We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Historic hotel w modern feel”
Review of Linden Row Inn

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Linden Row Inn
Ranked #6 of 82 Hotels in Richmond
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed July 22, 2013

Did a girlfriend get away here and had a lovely time. The staff are very helpful and familiar with places in the area. Room was very large and bath had been nicely updated. Our room did require going both up and down a half flight of stairs to access. Could be a challenge if you had trouble with stairs.

Had breakfast both mornings in the lovely courtyard. If it had been cooler it would have been even nicer. Hotel is located right downtown across from the library. Entrance is on the side street however.

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank MOBX
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LindenRowInnMgmt, Manager at Linden Row Inn, responded to this reviewResponded August 12, 2013

Thank you for selecting the Linden Row Inn for your girlfriends getaway. We are pleased to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us, and we are sorry that you found the stairs to access your room t to be inconvenient. We do offer rooms which don't require the use of stairs and we encourage our guests to notify us in advance if they would like to be assigned one of these rooms. We look forward to hosting you again soon!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (1,081)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

769 - 775 of 1,081 reviews

Reviewed July 18, 2013

Staying in hotels can be a homogenous experience so I try to find something offering a unique experience while keeping comfort in mind. Our stay here did just that. My friend and I shared a beautiful upstairs room with antique-looking furniture including a useful writing desk. I was surprised at our huge, modern bathroom with plenty of places to hang towels and large mirrors and lovely fluffy towels. The TV was old style and not very good but that's a minor issue to me.
The front desk staff was very friendly and helpful, offering good suggestions about where to eat dinner. We arrived by train and the van driver showed up quickly to take us to the hotel and when we checked out, a different guy drove us to our next destination. That's a great service! Both drivers were friendly and informative. We enjoyed breakfast on site in a lovely, peaceful atmosphere with real dishes. The food was pretty basic but I found it adequate. I applaud this effort to keep the historic charm of yesteryear and offer comfort to modern consumers.

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank RetroFan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LindenRowInnMgmt, Manager at Linden Row Inn, responded to this reviewResponded August 12, 2013

Thank you for sharing your recent experience at the Linden Row Inn with the TripAdvisor community. We are happy to hear that you enjoyed our historic hotel's blend of old time charm with modern amenities. We hope to see you again very soon!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 16, 2013

Seeped in history the Linden Row Inn feels like an elegant old home with its public parlors. My room was huge with high ceilings and a huge walk-in closet. Too bad I was only staying two nights because there was room for my entire summer wardrobe. And then there was the bathroom -- all marble and completely updated. My only disappointment was that I did not get to see any ghosts.

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Thank EBStevens
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LindenRowInnMgmt, Manager at Linden Row Inn, responded to this reviewResponded August 12, 2013

Thank you for you review! We are ecstatic to hear that you enjoyed your stay at our historic property. We hope to welcome you back again soon!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 15, 2013

We loved the character and charm of this centrally located hotel (can't really call this a B&B; quality of breakfast food on par with a lower end motel chain, very mediocre serve yourself dry cereal/oatmeal/white bagels-disappointing. I found Linden Row Inn on Tripadvisor listed AS a B&B.) Our second floor room was large & windows looked out on a charming interior courtyard on one side and street on the other. However, there was only one easy chair and the room wasn't quite clean- dead moth and cobwebs in the window, bathroom could be a bit cleaner too..We did book online at deepest discount of $119/night and were put in a corner handicapped accessible room. Appreciated the rate, but I guess we've been spoiled by delicious B&B breakfasts elsewhere!

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank CLD120
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LindenRowInnMgmt, Manager at Linden Row Inn, responded to this reviewResponded August 12, 2013

Thank you for taking the time to write a review about the Linden Row Inn. We are very sorry to hear that we failed to meet expectations on certain aspects of your stay.

As a 70-room historic inn, we try hard not to market ourselves as a traditional/small bed-and-breakfast. Your review surrounding our mention as a bed-and-breakfast on the TripAdvisor site therefore concerned us greatly. Since reading your review, we have checked the TripAdvisor site and were unable to find a listing for our hotel on TripAdvisor's list of bed-and-breakfasts in Richmond.

We truly apologize for any misunderstanding on this topic and would like to clarify to all of our guests that the complimentary breakfast we offer is a traditional continental-style breakfast. The menu is subject to change but generally includes cereal, toast, pastries, bagels, fruit, yogurt, oatmeal, waffles, coffee/tea, juice, and milk.

We appreciate your feedback. If you would like to discuss your experience in further detail, please feel free to contact our Management office.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 14, 2013

Having been a Richmonder for many years, I understand a certain Richmond aesthetic I would call "genteel neglect." Linden Row is a historic hotel in a 19th century row home, and there are certain aspects that show its age. However, the large room that we stayed in was scrupulously clean and comfortable, and the bathroom appeared to be recently renovated. However, some of the furniture in the room was a bit "shabby chic." It didn't bother me at all, but be prepared for a bit of "character" in the rooms. I prefer hotels or inns with history so I really liked it and again, since the rooms were very large and clean, the bathrooms were pristine and updated and the location was great, I was very pleased.

The continental breakfast was fine, and I appreciated that Linden Row serves breakfast on actual dishes instead of styrofoam so that was a rare treat as someone who has had her share of complimentary breakfast on styrofoam dishes. However, if you desire anything else beyond a carby meal (danish, bagels, waffles, sort of gluey oatmeal), be prepared to seek out your protein elsewhere. The woman who ran the breakfast was extremely friendly and offered warm, excellent service, making sure coffee mugs were refilled and did a great job keeping the breakfast room clean and stocked.

Unfortunately, we were met with a degree of indifference that disappointed me. We were never greeted by the front desk staff -- not once, and we stayed for three days -- when we entered or left the hotel, and when we were checking in during a torrential rainstorm, none of the FOUR hotel staff gathered the lobby offered to help us unload our luggage or even held the door for us or assisted us in any way. Our one request for additional towels was granted promptly and politely, but I was amazed at how indifferent the front desk staff was to my friendly children and family.

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Liz K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LindenRowInnMgmt, Manager at Linden Row Inn, responded to this reviewResponded August 12, 2013

Thank you for your constructive review of the Linden Row Inn.

We are happy to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us, and sincerely apologize for the indifference you observed from our front desk team. Needless to say, your experience fell short of the high guest service standards we expect from our staff. We appreciate your candid feedback on this aspect of your stay and we have shared your observations with our front desk team as part of their ongoing professional development program.

We thank you for your review and look forward to hosting you during a future visit to Richmond.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 14, 2013

The hotel is a series of historic townhouses connected by porches running across the back of the buildings. We were there during a downpour and the porch got drenched. This also means that the elevator will take you to your floor but, at least if you're on the top floor, there's a set of stairs leading to your room.

The room was immense and the bathroom was also a generous size but didn't have much character; it was a mixed of corporate furniture and historic reproductions.

On the weekend, street parking is easy and free as there isn't much in terms of restaurants, nightlife, or sites within easy walking distance of the hotel, an obvious drawback.

Breakfast was included in our rate and there were decent options (breads, pastries, pancakes, cereal).

  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled with friends
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
Thank YuppieonaShoeString
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LindenRowInnMgmt, Manager at Linden Row Inn, responded to this reviewResponded August 12, 2013

Thank you for taking the time to share your experience at the Linden Row Inn. We are pleased to hear that, on the whole, you were satisfied with your stay.

We are sorry to hear that you were unhappy with our location. Our property is situated in the heart of Downtown Richmond, within a few blocks of many restaurants and most major hotels. Downtown Richmond can be quiet during the eve, and so we do offer a complimentary shuttle service within 2 miles of the hotel for guests seeking to venture beyond walking distance. This service covers popular neighborhoods such as the Fan, Carytown, and Shockoe.

We hope that you will consider staying with us again!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 5, 2013

We found that the Linden Row Inn really enhanced our stay in Richmond. The rooms are comfortable, large and have all the amenities one would need. We found the beds to be very comfortable, the room temperature in the southern summer heat was just right and the service very friendly. The breakfast was better than the average continental hotel breakfast. What stood out about this property is that it has distinct character and ambiance and that the front desk staff were friendly and helpful. At the end of a day of sight-seeing, it is nice to feel like you are coming to a friendly and familiar place. Great value!

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank mesano
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LindenRowInnMgmt, Manager at Linden Row Inn, responded to this reviewResponded July 11, 2013

Thank you for your kind review! We are pleased to hear that you enjoyed your stay and we hope to welcome you back soon!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Richmond hotels
0.7 mi away
The Berkeley Hotel
The Berkeley Hotel
#8 of 82 in Richmond
945 reviews
0.2 mi away
The Jefferson Hotel
The Jefferson Hotel
#1 of 82 in Richmond
1,318 reviews
0.3 mi away
Hilton Richmond Downtown
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Quirk Hotel
Quirk Hotel
#9 of 82 in Richmond
793 reviews
6.2 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Richmond/Glenside
0.7 mi away
Omni Richmond Hotel
Omni Richmond Hotel
#16 of 82 in Richmond
2,040 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Linden Row Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Linden Row Inn

Address: 100 E Franklin St, Richmond, VA 23219-2108
Location: United States > Virginia > Richmond
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#7 Romantic Hotel in Richmond
#10 Business Hotel in Richmond
#12 Family Hotel in Richmond
Price Range: $117 - $197 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Linden Row Inn 3*
Number of rooms: 70
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Linden Row Inn is an award-winning 70-room boutique historic hotel located in the heart of Downtown Richmond. The hotel is comprised of seven row houses built in the mid-1800's, and meticulously restored over the years. Many of the hotel's guest rooms are furnished with antiques from the middle and late 1800's, and the hotel is proud to be featured on the National Register of Historic Places. Edgar Allan Poe spent his childhood playing in the garden that is now the hotel's garden courtyard, and local legend has it that the property is home to the "enchanted garden" that Poe mentions in his famous poem "To Helen." Room rate includes free wireless internet throughout the hotel, access to a state-of-the-art fitness center, and complimentary in-town shuttle service. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Priceline, getaroom.com, Orbitz, HotelsforEveryone, Cancelon, TripOnline SA and HotelQuickly so you can book your Linden Row Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Linden Row Hotel Richmond
Linden Row Richmond

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing