We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The fine line between quaint and dated”
Review of Linden Row Inn

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Linden Row Inn
Ranked #6 of 82 Hotels in Richmond
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed November 22, 2013

I stayed at the Linden Row Inn for two nights while visiting Richmond during the holidays. It may be leaning on its historic designation too heavily.

VALUE: The price on Hotwire was very reasonable for this hotel. Note that this place is particularly easy to deduce on opaque sites like Hotwire and Priceline, because it's basically the only property in Richmond described as "historic".

LOCATION: To the extent that you want to be in downtown Richmond, the location is excellent. However, because we are talking about downtown Richmond, there is not much of interest in the immediate vicinity.

SLEEP QUALITY: Adequate. No noise problems, but the rooms themselves do not put you in the mood to sleep.

ROOMS: The access to our room was more akin to a motel. The room was a bit rustic, which is to be expected from an historic property, but it felt as though the management was using that as an excuse to avoid doing renovations.

CLEANLINESS: No issues here.

SERVICE: Staff were courteous and breakfast was well stocked. No problems storing my luggage on the day of my departure.

Historic hotels like this, if properly maintained, are nice departures from ubiquitous chains, especially in mid-sized cities. However, if left as is, they simply feel old. The Linden Row Inn is somewhere in the middle of this spectrum.

  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Aaron R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LindenRowInnMgmt, Manager at Linden Row Inn, responded to this reviewResponded November 30, 2013

Thank you for taking the time to write a detailed review of the Linden Row Inn. We are sorry to hear that while our property performed well in many areas, that we fell short of expectations in some aspects.

Candid feedback from our guests is appreciated as it allows us to seek out opportunities to improve the guest experience. While not always visible to the naked eye, over the past year, we have embarked on an ambitious effort to restore and repaint the exterior facets of our property (including the porticoes on Franklin Street, the window panes throughout the property, and the decks that serve as the corridors connecting each of our seven row homes). This effort has been ongoing and we hope to complete it very soon.

To provide a few more examples of recent improvements, over the past year we have also renovated our Parlour Lobby and Dining Room, introduced new landscaping in our Garden Courtyard, and completed an upgrade of the hotel's television system to drastically improve signal quality and availability of all channels in all guest rooms. These efforts are in addition to many small upgrades we've implemented in the area of guest services and amenities (e.g., upgrades to our breakfast offerings, bedding, etc.).

We appreciate your feedback and agree that it is important to keep a historic structure well-maintained. We hope that we will get an opportunity to show you some of our changes during a future visit to Richmond.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (1,060)
There are newer reviews for Linden Row Inn
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

689 - 695 of 1,060 reviews

Reviewed November 21, 2013

Nice hotel in downtown Richmond? Shuttle service was great. The people were very friendly and helpful. Would use this place again and would recommend it to others. There is no restaurant at the hotel, but some very nice ones within walking distance.

  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank CarolKam56
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LindenRowInnMgmt, Manager at Linden Row Inn, responded to this reviewResponded November 30, 2013

Thank you for your review. We are glad that you enjoyed your stay with us. We hope to host you again soon!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 19, 2013

We have stayed at the Linden Row Inn for the past two years when coming down for the Richmond half-marathon. We have chosen their two-bedroom suites, which are gorgeous, comfortable, and perfect for lounging lazily around after the race! They have done an excellent job of maintaining the original feel of the property while also providing a modern luxury hospitality experience. The staff is super friendly, and the hotel is very accommodating for race participants - the early breakfast is a great way to start race day! The location in downtown Richmond is great for any kind of trip, and the shuttle service makes getting around even easier. Travelers tip - they don't always list all of the two-room suites on their online booking tool - so if you're interested in one of those, call the hotel directly to see what they have available. Also, ask what the layout of the suite is - some have more comfortable sitting room furniture and others have more period style.... We highly recommend the Linden Row Inn to anyone who asks us for a great place to stay in Richmond!

  • Stayed: November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank K F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LindenRowInnMgmt, Manager at Linden Row Inn, responded to this reviewResponded November 26, 2013

Thank you for making the Linden Row Inn your "go-to spot" in Richmond, We are humbled by your praises, and appreciate your descriptive review of our Parlour Suites. You are correct in that each Parlour Suite has its own unique look-and-feel, and we always encourage our guests to call us in advance if they would like to reserve a specific suite for their stay. We look forward to seeing you again next year!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 18, 2013

This is more than an excellent inn. The Linden Row Inn is a lovely, elegant piece of Richmond history. We were very surprised to see our hotel's photo when touring the Tredegar Iron Works as it was during the Civil War!

They have preserved as much of the original structure as possible instead of renovating it so completely that you lose the charm of the place. The off-street valet parking and the complimentary shuttle service was a tremendous value - we used the shuttle service each evening for dinner.

The staff was pleasant and knowledgeable. I'd return in a heartbeat.

  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Murphysmom50
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LindenRowInnMgmt, Manager at Linden Row Inn, responded to this reviewResponded November 26, 2013

Thank you for your review, and for highlighting our property's rich history. Our team works hard to preserve our 160+ year-old row homes and carriage houses. We look forward to welcoming you back during a future visit to Richmond!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 18, 2013

Linden Row Innn bed & breakfast was absolutely the BEST! We ran the Richmond marathon this weekend and staying here was just perfect. Breakfast was ready earlier just for the runners! The service was fantastic! The management & staff were awesome! And the rooms! Wow - felt like a queen during our short stay. Highly recommend this for anyone who enjoys a bit of pampering & class

Room Tip: All the rooms are GREAT! Not a bad one in the entire place
  • Stayed: November 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank JuicePlusMD
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LindenRowInnMgmt, Manager at Linden Row Inn, responded to this reviewResponded November 26, 2013

Thank you for selecting the Linden Row Inn during marathon weekend. We are glad to hear that you enjoyed our services and amenities. We hope to welcome you back next year!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 17, 2013

After a trip to Williamsburg and Charlottesville we decided to stay in Richmond and checked TripAdvisor for suggestions and chose to stay here. The courtyard is lovely and the lounge/living room is well appointed. The rooms are adequate and the bathroom is nice. The price was right at $98 per night but wouldn't be worth a lot more. It was a close walk to a good restaurant and 8 blocks to the capital.

Room Tip: Stay in a room by the garden and not the street.
  • Stayed: November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Debbie W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LindenRowInnMgmt, Manager at Linden Row Inn, responded to this reviewResponded November 26, 2013

Thank you for taking the time to share some feedback on your recent visit to the Linden Row Inn. We are glad that you enjoyed your stay in one of our Garden rooms. We hope to see you again soon!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 11, 2013

My husband and I had the pleasure of staying at the Linden Row Inn for a wedding. The atmosphere is so inviting, and the inn has such a unique character and feel to it. While we didn't get to stay long (only one night!), we enjoyed every minute. The valet service was great, the room was clean, and the outside courtyard (right outside our door) was wonderful. Plus, the wedding itself was beautiful! I'm hoping we get back to Richmond again soon and can stay even longer at Linden Row!

  • Stayed: November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank JWJohnson
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LindenRowInnMgmt, Manager at Linden Row Inn, responded to this reviewResponded November 26, 2013

Thank you for your review! We are happy that you enjoyed your stay in one of our Garden rooms. We look forward to your return visit!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Richmond hotels
0.2 mi away
The Jefferson Hotel
The Jefferson Hotel
#1 of 82 in Richmond
1,279 reviews
0.7 mi away
The Berkeley Hotel
The Berkeley Hotel
#8 of 82 in Richmond
886 reviews
0.3 mi away
Hilton Richmond Downtown
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 mi away
Omni Richmond Hotel
Omni Richmond Hotel
#12 of 82 in Richmond
1,944 reviews
0.2 mi away
Quirk Hotel
Quirk Hotel
#9 of 82 in Richmond
734 reviews
6.2 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Richmond/Glenside
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Linden Row Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Linden Row Inn

Address: 100 E Franklin St, Richmond, VA 23219-2108
Location: United States > Virginia > Richmond
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#7 Romantic Hotel in Richmond
#10 Business Hotel in Richmond
#12 Family Hotel in Richmond
Price Range: $134 - $344 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Linden Row Inn 3*
Number of rooms: 70
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Linden Row Inn is an award-winning 70-room boutique historic hotel located in the heart of Downtown Richmond. The hotel is comprised of seven row houses built in the mid-1800's, and meticulously restored over the years. Many of the hotel's guest rooms are furnished with antiques from the middle and late 1800's, and the hotel is proud to be featured on the National Register of Historic Places. Edgar Allan Poe spent his childhood playing in the garden that is now the hotel's garden courtyard, and local legend has it that the property is home to the "enchanted garden" that Poe mentions in his famous poem "To Helen." Room rate includes free wireless internet throughout the hotel, access to a state-of-the-art fitness center, and complimentary in-town shuttle service. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Priceline, Orbitz, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, Cancelon, HotelsforEveryone, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Linden Row Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Linden Row Hotel Richmond
Linden Row Richmond

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing