We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Vere nice”
Review of Linden Row Inn

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Linden Row Inn
Ranked #6 of 82 Hotels in Richmond
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed July 16, 2011

It was veri nice vacation for me and my wife. The rooms were very comfortable. There was a fast internet connection which is very important for me due to my work.

  • Stayed: August 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank aserg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LindenRowInnMgmt, Manager at Linden Row Inn, responded to this reviewResponded August 9, 2011

Thank you for sharing your experience at the Linden Row Inn. We were pleased to read that you and your wife had an enjoyable stay with us. We look forward to seeing you again soon!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (1,089)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

1,001 - 1,007 of 1,090 reviews

Reviewed July 16, 2011

We booked this room on Hotwire. The staff was very nice and friendly. We got keys to our first room which was #228 and was overwhelmed by the smell of cat pee which we realized was due to mold. We could see the water damage on the walls and the ceiling. We went back to reception and she was very responsive and moved us to room #201which was a much larger room but didn't nearly smell as bad as the previous room. The rooms in general are definitely in need of an upgrade. Linens are dated along with the TV. Continental breakfast was included which was fine. There is lots of parking close by so no real need for valet.

  • Stayed: July 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Michelle H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LindenRowInnMgmt, Manager at Linden Row Inn, responded to this reviewResponded August 9, 2011

Thank you for your writing a review about the Linden Row Inn, and for alerting our team to the leak we had in Room 228 during your stay. We sincerely apologize for the inconvenience caused by having to move you to a new room, and are happy to hear that you were satisfied with the second room that we assigned to you.

Our management team strives to ensure that our guests have an enjoyable stay with us, and we are always happy to assist in addressing any concerns surrounding our guest rooms. Since your visit, we have had our maintenance team take a look at Room 228 and we have repaired the source of the water damage. In addition, we have recently replaced the linens in our rooms and will be introducing further upgrades in the near future.

We truly appreciate your feedback and hope that we will have the opportunity to host you again.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 11, 2011

Our room was quiet, spacious and was well suited to our needs. The multiple large windows and high ceilings made for a bright and sunny bedroom and bathroom, both of which seemed very clean; the marble bathroom floor gleamed We found the bed and linens to be quite comfortable. The bathroom appeared to have been recently renovated with elegant tile and a spacious and attractive sink area. Water pressure was crummy, but I've found that everywhere lately with water-saving devices in regular use. Bathroom lighting was good, with a full-length mirror in addition to the mirror over the sink. I would, however, encourage Linden Row to reconsider the placement of the full-length mirror, directly facing the toilet. Does anyone want to view themselves that way? Ick.

As satisfied as we were with the room, we found the service to be lacking. When we checked in Saturday afternoon, the front desk clerk was in the courtyard having a cigarette. Although he immediately stepped in to check us in and was quite friendly and competent while doing so, this did not create a positive first impression of the hotel. We were even less impressed with the night clerk, who barely looked up from his reading as we returned late night. This gave me concern about security, as this night clerk hadn't seen us before. How did he know we were actually guests? We breezed past him to the elevator without any apparent interest on his part.

The clerk who checked us in didn't mention the complimentary continental breakfast or the shuttle service available to guests. The free breakfast was mentioned in one line of the in-room guide. It was supposed to be from 7:00 - 10:00, but when we dashed down at 9:50 (having just learned of it), most had already been cleared away. The kitchen staff removed the remaining items while we stood there, without asking if we wanted anything before he cleared it. I understand that the staff needs to clear out the buffet, or guests would linger all morning, but would have appreciated being asked if I wanted something before he put everything away. I was completely unaware of the shuttle service until reading the reviews below. That would certainly have come in handy, had we been advised of this option.

It seems that Linden Row reads these reviews; I hope these issues will be addressed with the staff members in question.

  • Stayed: July 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ElvisLoveChild
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LindenRowInnMgmt, Manager at Linden Row Inn, responded to this reviewResponded August 9, 2011

Thank you for taking the time to write a detailed review of your stay at the Linden Row Inn. You are correct: we do read every review that is posted and work hard to ensure that we are addressing any gaps in our services and amenities.

We are sorry to hear that you were not satisfied with our Front Desk team members during your stay. We are extremely serious about the security of our guests. While not always apparent, we do have systems and procedures to monitor the traffic entering and leaving our property (beyond just the Front Desk agent). That said, we have recently conducted a new round of training to reiterate the importance of greeting our guests upon entering the property. We have also implemented a new policy to ensure that the few smokers on our team are limiting their smoking breaks while working.

Regarding our complimentary continental breakfast, we apologize that some items were unavailable when you arrived in our Dining Room. I have shared your feedback with our Breakfast staff and they will be more careful to keep the items out until 10AM.

Finally, we are sorry to hear that you were unaware of our complimentary shuttle and continental breakfast offerings. While we do ask our Front Desk staff to highlight our most popular amenities, it isn’t always possible to recite all of our amenities at check-in. On that note, we encourage our guests to review our list of service offerings on our website and in the in-room books.

We truly appreciate your constructive feedback and look forward to hosting you during a future visit to Richmond.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 6, 2011

An Inn with history, charm, quaintness and great service. Great location with a shuttle to and from most anywhere in the city.

  • Stayed: July 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Acadia1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LindenRowInnMgmt, Manager at Linden Row Inn, responded to this reviewResponded August 9, 2011

Thank you for taking the time to share your recent experience at the Linden Row Inn. We are pleased to hear that you enjoyed our hotel's service and charm, and we look forward to hosting you again soon!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 23, 2011

Chose Linden Row Inn upon recommendation from a friend. Had a business meeting across town the next day. I was not expecting much, but left very pleasantly surprised. This place really has its act together - not only was my check-in and check-out streamlined and the room quite nice, the whole property was charming. Though I got in a bit late, I couldn't help but take a nice stroll alongside the garden (and then, of course, enjoy the chairs on the balcony while using their free wifi with my laptop).

  • Stayed: June 2011, traveled on business
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Nik1111
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LindenRowInnMgmt, Manager at Linden Row Inn, responded to this reviewResponded July 14, 2011

All of us at the Linden Row Inn were pleased to learn that you enjoyed your recent stay with us. We appreciate your positive review of our property and have shared your compliments on the easy check-in and check-out process with our Front Desk team. We look forward to seeing you again during your next business trip to Richmond!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 21, 2011

My our second trip ((1st Last Ocotber for a wedding) and this last with 7 couples from our Book Club. The Inn was clean, felt new, and we were treated with defference. What more could you ask.

Room Tip: We/ve seen two in the main building. Excellent.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank edk1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LindenRowInnMgmt, Manager at Linden Row Inn, responded to this reviewResponded July 14, 2011

Thank you for staying at the Linden Row Inn during your past two visits to Richmond. We appreciate your continued business and look forward to hosting you and your Book Club again very soon!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 15, 2011

Cute historic inn and a great location. The rooms are spacious and the staff friendly. There is a wonderful sitting room with plenty to occupy you which turned out to be a very good thing. Our room had a mildew smell about it, but since we were there only one night we did not complain or ask to be moved so don't know if other rooms smell similar. If you stay under no circumstances valet your car. There is only one guy to valet AND drive the shuttle that takes guests anywhere in a 2 mile radius. We had to wait for him to deliver and pick up passengers on his shuttle run before getting our car. We waited about 30-40 minutes this is on top of calling 10 minutes ahead of time to request our car. Another couple that was waiting had been waiting an hour! That's just unacceptable. Not sure if this was a one night problem with staffing our if this is there normal set up. Definitely ask before handing over the keys or give them at least 30 minutes heads up.

Valet is $12 a night and the room comes with a continental breakfast and waffles (we skipped the breakfast and went around the corner to Perly's)

  • Stayed: June 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank LCP2010
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LindenRowInnMgmt, Manager at Linden Row Inn, responded to this reviewResponded July 14, 2011

Thank you for taking the time to write a review about your stay at the Linden Row Inn. We are pleased to hear that you enjoyed your experience with us, and sincerely apologize for the delay you faced with our valet parking service.

We usually suggest that guests provide us with approximately 20-25 minutes advance notice before they require their cars. That said, it appears that you caught us on an unexpectedly busy day when we were inadequately staffed for the volume of vehicles being parked. We agree that waiting an hour for a car is unacceptable, and we will be re-examining our staffing procedures to ensure that such issues do not occur in the future.

We appreciate your constructive feedback and look forward to hosting you during a future visit to Richmond.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Richmond hotels
0.7 mi away
The Berkeley Hotel
The Berkeley Hotel
#8 of 82 in Richmond
964 reviews
0.2 mi away
The Jefferson Hotel
The Jefferson Hotel
#1 of 82 in Richmond
1,336 reviews
0.3 mi away
Hilton Richmond Downtown
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Quirk Hotel
Quirk Hotel
#9 of 82 in Richmond
802 reviews
6.2 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Richmond/Glenside
0.7 mi away
Omni Richmond Hotel
Omni Richmond Hotel
#17 of 82 in Richmond
2,055 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Linden Row Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Linden Row Inn

Address: 100 E Franklin St, Richmond, VA 23219-2108
Location: United States > Virginia > Richmond
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#7 Romantic Hotel in Richmond
#10 Business Hotel in Richmond
#12 Family Hotel in Richmond
Price Range: $114 - $239 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Linden Row Inn 3*
Number of rooms: 70
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Linden Row Inn is an award-winning 70-room boutique historic hotel located in the heart of Downtown Richmond. The hotel is comprised of seven row houses built in the mid-1800's, and meticulously restored over the years. Many of the hotel's guest rooms are furnished with antiques from the middle and late 1800's, and the hotel is proud to be featured on the National Register of Historic Places. Edgar Allan Poe spent his childhood playing in the garden that is now the hotel's garden courtyard, and local legend has it that the property is home to the "enchanted garden" that Poe mentions in his famous poem "To Helen." Room rate includes free wireless internet throughout the hotel, access to a state-of-the-art fitness center, and complimentary in-town shuttle service. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline, Hotwire, Orbitz, HotelQuickly, HotelsforEveryone, getaroom.com, Cancelon and TripOnline SA so you can book your Linden Row Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Linden Row Hotel Richmond
Linden Row Richmond

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing