We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Graduation Celebration Extraordinaire”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Hilton Richmond Downtown
Ranked #7 of 82 Hotels in Richmond
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersBronze level
Reviewed December 14, 2011

Every parent wants to celebrate their child's accomplishments in a big way. College graduation is among the highest, and selecting a venue can make or break the celebration. So glad we chose the Hilton Garden Inn, Richmond! The management and staff attended to every detail, gave every assistance, offered every kind word and deed to make our son's weekend a memory-maker. Top it off with dining or decor we'll never forget! Next time we're in the area, the choice of accommodations will not be a decision we'll have to re-visit. Looking forward to Hilton Garden Inn Richmond!!!

  • Stayed: December 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Florence S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
tripin1, General Manager at Hilton Richmond Downtown, responded to this reviewResponded January 6, 2012

Thank you for your recent visit and stay with us to celebrate your son's graduation. We are glad you found our hotel, staff and services to exceed your expectations and provide great service. We look forward to your future Richmond / HGI visits.

Sincerely,

John Cario
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (1,513)
There are newer reviews for Hilton Richmond Downtown
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

1,376 - 1,382 of 1,513 reviews

Reviewed December 11, 2011

The folks at this hotel know how to treat guests. From the time you arrive to your last few steps out the door, you are treated as if you are the most important person on earth.

  • Stayed: December 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank D B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
tripin1, General Manager at Hilton Richmond Downtown, responded to this reviewResponded January 6, 2012

Dear DB,

Thanks for your recent visit and feedback. We look forward to your next visit to Richmond and stay with us at the Hilton Garden Inn - Richmond Downtown.

Sincerely,

John Cario
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 11, 2011

stayed here for business and one of the big draws was that i was working downtown (about 12 blocks from the hotel) so thought it would be convenient since the hotel offered shuttle service within a 2 mile radius of the hotel. so just took a cab to the hotel from the airport and skipped dealing with a rental car. the hotel itself is quite nice. the rooms were clean and spacious. i only ate at the hotel restaurant the first night i stayed here (in the bar) and the food was average; nothing to write home about. i found the location of the hotel to be a bit difficult as there were very few restaurants within a couple of block distance. this particular area is a bit of a dead zone. 15 blocks SE on broad street, towards the capitol district, there are loads of restaurants, and 15 blocks NW (towards the college) there are lots of restaurants and shops. normally 15 blocks isn't a terrible long walk, but the area surrounding the hotel was a bit dodgy at night. having lived in downtown DC previously, i didn't feel terribly unsafe, but i wouldn't want to walk by myself at night and our customers warned us about walking through the neighborhood at night, so that made me pause when deciding where to walk to. though the shuttle service was useful, it wasn't as convenient as i had hoped. we utilized it about 10 times and out of those 10 times, twice we waited 20 and 30 minutes for the shuttle to pick us up, we once had to call the hotel several times before it was communicated to the shuttle that we needed to be picked up, and once after dinner, after waiting 20 minutes, we walked the 5 blocks back to the hotel because the shuttle never showed up and there was no answer from the shuttle phone number. so not terrible, but not as convenient as i thought the shuttle would be. if i stayed here again, i would rent a car in order to have more mobility and convenience because when you are travelling for business and have very little time to begin with, there is nothing worse than standing around waiting.

overall, the staff was nice, the rate was great for a downtown hotel, the hotel was nice, but amenities immediately surrounding the hotel are limited, so you should have a car.

  • Stayed: December 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank greenspot101
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
tripin1, General Manager at Hilton Richmond Downtown, responded to this reviewResponded December 12, 2011

Thank you for your recent stay with us and candid feedback. I was disappointed to hear of your issues with our shuttle service. We'll review this with our team and strive to do better. This service certainly has been a hit for our visitors and we need may be adding some set area runs, vs. currently "on-demand" which can cause delays. While the neighborhood is not as robust with restaurants as you mentioned; like the bottom or fan area, we are adding new ones and many nearby are popular too. Pasture on Grace St. just opened last week, and 525 was announced this week coming to 6th and Grace behind us in April. Our American Grill is also updating our menu in January, with some exciting new choices. I hope we can do better on a future visit for you, and we do appreciate your feedback.

Sincerely,

John Cario
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 10, 2011

The staff at the HGI Richmond Downtown are unbelievable! They are helpful at every turn and offer quick smiles as you approach. No matter what we asked, they found an answer! This is so important when you're traveling and away from home and in an unfamiliar place. The restaurant's food is beautifully prepared and tastes even better. If you want to venture out, J. Byrd the driver will be happen to recommend some local hotspots and he'll even take you there! The fact that this charming hotel was converted from an old department store just adds to the down-home feel of the place but with the added benefits of a big city.

  • Stayed: November 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank D H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 9, 2011

I usually stay at this hotel when I'm in Richmond. This time was a bit of a disappointment. The room was dirty. There was food on the floor, and hair in the bathroom. The bathtub was dirty and the toilet had trouble flushing.

I almost got my purse locked in the safe, as it was not working properly--then find a sticker on the top of the safe saying there's a $3 charge! How greedy can they be?

The duvet cover was also stained and there was no extra blanket in my room. Felt like I was sleeping in a dirty bed all night.

Room Tip: This hotel tends to fill up quickly......get your rooms early.
  • Stayed: November 2011, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank KCS1958
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 6, 2011

This is a big-box chain hotel, with large, comfortable rooms.

Check-in and check-out was as efficient as you’d expect in a chain hotel. Service generally was effusive (well-trained and almost over-the-top hospitality, especially in the breakfast room). The valet was a little over-enthusiastic to my ride who wanted to stop for five minutes to drop me off, and the front desk was initially unwilling to post letters for me (though the supervisor got with the programme and my mail got sent). But generally I couldn't fault the staff.

The room (a long way down an endless corridor) was large, with a comfortable bed (I slept excellently) and good working space. The internet works well and was free, and there’s tea/coffee making facilities in the room. I didn’t use the gym or pool but had a look; both are small, and the pool is a splash pool for kids and families, not for swimming laps. The riverside is a five-minute jog down the hill, with beautiful trails on both the north and south side, so I’d suggest you’re better off outside the hotel than in it, for your daily workout.

Breakfast was excellent. It’s a buffet but the hot food is prepared to order, and the serving staff are all over you – I’m not usually a fan of buffet meals but this one seemed to get the balance of self-service flexibility, with good service, just right. The grill is spacious and it was a perfect place to take it easy over a Sunday breakfast.

This is a straightforward chain hotel and you’ll know what to expect, but they do it well and I enjoyed my overnight stay here. There’s not that much choice in Richmond in the mid-standard bracket but this hotel is well-managed and doesn’t rest on its laurels. It could be very ordinary but the staff and management clearly work hard to make it more than the sum of its parts.

  • Stayed: December 2011, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Peter D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
tripin1, General Manager at Hilton Richmond Downtown, responded to this reviewResponded December 7, 2011

Thank you for your recent visit to Richmond and your stay with us at the Historic Miller & Rhoads - Hilton Garden Inn. You described us well, and thank you for your review. Yes, we are certainly affliated with a big-box chain - HGI, however being built in a renovated Department Store in the revitalized Downtown Richmond affords us "the out of the box" style. Our competitive set is also all full-service, so while deliverying the Brand Standards we also strive to take it up a notch and service in a full-service style.

Great suggestion on the outside jogs, and Richmond also has some top road running events for any sports minded travelers; Monument Ave. 10k, Suntrust Marathon, and so many more we are proud of. We also work with a nearby YMCA should a traveler need the additional workout !

Thanks again, and we hope to see you soon.

Sincerely,

John Cario
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 4, 2011

The hotel and the majority of the staff is fabulous a few kinks with night auditors and their ability to focus but on the whole great . Great management , great food only 1 bad rude apple in the staff . Lady by name of Doris very rude doesn't greet you pleasantly and is very short and nasty in her responses. If she's at desk have someone else wait on you !

  • Stayed: December 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Elissandiego
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
tripin1, General Manager at Hilton Richmond Downtown, responded to this reviewResponded December 5, 2011

Thank you for your recent stay and feedback. I was disappointed to hear of the "kinks" you had with our audit team on the first night of your arrival. As you know I met with you Saturday am as I was the MOD (Manager on Duty) and we addressed your concerns to your satisfaction. I will address your comments with Doris, but can assure you this must have been a "hic-up" as she consistently gives stellar service and in fact has been noted on previous Tripadvisors. I appreciate your positive feedback and recent visit to our hotel.

Sincerely,

John Cario
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Richmond hotels
0.3 mi away
Linden Row Inn
Linden Row Inn
#6 of 82 in Richmond
1,061 reviews
0.5 mi away
The Jefferson Hotel
The Jefferson Hotel
#1 of 82 in Richmond
1,279 reviews
0.5 mi away
Omni Richmond Hotel
Omni Richmond Hotel
#13 of 82 in Richmond
1,945 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
The Berkeley Hotel
The Berkeley Hotel
#8 of 82 in Richmond
888 reviews
0.1 mi away
Richmond Marriott
Richmond Marriott
#18 of 82 in Richmond
729 reviews
0.5 mi away
Quirk Hotel
Quirk Hotel
#9 of 82 in Richmond
734 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hilton Richmond Downtown? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hilton Richmond Downtown

Address: 501 E Broad St, Richmond, VA 23219-1809 (Formerly Hilton Garden Inn Richmond Downtown)
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Virginia > Richmond
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Green Hotel in Richmond
#4 Luxury Hotel in Richmond
#5 Romantic Hotel in Richmond
#5 Business Hotel in Richmond
#7 Family Hotel in Richmond
Price Range: $161 - $314 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Hilton Richmond Downtown 4*
Number of rooms: 250
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to the state of Virginia, and the Hilton Richmond Downtown, located in the heart of historic downtown Richmond. This premiere hotel is located within minutes of I-95 and I-64, across the street from the Greater Richmond Convention Center, two blocks from the Richmond Coliseum, and the National Theater, and next door to Richmond Center Stage. Formerly the beloved Miller & Rhoads Department Store, the original marble floors and restored millwork grace the lobby, providing our guests with a combination of historic charm, southern hospitality and modern amenities. This spacious and inviting Hilton hotel is an easy choice for the discerning traveler and for families who are looking for a place they can feel at home. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Orbitz, Hilton Hotels Direct, Booking.com, Priceline, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, HotelQuickly and getaroom.com so you can book your Hilton Richmond Downtown reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hilton Garden Inn Richmond Hotel Richmond

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing