We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“An inn with personality”
Review of Linden Row Inn

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Linden Row Inn
Ranked #6 of 82 Hotels in Richmond
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed August 20, 2012

We stayed two nights at the Linden Row Inn and enjoyed a room in one of the carriage houses. The Inn is a collection of 19th century row houses and outbuildings tied together into a unique restored hotel. It has character missing from the chain hotels. The restoration is aging a bit, so the hotel creaks a bit and could use some new paint here and there, but those things are minor and don't bother me. I enjoy the uniqueness of the place. We also enjoyed a discount package, which kept the price below $100 per night--always welcome. I exploited the complimentary passes to the nearby Y, which was clean and well stocked with machines.

  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank RobertLFuller
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LindenRowInnMgmt, Manager at Linden Row Inn, responded to this reviewResponded September 8, 2012

Thank you for writing a review about your recent stay at the Linden Row Inn. We are pleased to hear that you enjoyed our historic charm, and we look forward to welcoming you back in the near future!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (1,069)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

866 - 872 of 1,069 reviews

Reviewed August 15, 2012

It's old, it's historic, it's beautiful in its way. The price was very good, and the location superb. Valet parking takes your car away for $12 (which includes the overnight parking fee). Reception was not effusively friendly, and as a couple of other reviewers have noted, the Inn feels like it needs a refreshing overhaul.

Still, 12' ceilings, old classic furniture and new bathrooms were appreciated.

Room Tip: The hotel floors are weird: you can take the elevator to your floor, but from the outside walkway to...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank MCHBurgess
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LindenRowInnMgmt, Manager at Linden Row Inn, responded to this reviewResponded September 8, 2012

Thank you for taking the time to write a review about the Linden Row Inn. We are happy to hear that you enjoyed your stay, and sincerely apologize for falling short on our service. Your experience is certainly out of the ordinary, and we will be incorporating your feedback into our ongoing staff development program. We hope that we will have the opportunity to welcome you back again soon!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 14, 2012

I live in Richmond, but gave my husband away for his birthday. This place is perfect. We stayed in one of their suites and had so much space, it was quiet, and a super unique place to stay. The beds were comfortable, the breakfast was yummy, and the management was so sweet. If you're looking for a place to stay for weddings [a place to get ready], this is a cool option as well.

  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank AlisandraPhoto
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LindenRowInnMgmt, Manager at Linden Row Inn, responded to this reviewResponded September 8, 2012

Thank you for taking the time to share you recent experience at the Linden Row Inn. We are thrilled to hear that you enjoyed your stay in our Mary Wingfield Scott Parlour Suite. We look forward to hosting you and your husband again very soon!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 5, 2012

I really wanted to like this place. Richmond is my hometown and I revere and respect historic properties.

However I can only describe this property as one where management is clueless. This property has a lot of potential.

This is the first review I've done for Trip Advisor but I think future guests need to know the following:

--Walls, windows and floors are paper thin. You'll hear every step and every conversation outside of your room.

--front desk--they are friendly but somewhat vapid, and cannot solve any issue that you might have and cannot answer the simplest of questions.

--valet parking--expensive and highly inefficient. Long wait times.

--premium channels on cable are advertised and there is a HBO guide in the room, but there were no premium channels available. No help from the front desk.

--water temperatures were hit or miss. Sink faucets could be hot or cold but unfortunately, not the temperature you were looking for at the time.

--breakfast was OK but the same thing everyday with very prepackaged offerings.

Very disappointing. I'm writing this in my Linden Row Inn room, so if management is in the house, feel free to contact me.

  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Andree G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LindenRowInnMgmt, Manager at Linden Row Inn, responded to this reviewResponded August 17, 2012

Thank you for taking the time to share your constructive feedback on the Linden Row Inn.

We regret that we failed to meet expectations, and sincerely apologize for the breakdown in service during your stay. As attested by the reviews posted by other guests, your experience is an extreme anomaly and our management team has reached out to you to discuss your stay and make things up to you. Needless to say, we will be incorporating your feedback into our ongoing training program for Front Desk staff.

We also apologize for your experience with the water temperature and the issues you faced with viewing HBO and certain cable television channels. Unfortunately, your TripAdvisor review was not published until after you checked out of the hotel. We encourage anyone that ever experiences an issue with their room to contact us directly during their stay. This will allow us to not only pinpoint the cause of the issue but also provide us the opportunity to offer appropriate real-time resolution to our guest.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 3, 2012

This was my second stay. It's a beautiful historic inn with comfortable rooms, nice people, great location, interesting art, and a beautiful rambling courtyard/garden. The coffee was pretty good, too.

  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Whimusical
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LindenRowInnMgmt, Manager at Linden Row Inn, responded to this reviewResponded August 16, 2012

Thank you for taking the time to share your recent experiences at the Linden Row Inn. We are pleased to hear that you've enjoyed staying with us and we look forward to continue hosting you!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 30, 2012

Located close to everything you would want to see and every place you would want to eat at, the hotel is in pretty good shape. The bathrooms were modern and clean. The bed was comfortable. The carpet was a little worn and the bedspread had seen better days. This is a restored hotel and you know it. However the staff was helpful. The breakfast was surprisingly good. I would return.

  • Stayed: July 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank gsbadj
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LindenRowInnMgmt, Manager at Linden Row Inn, responded to this reviewResponded August 16, 2012

We are pleased that you enjoyed your stay at our historic property and we look forward to welcoming you back soon!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 30, 2012

This was our first time in Richmond and I found Linden Row Inn from web searches. The check-in process was very smooth; the front desk clerk provided us with a map of the local area and some recommendations on where to go for dinner/drinks. We were very pleased with the location; its in the heart of the downtown area. Additionally, they provided valet parking in a secured garage (not street parking like some places) and a free shuttle service that would take you anywhere in the local area that you wanted to go and pick you up later as well. The room was very spacious, clean and for being an older building had a very modern and renovated bedroom and bathroom. The breakfast the following morning had a lot of diversity and was well stocked. Overall, the ambience was a beautiful historical building with a modern touch, preventing it from feeling "old or rundown" and excellent service all for a better price than the other local hotels. I will definitely stay here again!!!

  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Sharon R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LindenRowInnMgmt, Manager at Linden Row Inn, responded to this reviewResponded August 16, 2012

Thank you for taking the time to share feedback on your recent stay at the Linden Row Inn. We are pleased to hear that you enjoyed our complimentary continental breakfast, free in-town shuttle, valet parking, and overall service. We hope to see you again soon!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Richmond hotels
0.2 mi away
The Jefferson Hotel
The Jefferson Hotel
#1 of 82 in Richmond
1,291 reviews
0.7 mi away
The Berkeley Hotel
The Berkeley Hotel
#7 of 82 in Richmond
915 reviews
0.3 mi away
Hilton Richmond Downtown
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Quirk Hotel
Quirk Hotel
#9 of 82 in Richmond
756 reviews
0.7 mi away
Omni Richmond Hotel
Omni Richmond Hotel
#13 of 82 in Richmond
1,984 reviews
6.2 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Richmond/Glenside
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Linden Row Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Linden Row Inn

Address: 100 E Franklin St, Richmond, VA 23219-2108
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Virginia > Richmond
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#7 Romantic Hotel in Richmond
#10 Business Hotel in Richmond
#12 Family Hotel in Richmond
Price Range: $138 - $292 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Linden Row Inn 3*
Number of rooms: 70
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Linden Row Inn is an award-winning 70-room boutique historic hotel located in the heart of Downtown Richmond. The hotel is comprised of seven row houses built in the mid-1800's, and meticulously restored over the years. Many of the hotel's guest rooms are furnished with antiques from the middle and late 1800's, and the hotel is proud to be featured on the National Register of Historic Places. Edgar Allan Poe spent his childhood playing in the garden that is now the hotel's garden courtyard, and local legend has it that the property is home to the "enchanted garden" that Poe mentions in his famous poem "To Helen." Room rate includes free wireless internet throughout the hotel, access to a state-of-the-art fitness center, and complimentary in-town shuttle service. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Orbitz, Hotwire, Cancelon, HotelsforEveryone, HotelQuickly and getaroom.com so you can book your Linden Row Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Linden Row Hotel Richmond
Linden Row Richmond

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing