We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Charming Richmond Inn”
Review of Linden Row Inn

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Linden Row Inn
Ranked #6 of 82 Hotels in Richmond
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed December 22, 2011

The location, value and charm of the Linden Row Inn is amazing! We have been going to the Linden Row Inn for several years and will continue in the future. The Old World charm and the beautifulloy renovated rooms are amazing. It is simply the BEST place to stay in Richmond for the price. The staff is attentive, the valet parking wonderful and the complimentary transportation to area sites and restaurants is an incredible bonus!

Room Tip: All the rooms are lovely: if you're a romantic ask for a Garden Room!
  • Stayed: December 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Stu68y
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LindenRowInnMgmt, Manager at Linden Row Inn, responded to this reviewResponded December 26, 2011

Thank you for making the Linden Row Inn your favorite place to stay in Richmond. We look forward to welcoming you again soon!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (1,061)
There are newer reviews for Linden Row Inn
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

935 - 941 of 1,061 reviews

Reviewed December 5, 2011

Small, but has all the goodies of a large "chain" property. Very convenient location. Very knowledgeable staff.

Room Tip: Lowe floor. On our visit, the elevator went out and we were on the 4th floor.
  • Stayed: November 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank packfanpa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LindenRowInnMgmt, Manager at Linden Row Inn, responded to this reviewResponded December 6, 2011

We are delighted that you had such a wonderful experience at the Linden Row Inn. Thank you for taking the time to share your comments on TripAdvisor. We look forward to welcoming you back soon!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 1, 2011

I stayed at the Linden Row Hotel, because I had a job interview in the area. I was definitely impressed with the the room I had. It was in the perfect spot in the hotel on the 4th floor. I also was impressed with the breakfast they provided that set me up well for my interview. Also, the shuttle service was fabulous. Even though it was out of the shuttle's range, I was still able to use the shuttle to and from my interview. This of course saved me a lot of money, which I absolutely appreciated. When I return to the area, I will stay at the Linden Row Hotel.

  • Stayed: November 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Sandrakc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LindenRowInnMgmt, Manager at Linden Row Inn, responded to this reviewResponded December 6, 2011

Thank you for sharing your recent experience at the Linden Row Inn. We are pleased to hear that we impressed you, and look forward to welcoming you again soon!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 30, 2011

I recently purchased a Groupon and am so glad I did not pay full price to stay here. When we checked in the front desk attendant was in the middle of a conversation with a young man trying to get her phone number. Instead of asking him to come back later she told him, "hold on I gotta check these people in then we can talk." Wow...that was professional. It was a cold fall night when we checked in and I tried to turn some heat on and it took close to two hours before we felt the chill wear off. The place is not kept up and overall does not present very clean. The room's cleanliness was fair. I wish they would not call this a B & B because we had to stop at McDonald's on the way home because my husband was starving. The menu consisted of assorted breads, waffles and juice and very overripe bananas. We will NOT stay here again and hope others read this and venture to a more desirable B & B in the Richmond area.

  • Stayed: November 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank cindyrd
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LindenRowInnMgmt, Manager at Linden Row Inn, responded to this reviewResponded December 26, 2011

Thank you for taking the time to share your experience at our historic inn. We are regretful to hear that we failed to meet your expectations and apologize for the lapses in service during your stay.

We are sorry that our Front Desk associate failed to give you her full undivided attention during check-in. Your feedback has been shared with our Front Desk team and our management team has utilized this example as part of our ongoing training and coaching for hotel staff.

We also apologize for the heat not being turned on in your room. As a Virginia Green property, we are serious about energy conservation. On that note, our Housekeeping team has been trained to turn on the heat in our guest rooms a few hours prior to check-in during the colder months. Given the unusually warm autumn we experienced in Richmond this year, our Housekeeping team did not begin turning on the heat in guest rooms until the temperatures dropped at the end of November.

Finally, we are sorry to hear that you were not satisfied with our complimentary breakfast. Like most hotels that offer a continental breakfast, our food menu is limited to breakfast cereals, oatmeal, fresh fruit, bagels, toast, and fresh hot waffles. For our guests who are seeking a more complete meal at the beginning of their day, we are always happy to recommend some nearby restaurants that offer a full breakfast menu.

We once again apologize for failing to meet your expectations and hope that you will give us an opportunity to host you during a future visit to Richmond.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 21, 2011

We stayed at the Linden Row Inn for a long weekend in Richmond. It's a charming building with lots of history and character. The front desk, breakfast, and valet staff were pleasant and helpful. The free continental breakfasts were good. Our room was large, the bed was comfortable, and the bathroom was quite nice. What I found disappointing was how amazing this place could be with just a little effort. It's looking a little shabby and some of the finishes, carpets, and furnishings need renovations or just cleaning. The arms on the wing-back chair in our room (323) were filthy. The dresser was a cheap piece from the 70's that stuck out like a sore thumb. There was no end table on one side of our bed, which made it difficult for the person on that side to relax in bed with a beverage, book, lamp, etc. The silverware in the breakfast room was incredibly cheap, even with some rough edges. The cleaning service was inadequate. They made the bed but didn't replace the used drinking glasses, close the armoire doors or empty the ice bucket that was now filled with water from the night before. I travel quite a bit and have never seen these things left undone by a cleaning staff.

The Linden Row Inn is a nice place, and I would stay there again. However, it is not fulfulling it's potential. I'd love to see some improvements.

  • Stayed: November 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
6  Thank DJDockins
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LindenRowInnMgmt, Manager at Linden Row Inn, responded to this reviewResponded December 6, 2011

Thank you for sharing your feedback on TripAdvisor. We are happy to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us and sincerely apologize for missing the mark on some finer details.

We have noted your constructive comments on the housekeeping service and furniture in your room, and have shared your feedback with the appropriate hotel staff so that these items may be remedied.

We appreciate your review and look forward to hosting you again during a future visit to Richmond!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 20, 2011

The hotel is charming - our room was very large with a great bay window with a window seat and a fireplace ( non- working). The bathrooms are completely updated. We found the staff to be very accommodating - Would definitely recommend this hotel - much more ambiance than a large chain hotel.

Room Tip: A couple corner rooms have a charming bay window.
  • Stayed: November 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank BBFOX
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LindenRowInnMgmt, Manager at Linden Row Inn, responded to this reviewResponded December 2, 2011

Thank you for sharing your recent experience at the Linden Row Inn. We are pleased to hear that you enjoyed our property and we hope to see you again in the near future!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 19, 2011

My husband and I stayed here in October of 2011 and found it to be a delightful experience. Our room was large and well appointed, as was the bathroom. This is a lovely property. The service was good, from check-in to using the shuttle service to check-out. The breakfast room was cheery and bountiful. We liked that we were able to eat breakfast using real dishes and silverware, instead of the paper and plastic of most chain hotels. There were tablecloths on the tables and flowers and it was lovely. This hotel is connected old row houses where Edgar Allen Poe lived as a boy. The parlour is quaint and there is a book you can peruse that gives a lot of the history of the hotel. They have lovely artwork on the walls and there is also a pretty courtyard area. I wish it had been a touch warmer as it would have been nice to have wine and appetizers there. The shuttle took us to the Civil War Museum at Tredegar and picked us back up when we were ready. All in all, a lovely experience.

  • Stayed: October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank chacha7602
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LindenRowInnMgmt, Manager at Linden Row Inn, responded to this reviewResponded December 2, 2011

Thank you for writing a review about your experience at the Linden Row Inn. We are glad that you enjoyed your stay with us and look forward to welcoming you back during the warmer months so that you can enjoy our Garden Courtyard!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Richmond hotels
0.2 mi away
The Jefferson Hotel
The Jefferson Hotel
#1 of 82 in Richmond
1,279 reviews
0.7 mi away
The Berkeley Hotel
The Berkeley Hotel
#8 of 82 in Richmond
888 reviews
0.3 mi away
Hilton Richmond Downtown
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 mi away
Omni Richmond Hotel
Omni Richmond Hotel
#13 of 82 in Richmond
1,945 reviews
0.2 mi away
Quirk Hotel
Quirk Hotel
#9 of 82 in Richmond
734 reviews
6.2 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Richmond/Glenside
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Linden Row Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Linden Row Inn

Address: 100 E Franklin St, Richmond, VA 23219-2108
Location: United States > Virginia > Richmond
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#7 Romantic Hotel in Richmond
#10 Business Hotel in Richmond
#12 Family Hotel in Richmond
Price Range: $135 - $348 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Linden Row Inn 3*
Number of rooms: 70
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Linden Row Inn is an award-winning 70-room boutique historic hotel located in the heart of Downtown Richmond. The hotel is comprised of seven row houses built in the mid-1800's, and meticulously restored over the years. Many of the hotel's guest rooms are furnished with antiques from the middle and late 1800's, and the hotel is proud to be featured on the National Register of Historic Places. Edgar Allan Poe spent his childhood playing in the garden that is now the hotel's garden courtyard, and local legend has it that the property is home to the "enchanted garden" that Poe mentions in his famous poem "To Helen." Room rate includes free wireless internet throughout the hotel, access to a state-of-the-art fitness center, and complimentary in-town shuttle service. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Travelocity, Expedia, Priceline, Orbitz, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, HotelsforEveryone, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Linden Row Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Linden Row Hotel Richmond
Linden Row Richmond

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing