We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Quaint Hotel in the Heart of Shockoe”
Review of The Berkeley Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
The Berkeley Hotel
Ranked #7 of 81 Hotels in Richmond
Certificate of Excellence
Williamsburg, Virginia
Level Contributor
98 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
“Quaint Hotel in the Heart of Shockoe”
Reviewed December 17, 2013

Stayed at the Berkely as part of company Christmas party. Hotel was closest to the restaurant chosen for the event, and the company hospitality "suite" was in the hotel.
The hotel is small, but the staff is super-freindly. We'd asked for an upper-level room not facing the Tobacco company, and this request was accomodated (staff frequently asking if room was quiet enough). Parking is tricky, there is very little space in front to park just to check in or unload. Parking is available for $8/day behind the Tobacco Company (very short walk).
Room was top floor (level 6) all the way in the back. There are a few rooms with balconies on the 5th and 6th floors. It was larger than I expected; single king, two chairs, couch, desk and chair, and bath (see pics; we did not have a balcony).
The room certainly could use a make-over - more for room and TV arrangement and lighting. Others have noted the TV angle and it's terrible. What's also frustrating is the length of time the TV took to move from one channel to the next with the up and down buttons on the remote. They did have a large selections of channels, however. Note that we were never able to get 4G service for cell phones in the room, so while Wi-Fi was free, I suspect PC browsing would have been slow (via Sprint or Verizon). Lighting was quite poor and the two windows didn't let in much light since the view was a back alley.
There was no minifridge in the room but staff brought one up (needed to keep meds cold). No microwave either, and one bottled water at $4. Glad to have brought most of what I needed. No vending on the top level. There was a room safe and two very nice robes. Closet and drawer space were adequate.
Thermostat was easy to control but as with most hotels, you hear that coming on and off all night. Seemed like it stayed quite warm in the room, we had to turn the temp down twice. Bed was not comfy -pillow top matress had been worn and the pillows also needed replacing.
Bath has been upgraded and is large. Unfortunately, the lighting really is poor there as well (need to replace those awful clear bulbs that blind you with soft white, or brighter Reveal lights with shades), and almost negated the make-up mirror.
As for quiet - yes, it was quiet, until the garbage truck came to the back alley at 3:30 am and spent half an hour doing whatever. Also, while there are two elevators, and they are fast, there doesn't appear to be a service elevator so when housekeeping is moving about there is no room when they have full carts.
We did have brunch at the hotel, late in the morning so not too many folks to compete with. Note this is not serve-yourself buffet style brunch. Again, service was wonderful. I had French toast and turkey sausage, both quite tasty (they don't offer sugar-free syrup but whatever syrup they were serving wasn't overly sweet). My guy had an omlete and potatoes and we still have never figured out how they made the potatoes (looked like fingerling slices; BF said they were not good). Coffee was quite tasty, however, but didn't seem to have the same caffeine punch one feels from regular coffee.View of the street was interesting on our level, which was slightly below the sidewalk.
The location and service are great, I would love to mark it up a notch, and some simple things here could do this.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Burgie64
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tamika Q, General Manager at The Berkeley Hotel, responded to this review, December 30, 2013
Thank you for your comments on our property. It is always productive to hear what our guests are saying so that we may continue to offer a great product. We take your comments to heart and strive to grow from them. I do hope you will stay with us again on your next visit to the area.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

831 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    461
    232
    66
    40
    32
See reviews for
170
341
49
170
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (138)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
100 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
Reviewed December 14, 2013

Very large room for the price. Quiet, nicely furnished-well above the adverage. Arrived on a Monday, planned to eat at the hotel but restaurant closed on Monday. Excellent places to eat right accross the street so no problem. They do not serve breakfast until 7am, this includes room service. We had an early checkout (7:30) so had to pass on eating there again. Bottom line is very nice room but don't count on getting anything to eat there if you arrive on a Monday or if you need to eat before 7. We were surprised that you could not order room service earlier than 7 but verified at the front desk.

Room Tip: Great room don't count on food.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Fludoc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
South Carolina
Level Contributor
219 reviews
44 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 78 helpful votes
Reviewed December 12, 2013

Great find! It began to snow and the roads were getting icy. We jumped off I-95 and were so lucky to find the Berkley. Wonderful staff, warm welcome, valet parking, very nice king room, exceptionally clean, great dinner recommendations, delicious breakfast. Will definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Alleycat0
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Charleston, South Carolina
Level Contributor
124 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
Reviewed November 29, 2013

We always stay at the Berkeley when in Richmond. The rooms are so beautiful and quiet, the service excellent. It's affordable luxury in the Shockoe Slip where there are plenty of choices for dinner and breakfast no matter what time you arrive or depart. There's valet parking available but we park in the city garage just down from the hotel rather than mess with the additional cost and wait for the car.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank eastcoastdiner
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
74 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
Reviewed November 19, 2013

The Berkeley's got a great location in Richmond and a friendly, helpful staff. The place looks and feels classy in an old-school sort of way. It could be almost perfect, but there are few problems, perhaps not within the hotel's capacity to control.

First problem is if you have a room fronting Cary street. Across the road is a place called Tobacco Company which attracts a lot of drunks. When they spill out into the streets at midnight and beyond, they spend a lot of time doing what idiot college kids do when they're drunk. They bellow to let you know they're drunk, and the female of the species lets out a lot of loud, "Wooooos!" This happened both Friday and Saturday while we were there. Now, it's not within the hotel's control to shut up the drunken sods from next door, but soundproofing windows is. Ours also felt a bit drafty, which may have been the source of problem number two.

If you like beef Stroganoff, you would have loved our room. It was filled from 3 a.m. on with the aroma of beef stroganoff. Very powerful. Woke us up from the sleep we'd only recently gotten back to after the drunk rutting rituals from Tobacco Company had finally wound down. We're not sure how the smell was getting into our room, but somebody's grease vent was definitely venting into our space.

Others have mentioned the small rooms. They are small, but OK. If you watch TV, you'd need a neck with a 90-degree angle in it to watch from the bed in the room we had, as the TV was located on a wall perpendicular to the direction of the headboard. We don't watch TV in bed, so this didn't bother us.

Room Tip: nothing fronting Cary street! The drunks coming out of Tobacco factory, across the street, at 2 am w...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank TetanusCreek
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tamika Q, General Manager at The Berkeley Hotel, responded to this review, November 21, 2013
Thank you for your review of our property. We are located within walking distance to many area restaurants and attractions in a lively section of the city. Our unique set up includes 55 well apointed rooms with many different layouts to choose from. We hope you will come back to visit us again when in the area.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Level Contributor
89 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
Reviewed November 17, 2013

I had not been to the Berkeley in a while and it just gets better and better. It is a great location and you would walk to numerous restaurants but why would you. The food in the Berkeley is great and not like a normal hotel restaurant. The hotel has the amenities of a larger property but the great feel of a boutique hotel. As a person who has spent hundreds of nights in hotels, I would recommend the Berkeley to anyone. The doorman and desk help are especially helpful.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank exptrave101
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Maryland
Level Contributor
63 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 67 helpful votes
Reviewed November 10, 2013

A boutique type of hotel in the Shockoe Slip area of Richmond, VA. We stayed for one night.
Room/amenities:
Our room was clean, but small. The lighting was somewhat dim. We slept fairly well -- the mattress was reasonably comfortable (better than the Omni's). And I did particularly like the pillows and the bed linens which might 'look' like other hotels, but IMO these were a standard above and very nice. The bathroom was very clean and nicely updated. We were facing the back of the hotel, which I'm fairly sure helped with the noise level since the hotel faces The Tobacco Company Restaurant/Bar (which had some boisterous customers outside) Saturday evening. The room has a safe. The toiletries were average. The parking situation in this area is just not great -- even with advance planning and/or use of valet, and IMO, it's just a hassle & expensive.
Staff: We were greeted at check in by a friendly front desk. We found the bellman to be helpful and friendly too. Unfortunately, the checkout process was not as smooth. When I approached the desk, no one was there. The bell staff told me that the person had stepped outside around the corner to assist another customer and "would be right back." Well, I waited and of course, a line grew behind me, all of us waiting to checkout. I don't usually mind a short wait, but it did take awhile, which caused me to keep a number of other people waiting. Insofar as the restaurant goes, I would not recommend it. Four of us ordered 4 different meals and no one really enjoyed any of the dishes, which was so disappointing because we know there are some really good restaurants in the area, but we wanted to try something new.
Would I stay here again? Maybe. The bottom line is that it did not feel like a 4 Diamond Hotel.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
Helpful?
Thank CLDLSLCL
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tamika Q, General Manager at The Berkeley Hotel, responded to this review, November 12, 2013
Thank you for your honest opinion of our property. I apologize for the checkout process that left you expecting more. I am not sure what happened that would take our agent away for a long period of time. We are making some changes in the restaurant, so please come back and try us again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Richmond hotels
0.7 mi away
Linden Row Inn
Linden Row Inn
#6 of 81 in Richmond
1,013 reviews
0.1 mi away
Omni Richmond Hotel
Omni Richmond Hotel
#11 of 81 in Richmond
1,855 reviews
0.8 mi away
The Jefferson Hotel
The Jefferson Hotel
#1 of 81 in Richmond
1,224 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.9 mi away
Quirk Hotel
Quirk Hotel
#9 of 81 in Richmond
670 reviews
0.5 mi away
Hilton Richmond Downtown
0.4 mi away
Crowne Plaza Richmond Downtown
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Berkeley Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Berkeley Hotel

Property: The Berkeley Hotel
Address: 1200 E Cary St, Richmond, VA 23219-4116
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Virginia > Richmond
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Luxury Hotel in Richmond
#9 Romantic Hotel in Richmond
#23 Business Hotel in Richmond
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — The Berkeley Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 55
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TravelClick, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets, Travelocity, Orbitz, TripOnline SA, Priceline, Cancelon, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your The Berkeley Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Berkeley Hotel Richmond

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing