We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A small jewel in Richmond.”
Review of The Berkeley Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
The Berkeley Hotel
Ranked #8 of 82 Hotels in Richmond
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed January 19, 2011

What a wonderfully unpretentious luxury hotel. Top notch staff, good beds and good food in the dining room.

  • Stayed: January 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Teasnob
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (964)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

874 - 880 of 964 reviews

Reviewed January 6, 2011

I travel a lot. This time happened to be with my very spoilt and fussy teenage son. I had seen this hotel a few times so I finally decided to give it a try. To say I was surprised would be an understatement. The suite we had was exquisite. Clean with a beautiful decor. For the price I paid, the room was superb. The staff amazing, well informed, kind, but most of all very welcoming, a rarity these days. The piece de resistence was the food. As I mentioned I stay in hotels a lot and even good hotel food is usually only ok. Well this food could be compared to any five star restaurant. WOW! I had the lamb and my son the crab cakes. This hotel reminded me of the hotels I usually stay in New York or Paris. I will be back very soon.

  • Stayed: January 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank ggroszman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 4, 2011

This was our third time staying at the Berkeley and each time is a pleasure. The rooms (the two we've stayed in) were unique and spacious. There is a nice "old school" character to the building although it is actually relatively new. The location is great, easy to get on and off Interstate 95 and easy access to Shockoe Bottom and downtown Richmond. One day we visited Monticello and the next day Colonial Williamsburg.

Each staff person we encountered was friendly and helpful. We also had a great meal in the restaurant. We definitely plan to stay here again on our way through Richmond. It's a lovely surprise.

  • Stayed: December 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank TimberNY
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 7, 2010

A very elegant hotel. Room was very spacious and unbelievably clean. Not historic, kind of an 80's boutique, but elegant in the small lobby. Service was friendly if not fully polished. Location is convenient to a lot of restaurant and some sightseeing and retail. A great value we thought. Keys are still the old metal keys which was kind of an interesting touch.

  • Stayed: November 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Flyway2much
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 27, 2010

We stayed over Thanksgiving and not only was the dining room closed, there was also no housekeeping service. The room was run down and to top it off, we got overcharged on our bill and had to remind them of the internet rate we had booked. I have never had such terrible service before. What a joke.

  • Stayed: November 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank jetset19
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
dennypppp, Manager at The Berkeley Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded December 2, 2010

Please accept our deepest apologies. Our restaurant is open on Thanksgiving
Day for our traditional holiday brunch. During your stay we had set up a
complimentary continental breakfast in our lobby from 7 a.m. until 10 a.m.
Also, we are surrounded by restaurants and coffee houses. I am truly sorry
that this arrangement did not suit your needs. I also apologize that this
guest had to remind us of their special rate. We should have caught this
ourselves and we will continue to train our staff to provide ever better
four diamond service. We sincerely appreciate your business and we strive
to meet our guests expectations. Please contact me directly at 804-225-5148
to discuss how you may provide us another opportunity to earn your business.
General Manager.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 15, 2010

I stayed here while visiting family in town. Loved my room! Very spacious with a sofa, flat screen tv and a balcony. The bed and linens were more comfortable than my bed at home! The bathroom was very roomy. The staff was very polite and welcoming, they knew me by name and always asked if they could help with anything. The hotel was walking distance to several great restaurants and shopping. I had breakfast in my room each morning. I thouroughly enjoyed my stay and would recommend this hotel to anyone travelling to Richmond.

  • Stayed: October 2010, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank nancym11900
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 15, 2010

My husband and I spent our wedding night at the Berkeley over twelve years ago, and just had another opportunity to stay at the amazing Governor's Suite last weekend. We have three small children, so getting away is pretty tough, and walking into the gorgeous, decadent Berkeley and staying in this suite with a grandiose view of Richmond was like another honeymoon! From the relaxing drinks at the bar to the service to the bed which allowed us to sleep in with style, we'll do it again as soon as we can!

  • Stayed: November 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Katehallrva
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Richmond hotels
0.7 mi away
Linden Row Inn
Linden Row Inn
#6 of 82 in Richmond
1,088 reviews
0.9 mi away
The Jefferson Hotel
The Jefferson Hotel
#1 of 82 in Richmond
1,336 reviews
0.9 mi away
Quirk Hotel
Quirk Hotel
#9 of 82 in Richmond
802 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Hilton Richmond Downtown
0.1 mi away
Omni Richmond Hotel
Omni Richmond Hotel
#16 of 82 in Richmond
2,052 reviews
0.1 mi away
Courtyard Richmond Downtown
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Berkeley Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Berkeley Hotel

Address: 1200 E Cary St, Richmond, VA 23219-4116
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Virginia > Richmond
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#5 Luxury Hotel in Richmond
#9 Romantic Hotel in Richmond
#23 Business Hotel in Richmond
Price Range: $140 - $248 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — The Berkeley Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 55
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Travelocity, TravelClick, Priceline, Orbitz, Hotwire, HotelQuickly, TripOnline SA, getaroom.com and Cancelon so you can book your The Berkeley Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Berkeley Hotel Richmond

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing