We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“They get it right”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Hilton Richmond Downtown
Ranked #8 of 81 Hotels in Richmond
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersBronze level
ohio
Level Contributor
44 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
“They get it right”
Reviewed September 20, 2011

We just spent a week at this hotel for a wedding. They do the two most important things right: friendly and helpful staff, along with spotlessly clean rooms.
From the valet parking staff, to the bell staff to the front desk, to the restaurant servers and everyone else we had dealings with, all were professional, helpful and friendly. After just a day or two, we were greeted with friendly recognition by all.
As for the rooms: We ALWAYS check for cleanliness, and this hotel exceeded our expectations. We peeled back the fitted sheets and checked the bedding, the floor under the beds and area around the headboard (all with an L.E.D. flashlight). The mattresses were clean and free of hairs, as was every other aspect of the room, including bathrooms.

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank betdonoh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
tripin1, General Manager at Hilton Richmond Downtown, responded to this review, September 28, 2011
Thank you for your recent "week long" visit with us. We appreciate your feedback as related to our "friendly, professional, and helpful team", as well our clean facility. That is certainly our goal, and we are glad we delivered. We will certainly share your feedback with our team !

Sincerely,

John Cario
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,439 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    793
    435
    138
    47
    26
See reviews for
357
271
75
586
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (258)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Virginia Beach, Virginia
1 review
Reviewed September 20, 2011

I travel and work events such as weddings & corporate functions at many different Hotels and venues. From the minute I opened my window of my car to the valet, to when I pulled out of the parking lot the next day, Each and every employee of this hotel was amazing. EVERY single employee I came upon including busboys or random employees traversing the corridors welcomed me to the hotel and asked if they could do something for me, The room was fabulous and clean, the food was great but again..the service is over the top. You don't get this kind of happy service in Vegas! If in Richmond, Hands down...this is the place to stay!

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank PJSent
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
tripin1, General Manager at Hilton Richmond Downtown, responded to this review, September 28, 2011
Dear PJ,

Thanks very much for the recent visit and review of our hotel. We were glad to see you experienced our "over the top" service. Our job one is hospitality, and we strive to deliver !

We do share our reviews with the team, and in fact shared several stories at our recent "Associate Awards Luncheon" just this week, so we thank you for taking time to review us.

Sincerely,

John Cario
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Las Vegas, Nevada
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviewed September 17, 2011

My husband and I stayed here because we were going to the NASCAR race. The front desk staff was very friendly. Rooms were great. The shuttle will take you anywhere you want in a 2 mile radius. Everyone we encountered gave us a genuine "Hello". Would definitely stay here again if ever in the Richmond area.

Stayed September 2011, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Meghan G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
tripin1, General Manager at Hilton Richmond Downtown, responded to this review, September 19, 2011
Thank you for your recent Richmond visit for NASCAR racing at RIR. We are fortunate to have two events each year, and I trust you enjoyed the races. We appreciate your comments to Tripadvisor and glad to here our staff assisted you, as well you used our courtesy vans.

We look forward to your next Richmond visit - maybe for the April races in 2012, or come see us before that !

Sincerely,

John Cario
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Austin, Texas
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed September 15, 2011

This is one of the nicer Hilton Garden Inns that I've stayed in. The rooms ar lovely, if slightly small. The staff were almost without exception friendly and helpful, from the valet parking attendants to the management.

This would have been a 5 star review had my waitress at breakfast been attentive, and had housekeeping not forgotten to leave me replacement hand towels and washcloths two days in a row.

Be warned, the neighborhood is a bit rough. Don't plan to walk alone after dark.

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank elvissatx
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
tripin1, General Manager at Hilton Richmond Downtown, responded to this review, September 19, 2011
Thank you for your recent visit and feedback to Tripadvisor. We strive to be that "Fabulous" hotel and glad you felt that way with many of our team here. We'll share your feedback with the team, and certainly address your notes to ensure we are that "5" star rating for your future visits.

Sincerely,

John Cario
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Concord, New Hampshire
Level Contributor
43 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed September 13, 2011

Traveling for Business. Stayed three days. The room was very comfortable. Quiet and nice. For some odd reason the hallway floors felt like cheap plywood not screwed down. they moved and squeaked when walked on. not sure what that was about.

The front desk staff, very rude not impressed for a Hilton. Will not stay there again.

Comfortable Bed and clean bathroom.

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank BVG1971
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
tripin1, General Manager at Hilton Richmond Downtown, responded to this review, September 19, 2011
Thank you for your comments regarding your stay at the Historic Miller & Rhoads / Hilton Garden Inn – Downtown Richmond. We welcome and appreciate our guests’ comments as this is the best way for us to continue to improve our operation. As you noted you certainly experienced some of our "historic flooring" in the halls. While they are carpeted, we did retain some of the historic charm, or squeaks underneath. Likewise the rooms are larger, and very nice (as you stated) again being in a renovated Department store most of the rooms are larger, with tall cielings.

I apologize that your staff you encountered was less than you expected, and certainly welcome your call or email to pinpoint your stay with us, and offer some additional training to those that didn't shine, as we usually do.

Please know your comments are reviewed with the entire team here so we can address our guests concerns and improve on our services in the future.

I look forward to discussing your visit, as well hopefully having the opportunity to show we do much better. (As noted by several other Tripadvisor Comments)

Sincerely,

John Cario
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fort Washington, Maryland
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviewed September 9, 2011

The staff was attentive, welcoming, and helpful. Specifically, my party received great service from Ms. Barbara, Dawn, Benjamin, James, and Elisabeth who worked in various departments of the hotel. I will definitely visit again. They became like family. The beds and food are great also.

Room Tip: Ask for one near the elevator.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Sharon L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
tripin1, General Manager at Hilton Richmond Downtown, responded to this review, September 12, 2011
Thanks for your recent visit and recognition of some of our associates at this location. I will personally thank each of those you mentioned for delivering outstanding service during your visit. I was also glad to see you liked our Garden Sleep System beds and our food. We look forward to your future Hilton Richmond visits.

Sincerely,

John Cario
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Alexandria, Virginia
1 review
Reviewed September 6, 2011

We were in town for a wedding. And from the comfortable adjustable beds, tasty and well prepared food, to each and every service worker encountered, our stay was most enjoyable! The staff was very personable and went out of their way to make our stay as comfortable as possible. By the end of our stay, it was like saying goodbye to old friends. I will most definitely return whenever I am in the city again.

Room Tip: If available, ask for a end room. It's very large!
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank sbtxrose
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
tripin1, General Manager at Hilton Richmond Downtown, responded to this review, September 12, 2011
Thank you for your recent visit to the Historic Miller & Rhoads / Hilton Garden Inn. We were glad to hear you enjoyed the Southern Hospitality our team delivered. We look forward to your future visits to Richmond, VA.

Sincerely,

John Cario
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Richmond hotels
0.5 mi away
Omni Richmond Hotel
Omni Richmond Hotel
#11 of 81 in Richmond
1,855 reviews
0.5 mi away
The Jefferson Hotel
The Jefferson Hotel
#1 of 81 in Richmond
1,224 reviews
0.3 mi away
Linden Row Inn
Linden Row Inn
#6 of 81 in Richmond
1,013 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Quirk Hotel
Quirk Hotel
#9 of 81 in Richmond
670 reviews
0.5 mi away
The Berkeley Hotel
The Berkeley Hotel
#7 of 81 in Richmond
830 reviews
0.1 mi away
Richmond Marriott
Richmond Marriott
#22 of 81 in Richmond
698 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hilton Richmond Downtown? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hilton Richmond Downtown

Property: Hilton Richmond Downtown
Address: 501 E Broad St, Richmond, VA 23219-1809 (Formerly Hilton Garden Inn Richmond Downtown)
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Virginia > Richmond
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Green Hotel in Richmond
#5 Business Hotel in Richmond
#5 Romantic Hotel in Richmond
#5 Luxury Hotel in Richmond
#7 Family Hotel in Richmond
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Hilton Richmond Downtown 4*
Number of rooms: 250
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to the state of Virginia, and the Hilton Richmond Downtown, located in the heart of historic downtown Richmond. This premiere hotel is located within minutes of I-95 and I-64, across the street from the Greater Richmond Convention Center, two blocks from the Richmond Coliseum, and the National Theater, and next door to Richmond Center Stage. Formerly the beloved Miller & Rhoads Department Store, the original marble floors and restored millwork grace the lobby, providing our guests with a combination of historic charm, southern hospitality and modern amenities. This spacious and inviting Hilton hotel is an easy choice for the discerning traveler and for families who are looking for a place they can feel at home. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Hotwire, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, Priceline, Hotel.de, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hilton Richmond Downtown reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hilton Garden Inn Richmond Hotel Richmond

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing