We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent dinner spot”
Review of Bistro 27

Bistro 27
Reserve with OpenTable
Bistro 27 is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #76 of 1,603 Restaurants in Richmond
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $30 - $30
Cuisines: European, French
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Special occasions, Romantic
Dining options: Breakfast, Dinner, Reservations
Dining style: Casual Dining
Cross street: Corner of Broad and Adams
Richmond, Virginia
Level Contributor
50 reviews
19 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
“Excellent dinner spot”
Reviewed March 4, 2014

Great, very creative food. Excellent service. We are going there often for semi-casual dinner and special occasions and never failed to receive great service and delicious food.

Visited February 2014
Helpful?
Thank Vera995
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

214 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    112
    45
    28
    13
    16
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
North Carolina
Level Contributor
111 reviews
69 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“Gourmet Cuisine”
Reviewed March 4, 2014

Outstanding food and service. I like that the menu changes with the seasons to take advantage of the finest freshest ingredients. The short ribs bourgeon are the best I have ever had.

Visited December 2013
Helpful?
Thank DJF1958
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Baltimore, Maryland
Level Contributor
14 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“good food, great space”
Reviewed February 11, 2014

This restaurant is really close to the Jefferson Hotel (within walking distance) and had great food and some slid wine choices. It still has some of that old school Richmond charm but with an open enough layout to allow for larger dinner parties (they sat our table of 11 just fine).

The escargot was really yummy.

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
Thank SpartyOnInBmore
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Murfreesboro, Tennessee
Level Contributor
22 reviews
16 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Over priced and service is bad”
Reviewed February 6, 2014

We went to Bistro 27 for a celebration and the service was awful. It's not like the restaurant was swamped either. It took forever for our drinks and half of of our party of 6 did not enjoy their meals. Not to mention if you have a party of 5 or more and want to split the check they charge an extra 20%. I think that is absurd for a small party like that, party of 8 or more sure. The waiter had no personality and was very unfriendly. I'm assuming it's because they include gratuity so he didn't have to work for his tips. On a positive note, I enjoyed my meal and the restaurant is beautiful. However, we will not be returning.

  • Visited January 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Cristina C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Northern Virginia
Level Contributor
608 reviews
410 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 284 helpful votes
“Very Good Happy Hour”
Reviewed February 1, 2014

Two of us popped in for apps and drinks during happy hour (5-7 pm). While the choices were a bit confusing - no separate happy hour menu, and only some regular items are on special for happy hour - we managed.

Food and beverage were both very good. The lamb kebab was very good. Mussels were absolutely first rate. A good selection of tap beers at $5, and several wines, as well.

Visited January 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank luv2travl003
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Bistro 27 also viewed

 
Richmond, VA
Richmond, VA
 

Been to Bistro 27? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing