We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Scenic historic Inn, spacious rooms but a bit loud”
Review of Linden Row Inn

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Linden Row Inn
Ranked #6 of 82 Hotels in Richmond
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed May 8, 2014

The rooms were really huge and it's centrally located in downtown across the street from the public library. I guess because of the age, the walls and floors aren't insulated so we could hear the footsteps and conversations of our upstairs neighbors really loudly though, so that was a drawback. Decent continental breakfast too.

  • Stayed: May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank DrewParagon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LindenRowInnMgmt, Manager at Linden Row Inn, responded to this reviewResponded May 23, 2014

Thank you for your review of the Linden Row Inn. We are delighted that you enjoyed your stay and apologize for the noise issues.

We generally encourage our guests contact our Front Desk if they have any issues with their room so that we may work to remedy the issue. It would have been a pleasure to relocate you to a quieter room as long as we had the availability.

We appreciate the feedback and look forward to the opportunity to host you again.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (1,061)
There are newer reviews for Linden Row Inn
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

631 - 637 of 1,061 reviews

Reviewed May 6, 2014

Highly recommend the Linden Row Inn. Much better than chain hotels. We loved the balcony overlooking the courtyard. Hard to believe you are in the downtown area. It feels like to are in your private estate. The location is wonderful and the staff are both knowledgeable and friendly. I highly recommend staying here. we will be back!

  • Stayed: May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Richard H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LindenRowInnMgmt, Manager at Linden Row Inn, responded to this reviewResponded May 23, 2014

Thank you for taking the time to share your recent experience at the Linden Row Inn. We are happy to hear that you enjoyed our property and location. We hope to see you again in the near future!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 5, 2014

As many reviewers have noted, Linden Row Inn is in a great location if you want to see Richmond on foot. My friend and I stayed in room 202, one of the garden rooms. No, it wasn't elegant, but it had very comfortable beds and was spacious, clean, and bright. Best of all, it cost us about $143 a night, which seemed very fair considering that the whole place is charming, the included breakfast was better than average, the service was fine, and the shuttle service was awesome. (All you need do is tell the desk clerk where you want to go and when, and a van awaits you outside the door to take you to any place within a few miles radius. We certainly saved plenty of money using the shuttle rather than taxis.) Even if you've never considered staying in a historic inn before, Linden Row might convince you that sleeping and eating in rooms occupied by people struggling through the American Civil War can immeasurably enrich your away-from-home experience.

Room Tip: Room 202 is a garden room on the second floor, accessed by outside steps or an indoor elevator. It w...
  • Stayed: April 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank marilynpearl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LindenRowInnMgmt, Manager at Linden Row Inn, responded to this reviewResponded May 23, 2014

Thank you for your review! We really appreciate your feedback and hope to welcome you back to the Linden Row Inn very soon!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 3, 2014

My wife and I made a short trip to Richmond and stayed for one night at the Linden Row Inn. This place is perfectly located for exploring downtown Richmond by foot. The inn consists of a row of small historic brick buildings, which are connected by an inner courtyard. The atmosphere fits nicely to Richmond's historic southern charm. However, here and there the Linden Row Inn feels more like a hotel than an inn with a personal touch. Our room was nice, but could use some update or even an individual styling that matches the rest of the building. Breakfast was slightly better than in most hotels, but altogether pretty standard, lacking the flair of an inn. Finally, they could improve on their front desk service. We booked valet parking in advance, but haven't been notified that is was not possible this day due to some road blockages in downtown (bike race). I even had to request that valet parking is to be removed from the bill. Well, I would have expected a more independent and guest-friendly approach here. In summary, the Linden Row Inn is a perfect choice if you like historic charm and plan to explore Richmond by foot. However, don't be surprised if it doesn't feel like a small inn.

  • Stayed: May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Joachim S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LindenRowInnMgmt, Manager at Linden Row Inn, responded to this reviewResponded May 23, 2014

Thank you for taking the time to write a review about the Linden Row Inn. We are pleased to hear that, on the whole, you had an enjoyable stay with us.

We strive to offer each of our guests a personalized experience and apologize for missing the mark on that. We appreciate your candid feedback and look forward to welcoming you back in the future!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 1, 2014

Let's just stay, I'm aware of all of the history that Richmond has to offer. Older buildings with charm. This one I think was missing just that the charm. It could use some better up keeping starting with some major updating to the room. It could really be outstanding just not there yet. Valet is the only option, which can be a little lengthy waiting for your car. I found that street parking worked just fine. There is only one ice machine, and even with the directions from the front desk was very hard to find. Signage and a little more lighting in the garden area and near steps outside with be more helpful. Location wise is close to VCU Monroe Campus. Great Food Options. Rooms were very outdated. Bathrooms may have been remodeled in the past 10 years but the rooms not a chance. Banika was definitely great at the desk. But you can find a better room in Downtown RIchmond.

  • Stayed: April 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank TheRebel90210
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LindenRowInnMgmt, Manager at Linden Row Inn, responded to this reviewResponded May 2, 2014

Thank you for your detailed review of the Linden Row Inn. We truly appreciate your candid feedback on our historic property.

As many of our regular guests can attest, over the past three years, our team has embarked on an ambitious effort to upgrade the services, amenities, and infrastructure at the Linden Row Inn. This is an ongoing process, and we will certainly incorporate constructive suggestions such as yours into our planning process.

We aim to offer our guests the best in Southern hospitality, and are glad to hear your praise for our Front Desk team.

We appreciate your review and look forward to welcoming you back during a future visit to Richmond.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 24, 2014

The Linden Row Inn is an outstanding Boutique Hotel in the center of downtown Richmond. Their management and staff are committed to their customers. They focused on creating a great experience. The rooms are classic and very large with 12 foot ceilings. The lobby area is comfortable and a great place to read the paper or enjoy the books provided. The courtyard is a wonderful place to relax and enjoy nice weather. We valet parked our car and never had to use it. The shuttle service they provide is personal and very efficient. Also compared to chain hotels the value is outstanding. If you enjoy friendly and accommodating service then the Linden Row Inn is your spot.

  • Stayed: April 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Alex K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LindenRowInnMgmt, Manager at Linden Row Inn, responded to this reviewResponded May 2, 2014

Thank you for taking the time to write a review of the Linden Row Inn. We are glad to hear that you enjoyed our services and amenities during your recent stay. We hope to see you again soon!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 23, 2014

Linden Row Inn is a quaint, little historical hotel in downtown Richmond.
From the time you pull up to the door till the time you check out you feel a sense of southern hospitality. The staff is all very friendly and helpful. The accommodations are big and beautiful.
You are within walking distance to pretty much anything you might need.
I can't wait to return to Richmond only to stay at the lovely Linden Row Inn.

  • Stayed: April 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Smeyer7709
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LindenRowInnMgmt, Manager at Linden Row Inn, responded to this reviewResponded May 2, 2014

Thank you for joining us on a journey back in time. We appreciate your positive feedback on our property and its location. We look forward to your return visit!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Richmond hotels
0.2 mi away
The Jefferson Hotel
The Jefferson Hotel
#1 of 82 in Richmond
1,279 reviews
0.7 mi away
The Berkeley Hotel
The Berkeley Hotel
#8 of 82 in Richmond
888 reviews
0.3 mi away
Hilton Richmond Downtown
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 mi away
Omni Richmond Hotel
Omni Richmond Hotel
#13 of 82 in Richmond
1,945 reviews
0.2 mi away
Quirk Hotel
Quirk Hotel
#9 of 82 in Richmond
734 reviews
6.2 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Richmond/Glenside
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Linden Row Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Linden Row Inn

Address: 100 E Franklin St, Richmond, VA 23219-2108
Location: United States > Virginia > Richmond
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#7 Romantic Hotel in Richmond
#10 Business Hotel in Richmond
#12 Family Hotel in Richmond
Price Range: $135 - $348 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Linden Row Inn 3*
Number of rooms: 70
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Linden Row Inn is an award-winning 70-room boutique historic hotel located in the heart of Downtown Richmond. The hotel is comprised of seven row houses built in the mid-1800's, and meticulously restored over the years. Many of the hotel's guest rooms are furnished with antiques from the middle and late 1800's, and the hotel is proud to be featured on the National Register of Historic Places. Edgar Allan Poe spent his childhood playing in the garden that is now the hotel's garden courtyard, and local legend has it that the property is home to the "enchanted garden" that Poe mentions in his famous poem "To Helen." Room rate includes free wireless internet throughout the hotel, access to a state-of-the-art fitness center, and complimentary in-town shuttle service. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Orbitz, Priceline, Cancelon, Hotwire, TripOnline SA, getaroom.com, HotelsforEveryone and HotelQuickly so you can book your Linden Row Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Linden Row Hotel Richmond
Linden Row Richmond

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing