We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent All Around”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Hilton Richmond Downtown
Ranked #8 of 82 Hotels in Richmond
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersBronze level
Reviewed December 24, 2011

From the moment we checked in (to six rooms, I might add), to the moment we checked out, every interaction with the staff was excellent. A minor problem with one room (tub slow to drain) was addressed immediately (and breakfast comp'd, to boot). The front desk staff were all professional, pleasant, and went above and beyond to ensure my entire family had a wonderful stay. The valets worked overtime to orchestrate cars in and out of the garage. The shuttle drivers were quick and accommodating to our needs. I can't say enough good things about this place. I've stayed at the HGI Richmond Downtown on six other occasions, and have always had great experiences. There are other, more prestigious hotels in RVA, but this one takes the cake for making you feel wanted.

Room Tip: Rooms 303 and 403 are HUGE, and should book for the same rate as a regular with two queens. Avoid r...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Martin B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
tripin1, General Manager at Hilton Richmond Downtown, responded to this reviewResponded January 6, 2012

Dear Martin;

Thank you for your recent visit and kind comments about our hotel. I'll certainly pass on you positive feedback about our valet and van team, as well review this with the entire team. We look forward to your return visit should travels bring you back to Richmond and our HGI.

Sincerely,

John Cario
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (1,539)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

1,396 - 1,402 of 1,539 reviews

Reviewed December 22, 2011

This was our first time staying at this Hilton facility and I have to say it was absolutely wonderful. The staff was very friendly and accommodating. We had drinks at the bar before dinner and Kam our bartender was very attentive and one of the best bartenders we have experienced on all our travels. He made us feel welcomed and insured we had a very enjoyable experience. When in the Richmond area I would recommend you trying this facility. You will not be sorry.

  • Stayed: December 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank dnj53
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
tripin1, General Manager at Hilton Richmond Downtown, responded to this reviewResponded January 6, 2012

Thank you for your recent visit and feedback. I'll be thanking Kam - Bartender for your comments and we certainly appreciate you recognizing one of our associates for their stellar service.

We look forward to your return visit in the future.

Sincerely,

John Cario
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 22, 2011

I stayed here for a concert at Carpenter Theater. Valet parking only (pricey, but typical big city price). My room was very nice. Spacious, comfortable bed. I did find hair on one of the hand towels but the bathroom was otherwise clean. Unfortunately I didn't notice that there weren't any wash cloths until I was already in the shower.

There's a small outdoor skating rink just up the block. The Carpenter Theater was also just a block and a half up the road so I was able to walk to the concert. If you go out the lobby and go to the left the neighborhood seems ok. If you go to the right out of the lobby it's a little sketchy.

  • Stayed: December 2011, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
Thank soonerj92
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
tripin1, General Manager at Hilton Richmond Downtown, responded to this reviewResponded January 6, 2012

Thank you for your recent visit to our hotel and Richmond. It sounds like you had an enjoyable stay, and saw a show at the Carpenter Center. We are fortunate to be just across 6th Street from the Carpenter Center, the National and as you mentioned the "winter" ice-rink as well. We'll share your comments with the team to celebrate and review the opportunities.

We look forward to your next Richmond visit.

Sincerely,

John Cario
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 19, 2011

My wife and I stayed here for our company's party and were really impressed with the valet and shuttle services. When we arrived, the valets were friendly and made checking in easy and painless. Later we realized we forgot a bag and the valet went to our car to retrieve it for us. The Hilton Garden Inn provided a shuttle to and from our company party. Despite missing the shuttle, they ran one just for us to the party as well as later when returning to the hotel. The staff were very friendly and helpful. And the room was very nice as well -- we enjoyed the larger layout. We'll be back whenever we're in Richmond.

  • Stayed: December 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Andrew T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
tripin1, General Manager at Hilton Richmond Downtown, responded to this reviewResponded January 6, 2012

Dear Andrew,

Thank you for your recent visit and comments. I have thanked the valet team and van drivers for their excellent service to you during your visit. We certainly welcome you back on your next HGI - Richmond visit.

Sincerely,

John Cario
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 18, 2011

This hotel is very nice. I have stayed here twice for business in Richmond. Its located downtown. There is a sports bar and starbucks in the Marriott across the street, but the Hilton is more reasonably priced.

My only complaint was a very rude clerk when I checked in. Her nametag was "Miss C". I emailed the manager, and he quickly responded and apologized.

  • Stayed: December 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank mrd1352
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
tripin1, General Manager at Hilton Richmond Downtown, responded to this reviewResponded January 6, 2012

Thank you for your recent visit to our hotel and feedback. While I was glad to learn you had a nice visit, I was certainly disappointed to hear of your welcome at the desk. We have discussed this with the team, and again thank you for bringing this to our attention.

We look forward to your next visit with us.

Sincerely,


John Cario
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 15, 2011

No problems except that I couldn't get the heater to go as warm as I wanted - but I was too busy to ask for help with it, so it wasn't a deal breaker. The rooms were clean and VERY quiet. Nice staff, which is what I mainly look for. Good area of town as far as being able to walk to restaurants and downtown features.

  • Stayed: December 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank scarter9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
tripin1, General Manager at Hilton Richmond Downtown, responded to this reviewResponded January 6, 2012

Thank you for your stay with us and feedback. I apologize for the issues with the heater, but glad everything else worked out well for you and you found the area to be good for restaurant options.

We look forward to your return visit to Richmond !

Sincerely,

John Cario
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 14, 2011

Every parent wants to celebrate their child's accomplishments in a big way. College graduation is among the highest, and selecting a venue can make or break the celebration. So glad we chose the Hilton Garden Inn, Richmond! The management and staff attended to every detail, gave every assistance, offered every kind word and deed to make our son's weekend a memory-maker. Top it off with dining or decor we'll never forget! Next time we're in the area, the choice of accommodations will not be a decision we'll have to re-visit. Looking forward to Hilton Garden Inn Richmond!!!

  • Stayed: December 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Florence S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
tripin1, General Manager at Hilton Richmond Downtown, responded to this reviewResponded January 6, 2012

Thank you for your recent visit and stay with us to celebrate your son's graduation. We are glad you found our hotel, staff and services to exceed your expectations and provide great service. We look forward to your future Richmond / HGI visits.

Sincerely,

John Cario
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Richmond hotels
0.5 mi away
The Jefferson Hotel
The Jefferson Hotel
#1 of 82 in Richmond
1,291 reviews
0.3 mi away
Linden Row Inn
Linden Row Inn
#6 of 82 in Richmond
1,069 reviews
0.5 mi away
Omni Richmond Hotel
Omni Richmond Hotel
#13 of 82 in Richmond
1,984 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
The Berkeley Hotel
The Berkeley Hotel
#7 of 82 in Richmond
915 reviews
0.1 mi away
Richmond Marriott
Richmond Marriott
#19 of 82 in Richmond
742 reviews
0.3 mi away
Delta Hotels by Marriott Richmond Downtown
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hilton Richmond Downtown? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hilton Richmond Downtown

Address: 501 E Broad St, Richmond, VA 23219-1809 (Formerly Hilton Garden Inn Richmond Downtown)
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Virginia > Richmond
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Green Hotel in Richmond
#5 Business Hotel in Richmond
#5 Romantic Hotel in Richmond
#5 Luxury Hotel in Richmond
#7 Family Hotel in Richmond
Price Range: $159 - $357 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Hilton Richmond Downtown 4*
Number of rooms: 250
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to the state of Virginia, and the Hilton Richmond Downtown, located in the heart of historic downtown Richmond. This premiere hotel is located within minutes of I-95 and I-64, across the street from the Greater Richmond Convention Center, two blocks from the Richmond Coliseum, and the National Theater, and next door to Richmond Center Stage. Formerly the beloved Miller & Rhoads Department Store, the original marble floors and restored millwork grace the lobby, providing our guests with a combination of historic charm, southern hospitality and modern amenities. This spacious and inviting Hilton hotel is an easy choice for the discerning traveler and for families who are looking for a place they can feel at home. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline, Booking.com, Orbitz, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, HotelQuickly, Cancelon and getaroom.com so you can book your Hilton Richmond Downtown reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hilton Garden Inn Richmond Hotel Richmond

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing