We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great stay!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Wingate by Wyndham Richmond Short Pump
Ranked #19 of 82 Hotels in Richmond
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed June 29, 2011

Stayed one night as a stop over to our final destination based on reviews here on TA. Very nice room and a great price. It is a bit off the highway, but it was well worth it!!

The room was spacious and super clean. The only thing is the bathroom door is very awkward. You have to be in there and move around the toilet to get it closed. Nice shower too.

Fridge and microwave in the room and wonderful flat screen LCD tv. I could have stayed up all night watching it if I didn't have to get up early & get back on the road.

The only thing I would improve is the breakfast, not only the food, but keeping it well stocked. When we got to it around 8ish it was cleaned out, even the utensils. It took a bit for the person to restock it even though she was working at it pretty quickly. I'm wondering if it might need to be monitored more often. At any rate, the eggs & sausage were extremely salty and the juice glasses are soo tiny!

The person who checked us in could have been friendlier. It was late, so maybe he was tired. The parking is tight so try to get there early. We were late arrivals. All and all for the price I would stay again.

Room Tip: Best price was at hotel website.
  • Stayed: June 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank ChiSox
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (1,264)
There are newer reviews for Wingate by Wyndham Richmond Short Pump
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

1,210 - 1,216 of 1,264 reviews

Reviewed June 28, 2011

I only stayed at this hotel for one night. It was very enjoyable. The only reason I didn't give it five stars is because when I asked for a late check out on Sunday morning the guy at the front desk was very rigid and denied my request. When my friends called down to the front desk to ask for a late check out the person (not the same one) had no problem giving them a late check out. Which was after I asked.
The beds are very comfortable and the room was very clean. It is in a great location with lots to do around there. Plus close to the soccer fields.

  • Stayed: June 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank momtoo2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 25, 2011

We really liked this hotel. It was very clean and was extremely reasonable pricewise. It was easy to find too. The break fast was great. I would stay here again!! The internet was free and easy to access and parking was right there too -FREE.

  • Stayed: June 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank UKWildcatFan012
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 10, 2011

Wingate is a great place to rest your weary bones after an arduous day of travel. Bright and cheeful, the rooms are super clean, tastefully decorated and inviting. The bathrooms have granite countertops and look brand new. Thew Front Desk staff totally gets the concept of customer service. They can provide you with information about historic and cultural sights. There is no restaurant, but a complimentary hot breakfast is served in the lobby. The breakfast hostess is friendly and very competent. A sparkling indoor pool beckons the tired traveler. There is also a workout area and a convenience store to purchase snacks. You can walk to many stores and restaurants in the Short Pump Mall. The Wingate gives you value for your dollar...free wifi, free parking....Looking forward to a return trip to Short Pump or anywhere there is a Wingate!

Room Tip: Ask if there is a Manager's Special
  • Stayed: May 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ILLENE99
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 23, 2011

The Wingate was a bit off the beaten path for us while we were in Richmond for our grandson's college graduation. We chose it on the basis of it's high Trip Advisor rating and significantly lower rates than in-town hotels...and we couldn't have been happier. The drive to and from town, which we did three or four times, was no problem at all. The desk clerk at check-in was both friendly and attentive. Our room was clean and spacious. The bathroom was just as clean, if a little less spacious. (It also lacked a towel rack which we don't unerstand when there was plenty of wall space for one.) The bed was wonderfully comfortable. And the breakfast was as good as you're going to get, including real sausage and bacon.

For a nearby dinner, we'd highly recommend The Firebird at nearby Short Pump Mall. It's hard to imagine there was any better food in town, and the Mall was just a mile down the road.

In short, we couldn't have been happier with our choice of hotels. We may not have occasion to stay at this particular Wingate again, but we'll definitely look favorably at the Wingate name if we see them in other locations where we might travel.

  • Stayed: May 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Stratford64
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 25, 2011

For starters, we selected this hotel for the following reasons- availability of connecting rooms (a must when travelling with toddlers), a heated indoor pool, hot breakfast, and positive reviews on TripAdvisor.

Too many places tell me that they will "ask" for connecting rooms but can't guarantee it. I have three toddlers. If you can't guarantee the type room, I don't make the reservation. Wingate made the guarantee, and the rooms were just what they were supposed to be.

What we found- large rooms that were clean and comfortably appointed. These are some of the largest rooms I have found at this level of quality and price. Everything was neat and clean, and smelled clean as well. The carpets passed the white sock test, and that always makes me feel better. The connecting doors were in a good spot AND stayed open (or closed, as desired) without requiring propping. This is the type benefit that you only notice if you need it, and as we did, we were well pleased with the results. Both rooms were easily large enough to accomodate a roll-away bed or crib if we had wanted one. The beds were among the most comfortable hotel beds I have ever slept in. My only problem with my bed was that the pillows were too thick.

The pool was clean and warm enough- in my experience, most pools that claim to be heated are still too cold to swim in most of the time. This was quite nice. Another couple of degrees would have made ME happier, but it was quite acceptible, and the children loved it. The whirlpool was nice and clean and hot enough without being too hot.

Hot breakfast- standard fare one normally sees in hotels without a resturant. Heated omelets, biscuits and gravy, assorted pasteries, fresh fruits, yogurt and cereals. Fresh waffles. Plenty to keep us going. Nothing fancy, but fresh, plentiful, and restocked regularly throughout the meal time.

All staff members we interacted with were friendly, helpful, and professional.

My only dissatisfaction with this hotel was that it was quite a haul from the interstate along a road with VERY heavy traffic. It will not keep me from staying here again. This property meet the needs of my family very well, and will probably be our property of choice when we are in Richmond.

  • Stayed: April 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank STVUstudent
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 23, 2011

Spent four nights on vacation with my wife. Traveled easily to downtown historic sites. Surrounded by malls, restaurants..Exceptionally personable front desk, good breakfast,new and clean. The 24-hour coffee was a nice treat.Ample free parking. Highly recommend.

  • Stayed: April 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Medford_MARick2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Richmond hotels
7.2 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Richmond/Glenside
0.7 mi away
HYATT House Richmond-West
HYATT House Richmond-West
#5 of 82 in Richmond
842 reviews
11.1 mi away
Best Western Plus Governor's Inn
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Hilton Richmond Hotel & Spa / Short Pump
3.6 mi away
SpringHill Suites Richmond Northwest
6.2 mi away
Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Richmond West at I-64
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Wingate by Wyndham Richmond Short Pump? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Wingate by Wyndham Richmond Short Pump

Address: 13991 N Gayton Rd, Richmond, VA 23233
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Virginia > Richmond
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#5 Best Value Hotel in Richmond
#17 Romantic Hotel in Richmond
#17 Family Hotel in Richmond
#22 Business Hotel in Richmond
Price Range: $110 - $144 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Wingate by Wyndham Richmond Short Pump 2.5*
Number of rooms: 102
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Travelocity, Priceline, Hotwire, TripOnline SA, Cheap Tickets, getaroom.com, Cancelon and HotelsforEveryone so you can book your Wingate by Wyndham Richmond Short Pump reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Wingate By Wyndham- Richmond/ Short Pump Hotel Richmond

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing