We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great location and nice stay”
Review of Linden Row Inn

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Linden Row Inn
Ranked #6 of 82 Hotels in Richmond
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed September 22, 2009

We stayed three nights at conclusion of a visit touring state. The neighbourhood looked and is a little shabby but Linden Row is clearly well maintained. We were checked in promptly indeed we arrived at noon and were able to get to our room and drop bags.
The common areas / lounge very welcoming. Room in Garden Court - large , clean, nicely furnished and for someone with a bad back - VERY comfortable and firm mattress.
Breakfast was included but was disappointing - no variety from day to day and same fare as offered in motels for 1/3 price. A real bonus to us was the free mini-shuttle within city, which as we had returned our car rental was great to get to Shokhoe Slip and Capital and Monument Avenue. Van driver was great , Front Desk Staff - OK. Helpful but not overly friendly. Big question - would I stay there again - definately. Could they improve - yes- better breakfast ( described as Gourmet and it was not) and more
friendly staff .

  • Stayed: September 2009, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank TouringOnion
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LindenRowInnMgmt, Manager at Linden Row Inn, responded to this reviewResponded October 7, 2009

Thank you for taking the time to share your recent experience at the Linden Row Inn. We appreciate your positive feedback on the check-in process, our neighborhood, our guest rooms, and our garden areas.

We strive to provide our guests with great customer service, and will definitely share your constructive feedback on the friendliness of our Front Desk staff with our entire Front Desk team.

We are also sorry to hear that our Complimentary Continental Breakfast failed to meet your expectations. We have recently added some new items to our breakfast menu (including the introduction of premium coffee, doughnuts and hot waffles), and plan to make some additional improvements in the months to come.

We look forward to welcoming you to the Linden Row Inn during a future visit to Richmond.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (1,107)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

1,070 - 1,076 of 1,107 reviews

Reviewed September 8, 2009

We had a GREAT time, just looking for an excuse for a weekend getaway from DC. We did the First Friday art tour, and then kept on asking staff for suggestions on where to eat or what to see, and zzzipp, the weekend was over.

Richmond was so much more than we expected, and this great little Inn was an easy point to drive around from, and to walk around from. We are definitely going back, and will use this as our local pied a terre again.

Friendly, courteous, prompt and try-to-be-invisible staff; just what we wanted. Thanks.

  • Stayed: September 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank WDC_Realtor
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LindenRowInnMgmt, Manager at Linden Row Inn, responded to this reviewResponded October 7, 2009

Thank you for your review of the Linden Row Inn. We are happy to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us and we look forward to hosting you during your next visit to Richmond!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 20, 2009

Hotel staff was friendly and helpful- the front desk made a dinner suggestion and placed reservations for us. Hotel is located in a great location and is within walking distance to tons of great cafes, bistros, bars and historic attractions. The rooms are beautiful and the marble bathroom was super clean. We loved the antique furniture and would recommend this hotel to anyone visiting Richmond and even people who live in Richmond, like us, who would like to get to know Richmonds great history a little better.

  • Stayed: July 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank loveitlocal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LindenRowInnMgmt, Manager at Linden Row Inn, responded to this reviewResponded July 28, 2009

It is always a pleasure to hear from guests who had a wonderful stay at the Linden Row Inn. As you note, the Linden Row Inn is a great destination for Richmond residents looking to spend a night (or two) in the city. We frequently offer special packages and rates for those looking for an in-town getaway. We encourage you to visit the Specials and Packages section of our website for further details. We appreciate your review and look forward to hosting you in the future!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 18, 2009

Linden Row is a charming, historic hotel. Historic means it is delightful, quirky and old. The original owners were the foster parents of Edgar Allen Poe (the “Allen” in the Edgar Poe). The Inn is full of unusual spaces and venues. For example, you will find summer verandas and rocking chairs, and rooms with 12-foot ceilings. A charming, tree filled courtyard with wrought iron furniture. The rooms are large and furnishings are lush. But all the rooms and furniture have dings and dents in them because they are old or antiques, and no amount of paint can cover up the dents that occurred 60 years ago. Be warned, even though the hotel is smoke free, some public rooms still have the lingering smell of cigarettes, as Virginia had a long history with tobacco (the actual bedrooms do not have this problem). We booked in the cheaper garden rooms (smaller units, but in the beautiful courtyard). When we arrived, we were “upgraded” to the larger units in the main house at no cost (a $50 savings). I was perplexed. But I deduced the Inn did not have enough business to open up the garden units (and pay for the A/C in them). So they “upgraded” us at no cost, to lower their over all A/C costs (hint: always book the garden units). Breakfast is good, not great. Service is basic (no room service, no business center, no exercise, no porter, etc.), but friendly. The neighborhood is safe, despite what some reviewers may think (bear in mind, this is a city, not some suburban cul-de-sac). It is on the premier street (Franklin) in Richmond across from the main library, next to law offices and two blocks from the five star Jefferson Hotel. Some reviewers appear to be afraid of local Richmond people, who are probably going about their own business.

  • Stayed: July 2009, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Foster32
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LindenRowInnMgmt, Manager at Linden Row Inn, responded to this reviewResponded July 28, 2009

Thank you for taking the time to share your positive experience at the Linden Row Inn. As you point out, the property does have a very unique history, with many well-known Richmond residents of the past spending a portion of their lives here. Most notable, the Allan Family (including young Edgar Allan Poe) lived with Charles Ellis, the owner of the land that now comprises the Linden Row Inn. The property where the Linden Row Inn now stands was a garden where young Edgar played with the Ellis children. Local legend has it that the enchanted garden is the one that Poe mentions in his famous poem “To Helen.” It is also believed that the lifelong romance between Elmyra Royster and Edgar Allan Poe unfolded in the garden where the Linden Row Inn stands today.

Thank you for your comments on our upgrade policy. To clarify, the Management of the Linden Row Inn occasionally upgrades our regular guests from Garden rooms to our Main House rooms. This is a gesture of our appreciation for the continued support. Unfortunately, complimentary upgrades are always based on availability and are not guaranteed.

Regarding the services we offer, we are proud to provide a variety of complimentary amenities for our guests. This includes complimentary access to the state-of-the-art YMCA fitness center (located one block away), Free wireless internet in all rooms and public areas, and a complimentary internet station in our Parlour Lobby. We also offer printing, photocopying, and faxing services at our Front Desk. While we don’t offer room service, our Front Desk is always happy to provide guests with menus for nearby restaurants which deliver to guests staying in our rooms.

We are happy that you enjoyed your stay with us and look forward to hosting you again soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 7, 2009

A wonderful small rowhouse inn with history included at no extra charge. The place is located within walking of the canal, the state capitol buildings and magnificent city hall. It is also adjacent to Vir Comwlth Univ and some really interesting restaurants (I tried Comfort and Edos Squid) You will be delighted I believe.

  • Stayed: March 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank DCSEasternLongIsland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LindenRowInnMgmt, Manager at Linden Row Inn, responded to this reviewResponded July 28, 2009

Thank you for taking the time to share your positive experience during a recent stay at the Linden Row Inn. We are happy to hear that you enjoyed staying with us and we hope that you will return again soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 2, 2009

This is a terrific 70-room hotel, very old world, with a beautiful and very large brick terrace and garden across the walled back courtyard and stunning verandah hallways. We were upgraded to a suite after booking a queen room. The suite had spectacular floor-to-ceiling windows and gorgeous old chandeliers. The complimentary breakfast every morning features waffles as well as fresh fruit and coffee. We particularly enjoyed the shuttle service, which took us everywhere we needed to go pretty much whenever we wanted. Service very friendly at the front desk, driving the shuttle, and in the dining room. The hotel is very well located in a beautiful old neighbourhood in between Richmond's business core and the historic Fan district. We attended a conference in the city core; it was an easy 7-minute walk in the mornings. One thing: if at all possible, it would be nice if your patrons could book a shuttle ride to the airport. We spent nearly $100 getting to and from the airport in taxis. Other than that, we loved the old furniture, and understand completely how expensive it would be to maintain such a gorgeous old building. You offer an experience of the nineteenth century, when Richmond was the capital of the confederacy — we experienced the faded grandeur of a bygone era — and that is priceless! Thank you so much. Your new friends from Toronto, Canada.

  • Stayed: March 2009, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank sallygolightly
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LindenRowInnMgmt, Manager at Linden Row Inn, responded to this reviewResponded July 27, 2009

Thank you for sharing your positive experience at the Linden Row Inn. Our team works hard to provide our guests with a glimpse of Richmond during the 19th century. It is always a pleasure to hear from guests who enjoyed experiencing a piece of history while staying with us.

Your feedback on transportation to/from the airport is also appreciated. While we don’t have any plans in the near future to offer an airport shuttle, our experience has been that a taxi ride between the Linden Row Inn and the airport costs approximately $30 (one-way). For those seeking a cheaper option, there are some shared ride companies (e.g. Groome Transportation) who offer fares as low as $21. We work with a handful of reputable taxi drivers and are always happy to provide guests with specific transportation recommendations before arriving in Richmond.

We look forward to continuing to host you during future visits to Richmond!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 23, 2009

A quaint hotel well located. Stayed with friends and even though we were both in the main house their room was much bigger than ours, so try not to get in room *25. They failed to service our room but the front desk did bring fresh towels that night when we called. Our friends had no problems. The hotel is old so it can be noisy with thin walls and windows. Parking is on the street but generally isn't a problem so long as you move your car in the morning. Breakfast is good.

  • Stayed: March 2009, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank rhamiltonnc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LindenRowInnMgmt, Manager at Linden Row Inn, responded to this reviewResponded March 24, 2009

Thank you for taking the time to write a review about your recent stay at the Linden Row Inn. It is certainly disappointing to hear that we failed to service your room during your stay. Our team works hard to provide our guests with superior customer service, and we hope that you will accept our sincerest apologies for the experience you had with us.

As a historic landmark that was originally built in the 19th century as a series of rowhomes, each of our guestrooms offers guests with a unique experience. While we cannot always guarantee that you will be placed in a specific room (or room size), we do try our best to honor guest requests to be placed in specific tier rooms as long as the tier fits in with the room type that was reserved.

In terms of parking, we are proud to offer a valet parking service that allows your vehicle to be placed in a secure garage without the time limits or restrictions associated with street parking in an urban setting.

Ensuring a wonderful stay for each of our guests is our priority and we hope that you will give us another opportunity to provide you with the exceptional stay that you deserve.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Richmond hotels
0.7 mi away
The Berkeley Hotel
The Berkeley Hotel
#8 of 82 in Richmond
980 reviews
0.2 mi away
The Jefferson Hotel
The Jefferson Hotel
#1 of 82 in Richmond
1,354 reviews
0.3 mi away
Hilton Richmond Downtown
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Quirk Hotel
Quirk Hotel
#9 of 82 in Richmond
814 reviews
6.2 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Richmond/Glenside
13 mi away
Hilton Richmond Hotel & Spa / Short Pump
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Linden Row Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Linden Row Inn

Address: 100 E Franklin St, Richmond, VA 23219-2108
Location: United States > Virginia > Richmond
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#7 Romantic Hotel in Richmond
#10 Business Hotel in Richmond
#12 Family Hotel in Richmond
Price Range: $121 - $327 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Linden Row Inn 3*
Number of rooms: 70
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Linden Row Inn is an award-winning 70-room boutique historic hotel located in the heart of Downtown Richmond. The hotel is comprised of seven row houses built in the mid-1800's, and meticulously restored over the years. Many of the hotel's guest rooms are furnished with antiques from the middle and late 1800's, and the hotel is proud to be featured on the National Register of Historic Places. Edgar Allan Poe spent his childhood playing in the garden that is now the hotel's garden courtyard, and local legend has it that the property is home to the "enchanted garden" that Poe mentions in his famous poem "To Helen." Room rate includes free wireless internet throughout the hotel, access to a state-of-the-art fitness center, and complimentary in-town shuttle service. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Booking.com, Orbitz, Hotwire, Priceline, HotelsforEveryone, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, HotelQuickly and getaroom.com so you can book your Linden Row Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Linden Row Hotel Richmond
Linden Row Richmond

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing