We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Boutique Hotel”
Review of The Berkeley Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
The Berkeley Hotel
Ranked #7 of 82 Hotels in Richmond
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed April 20, 2014

This was our first trip to The Berkeley in several years. It is a small hotel with a friendly, helpful staff. The location is stellar - very close to great restaurants and bars. Our room was on the small side and they were resistant to giving us a larger room (probably because of our low rate) and the view was nothing worth commenting on. We were toward the back of the hotel and could hear the traffic below. The bed was comfortable with nice linens (although not Frette as stated on the website). The bathroom was fairly large with nice Gilchrist and Soames amenities. All in all, this is a nice hotel. The restaurant did not seem to be crowded and the prices on the menu seemed a little high. I would definitely stay here again.

Room Tip: I cannot provide input on this because my room was not as I would have liked.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank NCSmokey
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tamika Q, General Manager at The Berkeley Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded May 22, 2014

Thank you for taking the time to let us know about your stay. We are a very unique property in that no two rooms are completely the same. I do hope you will stay with us again when you return to Richmond to get a chance to experience a different room type.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (907)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

617 - 623 of 907 reviews

Reviewed April 19, 2014 via mobile

A beautiful, small, lovely hotel. So much nicer than a standard chain hotel for the same or less money. Rooms feel very well- kept and clean with some amount of character. The room was plenty large enough for 2 adults and 2 kids. It turns out that valet parking your car is worth it since it costs $21/night, and the self-park garage one block away is also $21/night. This seems to be a neighborhood for evening bar/restaurant hopping, which isn't something to take advantage of if you have little kids, but the hotel provides a lovely stay nonetheless.

Stayed: April 2014
1  Thank perachdavida
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tamika Q, General Manager at The Berkeley Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded June 11, 2014

Thank you so much for your kind words. It seems like you were able to take advantage of what the hotel and the area has to offer.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 12, 2014

Small hotel in the art and food heart of Richmond. Perfect place to stay if you are going to the theatre. Staff very pleasant. Restaurant seemed empty or closed during my brief stay. Not a very big lobby area--this is really a small hotel

  • Stayed: April 2014, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Nianqua
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 30, 2014

Great place to stay in Richmond. Definitely get the 6th floor balcony room as it was amazing just to sit out under the stars and have a glass or two of wine. Beds are very comfy, with elegantly romantic touches throughout the room. Stay here with confidence, and park at the local lot for $4-6 a day.

Room Tip: 604 & 605 share a balcony on the top floor - which was great for our wine weekend with our frien...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank bretinpoland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tamika Q, General Manager at The Berkeley Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded April 8, 2014

Thank you so much for your 5 Star Review! Wine and romance are two things we do quite well. I am glad to hear you and your friends had a memorable stay with us.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 19, 2014

I've always wanted to stay at the Berkeley Hotel and so glad we finally did. The Berkeley
is so much more intimate than a large hotel. The beds are very comfy, and it's so nice to have a beautiful luxurious bathroom. For the first time I actually liked the coffee in a hotel room.

The breakfast, especially the Eggs Benedict, was delicious. The location is also terrific, right in Shockoe Slip, with its many bars and restaurants within walking distance. We stayed at the hotel after seeing a concert at the Altria Theatre - the hotel is very close to the theatre so it made for a terrific combination. Just took a cab for $5 to the theatre and made it a terrific little get-away.
Ready for the next visit!

Room Tip: Nice looking terrace to relax on and see the city lights!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank bjms123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tamika Q, General Manager at The Berkeley Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded April 8, 2014

What a wonderful review! Richmond has so much to offer, it is great to see you enjoyed not only our property, but the Slip and the Altria Theatre. We appreciate the comment about our coffee as we just recently upgraded to the brand you tasted.
Please think of us again the next time you are in the area.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 23, 2014

I can see why the Berkeley Hotel has the AAA Four Diamond rating! It is charming, delightful and elegant. The staff was very accommodating and professional. The rooms are great! Beds were exceptionally comfortable! One of the most comfortable hotels I've stayed in!

  • Stayed: February 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank 262JenniferW
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 18, 2014

Stayed here for work for 4 nights and was very happy that this hotel was recommended. I was upgraded to a very large room. Large enough for me to workout in! Room service was great and the staff was super helpful with everything! Rooms were clean and a very cozy bed! If you are staying downtown Richmond VA I would recommend this hotel. You will not be sorry!

  • Stayed: February 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Meggan F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tamika Q, General Manager at The Berkeley Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded February 23, 2014

Thank you for taking the time to share your experience. We offer many options for both the business traveler and the leisure traveler. I hope you will visit us again when either brings you back to Richmond.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Richmond hotels
0.7 mi away
Linden Row Inn
Linden Row Inn
#6 of 82 in Richmond
1,069 reviews
0.9 mi away
The Jefferson Hotel
The Jefferson Hotel
#1 of 82 in Richmond
1,290 reviews
0.1 mi away
Omni Richmond Hotel
Omni Richmond Hotel
#12 of 82 in Richmond
1,976 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Hilton Richmond Downtown
0.9 mi away
Quirk Hotel
Quirk Hotel
#9 of 82 in Richmond
753 reviews
0.1 mi away
Courtyard Richmond Downtown
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Berkeley Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Berkeley Hotel

Address: 1200 E Cary St, Richmond, VA 23219-4116
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Virginia > Richmond
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Luxury Hotel in Richmond
#9 Romantic Hotel in Richmond
#23 Business Hotel in Richmond
Price Range: $137 - $236 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — The Berkeley Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 55
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Priceline, TravelClick, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Cheap Tickets, Orbitz, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, Cancelon, HotelQuickly and getaroom.com so you can book your The Berkeley Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Berkeley Hotel Richmond

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing