We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Lowest prices for your stay
Expedia.com
$169
View deal
Free cancellation until 12/10/22
Reserve now, pay at stay
Booking.com
$144
View deal
Free cancellation until 12/10/22
Priceline
$144
View deal
Free cancellation until 12/09/22
Hotels.com$169
Travelocity$169
Agoda.com$144
View all 19 deals
Prices are the average nightly price provided by our partners and may not include all taxes and fees. Taxes and fees that are shown are estimates only. Please see our partners for more details.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (1,585)
Filter reviews
1,585 results
Traveler rating
937
376
134
74
64
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
Traveler rating
937
376
134
74
64
Show reviews that mention
All reviews front desk shockoe slip cobblestone street small hotel valet parking tobacco company within walking distance street parking location is great valet service shockoe bottom canal walk beautiful hotel room was spacious great room beckley capital
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
680 - 685 of 1,585 reviews
Reviewed October 20, 2017 via mobile

Had tickets for concert at The Richmond Coliseum and The Berkeley was a perfect location a 10 minute walk away. On the edge of the old town district there were plenty of local choices for bars/restaurants. Comfortable bed and friendly staff made this ideal.

Date of stay: October 2017
Trip type: Traveled as a couple
Thank D3119IRnicks
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Kevin M, Manager at The Berkeley Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded October 21, 2017

Thanks so much Nick S, for your kind words about our hotel and staff. We hope that you will visit us again soon. Guest satisfaction is very important to us. Thanks again for taking the time to let us know about your stay!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 19, 2017

Shockoe Slip has become a preferred location when we are traveling through Virginia. The Berkeley is just the right size and is in just the right place for us. This time we lucked into a tour of the state capitol building, which is a national treasure.

Date of stay: October 2017
  • Trip type: Traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank budanddee2015
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Kevin M, Manager at The Berkeley Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded October 20, 2017

Thanks so much! Guests like you are the best advertising for our hotel and our wonderful employees! We appreciate that you took the time to complete this review. We look forward to seeing you again soon

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 18, 2017 via mobile

Stayed at the Berkeley earlier this week and found it to be very accommodating. Our room was quite nice with a large bathroom. Bedding was luxurious and nice toiletries were provided. All In all a very nice visit! Hotel is located downtown close to the Capital.

Date of stay: October 2017
Trip type: Traveled with friends
Thank beenthereDallas
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Megan D, Manager at The Berkeley Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded October 19, 2017

I would first like to thank you for taking the time to tell us about visit. We are ecstatic to know that you enjoyed your visit. Your happiness and comfort is always our number one priority. It was an absolute pleasure having you here and we look forward to seeing you soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 18, 2017

Everyone we met was helpful and friendly. The room was spacious, with a lovely patio. Very clean and comfortable. The hotel is within walking distance of many restaurants. We had Brunch at the Cobblestone in the hotel. Everything was delicious, especially the coffee!

Date of stay: October 2017
  • Trip type: Traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
2  Thank Martr619
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Management response:Responded October 19, 2017

Thanks so much for your kind words about our hotel and staff. We hope that you will visit us again soon. Guest satisfaction is very important to us. Thanks again for taking the time to let us know about your stay!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 17, 2017

I have read some of the tedious reviews - poor valet service - you were late because you were late. This hotel was awesome - best bed and pillows on my four night trip. The staff accommodated me with early check in I found them to be very friendly - more friendly than at some chain hotel - which is cold and unwelcoming. I would like to thank the Berkley and I would definitely recommend to any of my friends traveling in that area.

Room tip: it is an old brick building so i think all rooms are quite - the black out curtains worked well
Date of stay: October 2017
  • Trip type: Traveled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Tina H
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Kevin M, Manager at The Berkeley Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded October 18, 2017

Wow!!! We would first like to thank you Tina H, for taking the time to tell us about visit. We are ecstatic to know that you enjoyed your visit. Your happiness and comfort is always our number one priority. It was an absolute pleasure having you here and we look forward to seeing you soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews