We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
$25 Amazon.com Gift Card Get yours when you book a hotel on TripAdvisor and review your stay!

“Historical but interior a bit shabby” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Linden Row Inn

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Linden Row Inn
Ranked #6 of 85 Hotels in Richmond
Certificate of Excellence
Level Contributor
32 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“Historical but interior a bit shabby”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 25, 2013

We enjoyed our one night stay at the Linden Row Inn. We were in town for the Chihuly exhibit at VMFA.
The room was quiet. No noise from other guests. A litte street noise but less than a typical day since it was MLK Jr holiday.
Our room could use sprucing up. Tired looking bedding. Water spots on ceiling. We chose the Inn specifically for its historical charm and were happy with it in that aspect.

Room Tip: I'd recommend the top floor to minimize street noise.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank 59NC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LindenRowInnMgmt, Manager at Linden Row Inn, responded to this review, February 15, 2013
Thank you for your candid review of the Linden Row Inn. We are pleased to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us, and are sorry to hear that aspects of our interior were not up to par. We are continuously making improvements to the property (for example, we've just completed a revamp of our Parlour Lobby) and hope that you will see some changes during a future visit to the property!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

897 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    458
    293
    86
    35
    25
See reviews for
189
365
56
134
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (239)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Chesapeake City
Level Contributor
22 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 23, 2013

Wasn't sure what to expect and was pleasantly surprised. Charming. Old --- but not tired.
Friendly and accomodating. Deffinately will be back. Interesting history. Breakfast could improve; however, everything we needed.
Steve from Maryland

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Stevens48
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LindenRowInnMgmt, Manager at Linden Row Inn, responded to this review, February 15, 2013
Thank you for your review of the Linden Row Inn. We are glad to hear that we exceeded expectations. We look forward to welcoming you back on a future visit to Richmond!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Denison, Texas
Level Contributor
117 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 72 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 20, 2013

We stayed at the Linden Row Inn the first part and January and loved it. We had a room in the old part because several TA reviews had recommended that the few dollars more were worth it. Our room was huge--twice the size of a normal hotel room. The bath was completely modern. The inn is a 20 min walk from everything in Richmond. Or, if you don't want the exercise, there is a van that will pick you up and drop you off anywhere within a two mile radius. We also discovered an upscale restaurant, Chez Foushee', only a block away. All in all, a great place to stay.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank frogcarguy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LindenRowInnMgmt, Manager at Linden Row Inn, responded to this review, February 15, 2013
Thank you for selecting the Linden Row Inn during your recent visit to Richmond. We are happy to hear that you enjoyed your stay in one of our Main House rooms. We hope to see you again soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Springfield, Virginia
Level Contributor
21 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 20, 2013

We had a lovely stay downtown at the Linden. Fine dining within walking distance. We walked over to the Jefferson and had a great time gawking at the five star lobby. After that the Linden did look a little old and run down but in a lovely, Richmondy kind of way. It's a Southern shabby chic bed and breakfast. We got our room for $80 on living social.com. For the money it has a fantastic location, huge rooms and walkable downtown.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank happybermuda
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LindenRowInnMgmt, Manager at Linden Row Inn, responded to this review, February 15, 2013
Thank you for your review, and for recognizing our staff for the excellent service that they provide. We look forward to seeing you again soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Va
Level Contributor
20 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 18, 2013

We came for a visit to see the Chihuly art exhibit at the Virginia Fine Arts Museum. We had a lovely room, a nice breakfast, in a great location with helpful staff. We enjoyed the visit. We had lunch at Amuse, a wonderful restaurant in the Museum and dinner at Tarrants an equally wonderful restaurant....We will be back.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank 49linda
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LindenRowInnMgmt, Manager at Linden Row Inn, responded to this review, February 15, 2013
Thank you for your flattering review of the Linden Row Inn. We look forward to hosting you again soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 16, 2013 via mobile

To keep it short: I can not understand the issues some people have with this hotel. It is charming and clean. Staff was very helpful. There might be better locations. But they have a complimentary shuttle. Would stay there again.

  • Stayed January 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Sterlingben
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LindenRowInnMgmt, Manager at Linden Row Inn, responded to this review, February 15, 2013
Thank you for your succinct review of the Linden Row Inn. We appreciate your praises and look forward to hosting you again on a future visit to Richmond!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Francisco, California
Level Contributor
19 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 9, 2013

Stayed for two nights, and no real complaints. Hotel is well-priced, love the high ceilings, and love the write-up on the history of the place. Super comfortable beds, Ceilings are ridiculously high and the rooms are much larger than average. The Television was a bit on the fritz, but we’re not much of TV watchers on the road anyways. Staff was extremely helpful, valet ($12/day) and the shuttle service was big plus as well. Breakfasts are adequate, nothing too fancy, there is a waffle maker, and there are a selection of pastries and cereals – no complaints. Coffee is advertised as available around the clock, but the few times we went to fill-up, it was empty. As you can see – only minor grievances; The Linden Row is a fantastic choice for downtown Richmond, and about half the cost of the Jefferson – which is a 2 block walk away.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank mtlv
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LindenRowInnMgmt, Manager at Linden Row Inn, responded to this review, February 15, 2013
Thank you for writing a review about your recent stay in one of the Main House rooms at the Linden Row Inn. We are very happy to hear that you enjoyed your time with us.

We do apologize for running out of coffee. Our 24-hour coffee service is rather popular, and the pot sometimes finishes up before we get a chance to replenish it. Needless to say, our Front Desk is always happy to make a fresh pot upon request.

We look forward to seeing you again soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Richmond hotels
0.2 mi away
The Jefferson Hotel
The Jefferson Hotel
#1 of 85 in Richmond
4.5 of 5 stars 1,075 reviews
0.3 mi away
Hilton Richmond Downtown
Hilton Richmond Downtown
#10 of 85 in Richmond
4.5 of 5 stars 1,238 reviews
0.7 mi away
The Berkeley Hotel
The Berkeley Hotel
#8 of 85 in Richmond
4.0 of 5 stars 637 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Quirk Hotel
Quirk Hotel
#7 of 85 in Richmond
4.5 of 5 stars 396 reviews
0.7 mi away
Omni Richmond Hotel
Omni Richmond Hotel
#11 of 85 in Richmond
4.0 of 5 stars 1,568 reviews
0.4 mi away
Crowne Plaza Richmond Downtown
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Linden Row Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Linden Row Inn

Property: Linden Row Inn
Address: 100 E Franklin St, Richmond, VA 23219-2108
Location: United States > Virginia > Richmond
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#7 Romantic Hotel in Richmond
#10 Business Hotel in Richmond
#12 Family Hotel in Richmond
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Linden Row Inn 3*
Number of rooms: 70
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Linden Row Inn is an award-winning 70-room boutique historic hotel located in the heart of Downtown Richmond. The hotel is comprised of seven row houses built in the mid-1800's, and meticulously restored over the years. Many of the hotel's guest rooms are furnished with antiques from the middle and late 1800's, and the hotel is proud to be featured on the National Register of Historic Places. Edgar Allan Poe spent his childhood playing in the garden that is now the hotel's garden courtyard, and local legend has it that the property is home to the "enchanted garden" that Poe mentions in his famous poem "To Helen." Room rate includes free wireless internet throughout the hotel, access to a state-of-the-art fitness center, and complimentary in-town shuttle service. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Orbitz, Cancelon, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Odigeo, Priceline, TravelClick, Travelocity and getaroom.com so you can book your Linden Row Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Linden Row Hotel Richmond
Linden Row Richmond

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing