We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Easy-Breezy Business Stay”
Review of Linden Row Inn

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Linden Row Inn
Ranked #6 of 82 Hotels in Richmond
Certificate of Excellence
New York City, New York
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Easy-Breezy Business Stay”
Reviewed June 23, 2011

Chose Linden Row Inn upon recommendation from a friend. Had a business meeting across town the next day. I was not expecting much, but left very pleasantly surprised. This place really has its act together - not only was my check-in and check-out streamlined and the room quite nice, the whole property was charming. Though I got in a bit late, I couldn't help but take a nice stroll alongside the garden (and then, of course, enjoy the chairs on the balcony while using their free wifi with my laptop).

  • Stayed June 2011, traveled on business
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Nik1111
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LindenRowInnMgmt, Manager at Linden Row Inn, responded to this review, July 14, 2011
All of us at the Linden Row Inn were pleased to learn that you enjoyed your recent stay with us. We appreciate your positive review of our property and have shared your compliments on the easy check-in and check-out process with our Front Desk team. We look forward to seeing you again during your next business trip to Richmond!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,047 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    546
    328
    108
    39
    26
See reviews for
228
419
68
159
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (276)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Lusby, Maryland
1 review
Reviewed June 21, 2011

My our second trip ((1st Last Ocotber for a wedding) and this last with 7 couples from our Book Club. The Inn was clean, felt new, and we were treated with defference. What more could you ask.

Room Tip: We/ve seen two in the main building. Excellent.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank edk1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LindenRowInnMgmt, Manager at Linden Row Inn, responded to this review, July 14, 2011
Thank you for staying at the Linden Row Inn during your past two visits to Richmond. We appreciate your continued business and look forward to hosting you and your Book Club again very soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Alexandria, Virginia
Level 4 Contributor
37 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 58 helpful votes
Reviewed June 15, 2011

Cute historic inn and a great location. The rooms are spacious and the staff friendly. There is a wonderful sitting room with plenty to occupy you which turned out to be a very good thing. Our room had a mildew smell about it, but since we were there only one night we did not complain or ask to be moved so don't know if other rooms smell similar. If you stay under no circumstances valet your car. There is only one guy to valet AND drive the shuttle that takes guests anywhere in a 2 mile radius. We had to wait for him to deliver and pick up passengers on his shuttle run before getting our car. We waited about 30-40 minutes this is on top of calling 10 minutes ahead of time to request our car. Another couple that was waiting had been waiting an hour! That's just unacceptable. Not sure if this was a one night problem with staffing our if this is there normal set up. Definitely ask before handing over the keys or give them at least 30 minutes heads up.

Valet is $12 a night and the room comes with a continental breakfast and waffles (we skipped the breakfast and went around the corner to Perly's)

  • Stayed June 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank LCP2010
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LindenRowInnMgmt, Manager at Linden Row Inn, responded to this review, July 14, 2011
Thank you for taking the time to write a review about your stay at the Linden Row Inn. We are pleased to hear that you enjoyed your experience with us, and sincerely apologize for the delay you faced with our valet parking service.

We usually suggest that guests provide us with approximately 20-25 minutes advance notice before they require their cars. That said, it appears that you caught us on an unexpectedly busy day when we were inadequately staffed for the volume of vehicles being parked. We agree that waiting an hour for a car is unacceptable, and we will be re-examining our staffing procedures to ensure that such issues do not occur in the future.

We appreciate your constructive feedback and look forward to hosting you during a future visit to Richmond.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
city of brotherly love and high taxes, PA
Level 4 Contributor
28 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed June 14, 2011

We went to Richmond to attend a concert at the National and found this hotel on Hotwire. When we pulled up we weren't quite sure of the neighborhood but once we had checked in (valet parking is $12) we were enchanted. The hotel is beautiful and although historical, it was very comfortable. Our room was on the first floor and the rooms use real keys! The rooms on the first floor are off a little hallway, each room has a little porch with 2 rocking chairs. There is no exterior window but the one that looks out onto the porch with the rockers.
All of the furniture in the room are period pieces. The mattress wasn't the greatest but it was tolerable. The bathroom was completely updated. The room had cable tv (not sure about wifi as we didn't use it). There was also a beautiful little courtyard with tables off the lobby.
There was a jug of lemonade in the lobby and a full and free continental breakfast in the lovely dining room. They also sell beer and wine for you to drink in your room. We could see a gorgeous parlor on the other side of the lobby but didn't go in. This hotel would be a perfect place to have a small wedding, or for wedding guests to stay.
The staff was extremely friendly and courteous. The valet parking does take a little long to get the car (about 20 minutes, but they tell you this up front) so we had time to have breakfast.

  • Stayed June 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank vinandtonic
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LindenRowInnMgmt, Manager at Linden Row Inn, responded to this review, July 14, 2011
Thank you for sharing your positive experience at the Linden Row Inn with the TripAdvisor community. We are happy to hear that you enjoyed our property's historic charm, and look forward to hosting you when you return to Richmond for another concert at the National!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MD
Level 4 Contributor
27 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed June 14, 2011

Booked using American Airlines points at this inn as part of a larger trip for one night. Staff is very helpful and friendly, shuttle service by the hotel took us to the Fan District to the Virginia Gallery of Art. This meant we could valet park our car in a secure area since we had alot of luggage in the back.
Room was not so nice--- we were placed in an outer building in the courtyard. Room was updated somewhat but not with any antiques and seemed dank and dark. I would not want an analysis of the carpeting....Advertised wifi was not working.
The Inn is in downtown but in an emerging area near VCU. We could walk to restaurants but would not have wished to be out late at night in that area.
This place is convenient if you need to be close to the capitol and VCU --we will not book next time we are in town.

  • Stayed June 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank hokie01Md
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LindenRowInnMgmt, Manager at Linden Row Inn, responded to this review, July 14, 2011
Thank you for taking the time to write a review about your experience at the Linden Row Inn.

While we are pleased to hear that you enjoyed our customer service, location, and in-town shuttle, we are very sorry that you were not satisfied with your room. Based on the description you have provided, it sounds like you stayed in a Garden room. Our Garden rooms are smaller than our Main House rooms, and unfortunately they do not include any antiques/historic furnishings. So, we encourage any guests seeking a room with historic furnishings/décor to book a Main House room or Parlour Suite.

We also do apologize for the issues you faced with the wi-fi internet. We have just upgraded to a completely new wireless internet system to ensure more consistent and reliable wi-fi access throughout the hotel. For those guests who have trouble accessing a wireless internet signal, our Front Desk can also provide a DSL box that can be setup in any guest room for internet access via Ethernet cable.

We appreciate your feedback on our property and hope that you will consider giving us another chance. Please don’t hesitate to contact our Management office if you would like to discuss your experience in further detail.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed June 13, 2011

The hotel is nice, it's unique. I think it's a little over priced. The location is not that great either. Plenty of street parking.

  • Stayed March 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank erttash12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LindenRowInnMgmt, Manager at Linden Row Inn, responded to this review, July 14, 2011
Thank you for sharing your experience at the Linden Row Inn. We are sorry to hear that our rates and location did not meet your expectations. We believe that our pricing is extremely competitive for the Downtown market, and recommend all guests to visit the LindenRowInn website for our latest specials and packages. In terms of our location, our property is in the heart of Downtown Richmond, within a few blocks of VCU, the Convention Center, the Coliseum, and most of the Downtown hotels (including The Jefferson Hotel). In addition, we offer a complimentary shuttle service to all destinations within two miles of the hotel (includes all of Downtown Richmond). We appreciate your feedback and hope that you will consider staying with us during a future visit to Richmond.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sacramento, CA
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed June 5, 2011

Lots of great things about Linden Row - the free shuttle service is fantastic, the price was really good compared to other hotels in the same area, the location is good, and the staff is nice.
We stayed in a garden room, and outside of the loud AC (which we were grateful for due to the heat wave) it was a very comfortable stay. I was really excited about the waffles, but they did not taste good to me - they were a little sweet and sour... Other people seemed to like them, so you might too.
While you are in Richmond, DO NOT MISS the Fine Arts Museum, it is FANTASTIC. We've been to London, Paris, Rome, Florence, Venice, Madrid, Barcelona, Granada, Lisbon, Vienna, etc. and thought the VMFA could compete with any of the world class museums we've seen. It's well laid out, the building and grounds are lovely, and there are some wonderful treasures within. Do not miss this free, fabulous museum followed by an evening in Carytown; the Linden Row shuttle will be happy to take you there.
Thank you Linden Row!

  • Stayed May 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ArieleR
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LindenRowInnMgmt, Manager at Linden Row Inn, responded to this review, June 29, 2011
Thank you for taking the time to write about your recent experience at the Linden Row Inn. We are happy to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us, and wholeheartedly agree that VMFA is a must-see when in Richmond. We look forward to hosting you again soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Richmond hotels
0.7 mi away
The Berkeley Hotel
The Berkeley Hotel
#8 of 82 in Richmond
867 reviews
0.2 mi away
The Jefferson Hotel
The Jefferson Hotel
#1 of 82 in Richmond
1,268 reviews
0.3 mi away
Hilton Richmond Downtown
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Quirk Hotel
Quirk Hotel
#9 of 82 in Richmond
709 reviews
0.7 mi away
Omni Richmond Hotel
Omni Richmond Hotel
#12 of 82 in Richmond
1,915 reviews
6.2 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Richmond/Glenside
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Linden Row Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Linden Row Inn

Property: Linden Row Inn
Address: 100 E Franklin St, Richmond, VA 23219-2108
Location: United States > Virginia > Richmond
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#7 Romantic Hotel in Richmond
#10 Business Hotel in Richmond
#12 Family Hotel in Richmond
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Linden Row Inn 3*
Number of rooms: 70
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Linden Row Inn is an award-winning 70-room boutique historic hotel located in the heart of Downtown Richmond. The hotel is comprised of seven row houses built in the mid-1800's, and meticulously restored over the years. Many of the hotel's guest rooms are furnished with antiques from the middle and late 1800's, and the hotel is proud to be featured on the National Register of Historic Places. Edgar Allan Poe spent his childhood playing in the garden that is now the hotel's garden courtyard, and local legend has it that the property is home to the "enchanted garden" that Poe mentions in his famous poem "To Helen." Room rate includes free wireless internet throughout the hotel, access to a state-of-the-art fitness center, and complimentary in-town shuttle service. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Hotels.com, Expedia, Booking.com, Orbitz, TravelClick, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, Cancelon, HotelsforEveryone, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Linden Row Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Linden Row Hotel Richmond
Linden Row Richmond

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing