We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“We keep coming back, and this is why....”
Review of Linden Row Inn

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Linden Row Inn
Ranked #7 of 81 Hotels in Richmond
Certificate of Excellence
virginia
Level Contributor
14 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“We keep coming back, and this is why....”
Reviewed December 12, 2012

We've been staying at the Linden Row for 4 years now. It is unmatched in charm and ambiance of old Richmond. From the brick-walled courtyard with garden rooms and a beautiful fountain, to the glimmers of Poe's ghost from days gone by (he played in the courtyard as a child, and lived next door), it's just a romantic stay. When our daughter graduates from VCU, I will still make trips to Richmond just to stay at the Linden Row.

Room Tip: Our favorite room is 314 in the Main House - a King-sized bed, great TV for the husband, and right n...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank parasailer2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LindenRowInnMgmt, Manager at Linden Row Inn, responded to this review, January 17, 2013
Thank you for making the Linden Row Inn your preferred hotel in Richmond. We've enjoyed hosting you over the past four years and look forward to continue welcoming you back in the years to come!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,002 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    515
    319
    103
    39
    26
See reviews for
216
400
64
155
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (271)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
10 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed December 11, 2012

My husband and I only stayed here one night but feel the place could use some improvements. The location is great and we were happy that they provide valet parking (for a fee). Our first room was huge but the mattress was very saggy. When we tried to watch some TV we were unable to get all the channels that were promised through Comcast. Someone cam up to our room to help us but was unable to fix the problem. We were moved to a new room and expereinced the same problem. The person at the front desk didn't really seem to care that this was an inconvenience and didn't offer any sort of compensation. We didn't want to have to move again so we stayed put. The mattress was very old and sagging. I have a bad back so didn't get a good night's sleep. Continental breakfast was sub-par. Boring food from the grocery store which was a disappointment.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Koko L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LindenRowInnMgmt, Manager at Linden Row Inn, responded to this review, January 17, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to share constructive feedback on your stay at the Linden Row Inn.
We sincerely apologize for failing to meet expectations on some aspects of your stay with us.

Needless to say, we will be utilizing your feedback as part of our ongoing efforts to improve the guest experience.

We would like to make things up to you and invite you to contact our management office to discuss your stay in further detail.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
thunder bay
Level Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed December 7, 2012

I have travelled extensively throughout the world and believe I have realistic expectations and can give a fair review. I enjoyed my 6 day stay here immensely and would definitely return. It was a good price, the room was enormous and well equipped and the breakfast was more than adequate. The bathroom was almost spa-like and the bed and bedding were comfy and in good shape. Everything was extremely clean and smelled fresh, even though there were carpets in some areas. The "feel" of this Inn was really nice, not a typical hotel. The staff were incredibly friendly and helpful and the shuttle service and drivers were extremely accomodating. I walked almost everywhere in the evenings and found a number of great restaurants nearby as well as a place that delivered for free. I stopped at a number of hotels my colleagues were staying in and felt that I had lucked out with my choice. It was a true taste of Virginia and I would highly recommend it. The only complaint I can find is that the tv was a bit snowy, but I didn't have it on much so this was of no concern to me.

Room Tip: Some rooms over look the garden and people say they are quieter. Mine overlooked the street and I h...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank wanderingjodi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LindenRowInnMgmt, Manager at Linden Row Inn, responded to this review, December 19, 2012
Thank you for taking the time to share your praises of the Linden Row Inn. We are happy to hear that you enjoyed your six day stay with us, and we look forward to welcoming you back in the future!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Indialantic, Florida
1 review
Reviewed December 5, 2012

This trip to my old home town was to visit: my mother, sister, and brother-in-law; friends from high school (fiftieth reunion);a vet from Viet Nam; the sturgeons down under the Mayo bridge-they came to spawn in a much cleaner and clearer James River then I remember from 30 years ago.

This hotel was found because I am interested in historic buildings (family relatives of mine (Richard Adams's and John Adams) lived in this area in the latter part of the 1700's and through the 1800's). Location was central to all of life's needs and wants- art, food and drink, the YMCA which is a block's walk, and the City Library was just across the street. The valet service was quick (tipping seemed to be appreciated). Shuttle was available to the Virginia Museum and other places. Although I was not there for the weekend, during the week it is a perfect quiet place to work and rest. I spent three days working from my room using the internet which has good band width and connections. The staff answered all my questions and more, making me feel secure and informed. Since this was the time of your Folk Festival, time spent in the venues on the James were outstanding and the public broadcast had some of those performances on the radio. I would stay at the Linden Rowe on my next visit. Thanks.
I did read your other reviews and must have stayed in a completely different hotel from SAB81 from D.C. and am glad I did.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank John A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LindenRowInnMgmt, Manager at Linden Row Inn, responded to this review, December 19, 2012
Thank you for selecting the Linden Row Inn during your recent visit to your old home town. We are thrilled to hear that you enjoyed our history, location, services, and amenities. We look forward to seeing you on your next adventure!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Warsaw
Level Contributor
25 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed November 29, 2012

At first I wasn't sure what to expect. I am used to a tradition hotel & its amenities so this was different than my usual experience. This inn has so much character & so much to offer. Everyone was pleasant &very helpful. The rooms were so cozy that I felt like room in a home rather than a hotel. It appears older & the television was questionable but I wasn't there to watch tv. The beds were very comfortable. The bathrooms very updated. Breakfast was continental but more than enough for me. I loved the quaint feeling. I could walk to many great places to explore & VCU was under a mile away. I strongly recommend this wonderful inn

Room Tip: I was in room 117 & not sure what the other rooms were like. But I would think very similar.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank bknicholson
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LindenRowInnMgmt, Manager at Linden Row Inn, responded to this review, December 19, 2012
Thank you for taking the time to share your recent experience at the Linden Row Inn. Many of our guests consider our property to be their "home away from home" and so we are pleased to hear that you too found our property to be cozy and convenient. We look forward to hosting you again soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington, Dc
Level Contributor
23 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed November 27, 2012

My husband and I (30 years old) stayed there for just one night - thank God. My husband had booked a suite - but as other people have already explained, the pictures on the webpage are totally misleading.

The place is simply badly managed:

First of all, our sheets had HUGE stains on them and they were thinned out from being used and washed too often. When I told the lady at the reception, she did barely look up from her desk but just called someone from housekeeping to exchange the sheets - she's probably used to hearing that every day so she didn't even bother anymore. Oh, of course she didn't apologize for it either, since this is probably so everyday for her...BTW: There were also other huge stains on the little bench in front of the bed and they looked pretty disgusting....

The mattress was awful!! An old spring mattress on spring boxes makes a really wobbly construction. Every time he moved, I "jumped". There was simply no way for my husband and I to sleep in this bed together. Thank God there was the couch....

The couches looked pretty new, all the rest though just seemed as if it was collected from a dumbster. I like old furniture, but just not shabby stuff with huge scratches and locks missing...I had the impression that it had not been updated (and dusted) for a long time!

The only thing we really appreciated was the renovated (very clean) bathroom with nice towels.

Oh, just FYI: We were advised to take out all things out of the car as there had been break-ins pretty frequently (and I could read about that from other reviews too)...

The breakfast the next morning was very average. Again, the room was not very clean and needs dusting!! The table and chairs are pretty worn out too.

Overall, a very poor impression - we will not be back!

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank SAB81Washington_Dc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LindenRowInnMgmt, Manager at Linden Row Inn, responded to this review, November 28, 2012
Thank you for sharing your experience at the Linden Row Inn. We were disappointed to read your review and sincerely apologize for failing to meet expectations during your stay.

As attested by the dozens of guests who have praised us on TripAdvisor, your experience was a real anomaly. We agree that the cleanliness and customer service issues you encountered are unacceptable, and have shared your feedback with the appropriate staff to ensure that these oversights are not repeated.

Regarding the condition of the furniture in your room, we would like to mention that many of the pieces in our Parlour Suites are original 19th century antiques and therefore may not be in immaculate condition.

We strive to ensure that every guest is satisfied with their stay, and we would very much like to find a way to make things up to you. We have attempted to contact you to discuss your experience in further detail, and we do hope that we can make amends.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Clinton, MD
1 review
Reviewed November 21, 2012

Linden Row Inn was lovely -- very comfortable beds, sparkling bottle of wine in ice bucket to enjoy, clean and neat room, very friendly and helpful valet and shuttle driver, free shuttle to nearby museums. We took advantage of the special package offered for the Chihuly Glass Exhibit @ VA Museum of Fine Arts by Linden Row Inn -- included wine, room, shuttle, and exhibit tickets for excellent price. Only complaint we had was finding the hotel downtown as too many one-way streets. Just remember, it is directly across the huge public library!

Room Tip: Hard for handicapped to get to rooms as involves stairs. Not good for walkers and wheelchairs unfor...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Sharie C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LindenRowInnMgmt, Manager at Linden Row Inn, responded to this review, November 27, 2012
Thank you for writing a review about your stay at the Linden Row Inn. We are happy to hear that you enjoyed our Chihuly VMFA travel package.

We appreciate your comments on handicap accessibility, and would like to mention that we do offer rooms that are accessible without stairs. These rooms are in the Main House and we strongly recommend guests to contact us in advance to confirm availability and to ensure that your reservation is adequately noted.

We hope we will host you again soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Richmond hotels
0.2 mi away
The Jefferson Hotel
The Jefferson Hotel
#1 of 81 in Richmond
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,209 reviews
0.2 mi away
Quirk Hotel
Quirk Hotel
#6 of 81 in Richmond
4.5 of 5 bubbles 638 reviews
0.7 mi away
The Berkeley Hotel
The Berkeley Hotel
#8 of 81 in Richmond
4.5 of 5 bubbles 803 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Hilton Richmond Downtown
0.7 mi away
Omni Richmond Hotel
Omni Richmond Hotel
#12 of 81 in Richmond
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,833 reviews
0.4 mi away
Crowne Plaza Richmond Downtown
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Linden Row Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Linden Row Inn

Property: Linden Row Inn
Address: 100 E Franklin St, Richmond, VA 23219-2108
Location: United States > Virginia > Richmond
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#7 Romantic Hotel in Richmond
#10 Business Hotel in Richmond
#12 Family Hotel in Richmond
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Linden Row Inn 3*
Number of rooms: 70
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Linden Row Inn is an award-winning 70-room boutique historic hotel located in the heart of Downtown Richmond. The hotel is comprised of seven row houses built in the mid-1800's, and meticulously restored over the years. Many of the hotel's guest rooms are furnished with antiques from the middle and late 1800's, and the hotel is proud to be featured on the National Register of Historic Places. Edgar Allan Poe spent his childhood playing in the garden that is now the hotel's garden courtyard, and local legend has it that the property is home to the "enchanted garden" that Poe mentions in his famous poem "To Helen." Room rate includes free wireless internet throughout the hotel, access to a state-of-the-art fitness center, and complimentary in-town shuttle service. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Orbitz, Hotwire, Hotels.com, Priceline, TravelClick, Travelocity, Cancelon, HotelsforEveryone, TripOnline SA, getaroom.com, HotelsClick and HotelQuickly so you can book your Linden Row Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Linden Row Hotel Richmond
Linden Row Richmond

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing