We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Nice Historical Feel” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of The Berkeley Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
The Berkeley Hotel
Ranked #8 of 81 Hotels in Richmond
Certificate of Excellence
Columbus, Ohio
1 review
“Nice Historical Feel”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 19, 2009

The hotel staff was exceptional. We really enjoyed the location making an evening walk and finding different types of dining choices.

  • Stayed April 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank cd_hutch
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

753 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    412
    214
    60
    36
    31
See reviews for
144
314
45
157
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (128)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Roanoke, VA
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 17, 2009

My family and I booked a room at the Berkeley Hotel in Richmond for one night, and we had a pretty good stay. Our room was huge, and it was in very good condition. The two double beds were extremely comfortable. There was a 32 inch flat screen TV in our room which worked well. There was a sleeper sofa also in the room, which was nice for our family. The bathrooms were in good shape, and the one in our room was quite large. The staff was friendly and were helpful. The one and only complaint I had was the location of the hotel. It was right across the street from The Tobacco Company, which is a bar, and people will often come out at night yelling and screaming. There was also a bus station nearby that was very loud. The traffic at any time of the day was very loud as well. Due to all this noise, we called the front desk and asked them if we could move to a higher level of the hotel. They were very prompt in coming to our room and letting us look in other rooms that were available. We chose a room that was exactly like our other room but on the fourth level, which was second from the top. This canceled out some of the noise from the bar across the street. There was still a little bit of traffic noise, but it wasn't nearly as bad as our previous room on the second floor. Then, at around midnight of our stay, some very bright strobe lights in each room of the large Bank of America tower across the street kept going off, and shone right through our six very large windows. Otherwise, we had a good stay and will possible return in the future.

  • Stayed April 2009, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank lol_2009
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BerkeleyGM, General Manager at The Berkeley Hotel, responded to this review, April 22, 2009
Dear lol_2009-
Thank you so much for your kind feedback on our hotel and staff. I was disappointed that you had such difficulties with noise and lights- Though we are not near a bus station we have had some tour buses in the area over the last week I expect that is what you heard. We are located in the heart of downtown in the special historic district of Shockoe Slip- though it is a busy urban setting it also has its advantages- we are with in walking distance to many points of interest- museums, State Capital, Canal Walk, numerous restaurants & clubs. Again I do apologize for the outside disturbances but I am happy you enjoyed your stay and we hope to see you again soon.
Thanks for posting pictures too!
Best wishes-
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington, DC
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 23, 2009

This was a great hotel. The staff was very friendly and the place was CLEAN. The room was a bit on the small side, but very comfortable with nice amenities. There are also lots of restaurant options within just a two block radius. I would definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed March 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank MassNative1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ann Arbor
1 review
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 25, 2009

Just returned from my 3rd stay at the Berkeley Hotel. The Berkeley begins with an excellent location. It is in the heart of Richmond, and is in close proximity to a variety of popular places.
The Staff at the Berkeley are always accomodating. From check in to valet to room service - they are friendly, informative and prompt.
Rooms at the Berkeley are nice. They are note huge in size but are clean and comfortable. One negative - the base blankets and comfortors are not substantial. I stayed during a cold spell, and found the room cold and the blankets lacking.
The hotel has one main restaurant. I have had breakfast there twice and found it nice.
The Berkeley does not have an onsite workout locations. However, it has an arrangement with a local fitness spot that allows visitors to gain access.
The hotel has free wifi, and the wifi has worked well for me each stay.

  • Liked — Friendly accomodating staff
  • Disliked — The comforters on the beds are lacking on cold days
  • Stayed January 2009, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Check in / front desk
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank thanatop
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Poughkeepsie, NY
Level Contributor
171 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 65 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 19, 2009

This is our second stay, and both times we have found the hotel to be charming -- really, our favorite hotel. The service is almost always good. The rooms are maybe smallish, but if you have a balcony (south and west) the views and the feeling are great. (Indeed, the whole hotel exudes the feeling of a small high-class European hotel.) I like the bar -- he poured a snifter of brandy the old-fashioned way (put the snifter on its side & fill), which gives you a nice-sized drink. Good service -- parking ($15/night extra) is safe and the car comes within about 10 minutes of asking.
Great location for restaurants.
On our last visit, the chef had just taken sick at breakfast, and so our omelets took about 20 minutes to arrive. The waitress and the maitre d' both apologized and both 'comped' us the breakfast. (The omelets were good -- and the next table's waffles smelled delicious.)

  • Liked — the feel (and matching performance) of the hotel
  • Disliked — --
  • Stayed January 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Check in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank Weyden
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Everywhere
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 7, 2009

My husband and I went out for New Years Eve for the first time in 10 YEARS!!!! We chose the Berkley, we attended a small party with friends and later had a cozy evening (or morning, it was after midnight) in our room. The room was beautiful. We had a balcony that showed a great view of the city's skyline. Our bed was very comfortable and the water pressure in the shower ROCKED (I'm a sucker for a good shower). The room's size was perfect for the two of us and the flat screen TV made us feel at home. We took part in the New Year's Eve brunch the next day and were pleasantly satisfied with the hearty fare for a reasonable price. Although it was too cold to stroll around the area, we did take note that there were many restaurants from bars and hot dogs to upscale dining to choose from within walking distance. I think this is our new spot for New Year's Eve for years to come.

  • Liked — Location and Cleanliness.
  • Disliked — Would prefer an earlier check in time.
  • Stayed January 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank luv2govroom
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newport News, Virginia
Level Contributor
10 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 4, 2009

We checked in to the beautiful, European-style hotel to the smell of the 4 course fishy-seafood smell of the New Year Eve dinner. The small foyer is accross from the restraunt in the hotel. I thought it odd that we were checking in to the aroma of that night's dinner. I should have taken it as an omen.

The small room was very clean, but the paper thin walls were immedietely noticable, even with us at the far end of the back side of the building. We were placed over the outside dumpsters, which were being filled noisely every couple of hours.

Getting back in from our New Year celebaration, we plopped into the comfy bed and were awakened by a horrible argument and altercation being held in the room across the hall from us. This was more than a small argument or dispute.

After calling the hotel front desk three times, we are extremely disappointed and traumatized with our stay.

A woman was clearly being assaulted in the room next door and the hotel would do absolutely nothing about it. We stepping in, and were close to calling the police over the incident.

I can't imagine anyone wanting to stay in such an unsafe, unfriendly, uncarring, anti-family, anti-femininst place!

While no "criminal activity" occured, we are horrified and traumatized by everything we overheard. We are shocked at the apathetic security gaurd and front desk staff at this hotel. We really thought that this man was going to kill this woman and can't forget the sounds of the incident that occured.

This is not a family friendly or romantic or safe place to stay.

We did not even get an apology from the front desk or manager. We have never stayed in such a place and hope no one will ever go through what we went through.

  • Liked — clean room and clean bathroom
  • Disliked — the unsafe feeling we expeirenced and high noise level
  • Stayed December 2008, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Check in / front desk
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
2 Thank fakee2717
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BerkeleyGM, Manager at The Berkeley Hotel, responded to this review, January 23, 2009
I am most disturbed to hear about your stay at the Berkeley. I assure you we take everyone's safety very seriously. Our security guards are through a national company that does extensive and thorough training before anyone is placed at our property. Once assigned to the hotel they shadow a senior officer for 3 nights before taking over a shift on their own. We maintain daily logs that record any disturbances or complaints and what actions that were taken to resolve the incident. In addition the guards then go through our own 4 diamond training. I take your comments very seriously and I have done much investigation to get to the bottom of this event that occurred during your visit to the Berkeley Hotel, I do hope you will consider the Berkeley in the future or at the very least take the time to discuss these events with myself our another member of my management team.- please feel free to contact us anytime.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Richmond hotels
0.9 mi away
The Jefferson Hotel
The Jefferson Hotel
#1 of 81 in Richmond
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,175 reviews
0.1 mi away
Omni Richmond Hotel
Omni Richmond Hotel
#10 of 81 in Richmond
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,750 reviews
0.7 mi away
Linden Row Inn
Linden Row Inn
#7 of 81 in Richmond
4.5 of 5 bubbles 974 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.9 mi away
Quirk Hotel
Quirk Hotel
#6 of 81 in Richmond
4.5 of 5 bubbles 564 reviews
0.5 mi away
Hilton Richmond Downtown
0.4 mi away
Crowne Plaza Richmond Downtown
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Berkeley Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Berkeley Hotel

Property: The Berkeley Hotel
Address: 1200 E Cary St, Richmond, VA 23219
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Virginia > Richmond
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#5 Luxury Hotel in Richmond
#9 Romantic Hotel in Richmond
#23 Business Hotel in Richmond
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — The Berkeley Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 55
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TravelClick, Booking.com, Orbitz, Cheap Tickets, Travelocity, Priceline, Hotels.com and Jetsetter so you can book your The Berkeley Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Berkeley Hotel Richmond

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing