

Address: 501 E Broad St, Richmond, VA 23219-1809 (Formerly Hilton Garden Inn Richmond Downtown)
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Virginia > Richmond
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Green Hotel in Richmond
#4 Luxury Hotel in Richmond
#5 Romantic Hotel in Richmond
#5 Business Hotel in Richmond
#7 Family Hotel in Richmond
Price Range: $154 - $346 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Hilton Richmond Downtown 4*
Number of rooms: 250
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to the state of Virginia, and the Hilton Richmond Downtown, located in the heart of historic downtown Richmond. This premiere hotel is located within minutes of I-95 and I-64, across the street from the Greater Richmond Convention Center, two blocks from the Richmond Coliseum, and the National Theater, and next door to Richmond Center Stage. Formerly the beloved Miller & Rhoads Department Store, the original marble floors and restored millwork grace the lobby, providing our guests with a combination of historic charm, southern hospitality and modern amenities. This spacious and inviting Hilton hotel is an easy choice for the discerning traveler and for families who are looking for a place they can feel at home. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline, Hotels.com, Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity, Hotwire, Orbitz, HotelQuickly, TripOnline SA, getaroom.com and Cancelon so you can book your Hilton Richmond Downtown reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hilton Garden Inn Richmond Hotel Richmond

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing