We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Real flavor of Richmond”
Review of The Berkeley Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
The Berkeley Hotel
Ranked #8 of 82 Hotels in Richmond
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed May 21, 2013

The Jefferson is admittedly the 'Grande Dame' among Richmond hotels but the Berkeley is in a more interesting and lively neighborhood, and is more affordable besides. Visit the Jefferson to see the breathtaking public spaces but stay at the Berkeley!

The Berkeley is located in the Shockoe Slip neighborhood, which has many restaurants, bars, boutiques and even a deli/market adjacent. It's a quaint old neighborhood and eminently walkable. You can eat--and drink--to your heart's content without worrying about driving afterward. Check out TA's Richmond restaurant reviews for some good suggestions.

Right out your front door, follow cobblestoned Cary Street down the hill, past Shockoe Slip and into the area called Shockoe Bottom where you should switch over to Main Street and continue past the train station to one of the liveliest night-life areas in the region.

During the day, Thomas Jefferson's stunning Capitol Building is also only three blocks away (in the other direction) and well worth the visit. Dating from 1785, it is the first neo-classical building in the New World and home to the oldest continuously elected law-making body in the Western Hemisphere.

The Berkeley's staff is gracious, charming and always helpful. Rooms are reasonably spacious, comfortable and clean. And there is free wifi thank god! Do note that during weekend nights there is a lot of activity in the area especially on the other side of the train station. Take an upper-floor room and/or one on the back of the hotel if this is an issue for you. Cary Street and Main Street get to hopping especially when the weather's good!

Spring for one of the upper-floor suites with balcony if you can. There is a gym across the street where guests have complimentary access to a fully equipped health club.

If you do drive, check out Carytown, Windsor Farms, the Fan and Church Hill. And of course the Virginia Museum of Fine Arts--one of Richmond's best-kept secrets.

BTW, you can park your car overnight in a nearby covered parking garage for $5 and save the valet fee if you like. Also, there are always cabs across the street at the Omni.

Room Tip: Spring for one of the upper-floor suites with balcony if you can.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank ConradDC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tamika Q, General Manager at The Berkeley Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded June 9, 2013

Thank you so much for the glowing reccommendation and all of the wonderful information. We truly appreciate the 5-star review. I hope you will come back and see us again soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (966)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

757 - 763 of 966 reviews

Reviewed May 5, 2013

A great hotel located in a very delightful area. Between restaurants, bars, and strolling in a very historic area you can have a wonderful stay and return to a great room to relax. The location is perfect!

  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank booksVa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jim F, General Manager at The Berkeley Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded May 10, 2013

booksVa,
Thank you very much for the 5 star review of the Berkeley Hotel! Your positive comments about our location and room quality are very much appreciated!
We look forward to seeing you again soon when your travels bring you to the Richmond area.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 28, 2013

I had the opportunity to spend one Sunday night here at the Berkeley using a Groupon voucher. I was pleasantly surprised with my spacious, lovely room that had a glorious balcony overlooking the cobblestoned Carey Street. This hotel is in a great location where one can walk to the downtown . I enjoyed walking around the Capital and Shockoe Slip area which features great eateries including "Rock Bottom" Pizza. I felt perfectly safe in this area since I was alone.
The Hotel staff were very helpful and efficient since I had a question about my bill. Another great feature was free access to the YMCA facilites in a nearby building.
Only problem was parking.; If I didn't use their valet parking, I had the choice of a parking garage blocks away or park on the street. Fortunately, weekends one can park on the street free. Week days are 2 hour parking meters.

Room Tip: Ask for a balcony room overlooking the street.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled solo
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Traveler46236
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jim F, General Manager at The Berkeley Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded May 10, 2013

Traveler46236,
Thank you for taking the time to review the Berkeley Hotel. I sincerely appreciate your kind words about the quality of the room, our location and the helpful and efficient staff! I'm glad to hear you were able to enjoy the nearby YMCA as well. I understand your concern with parking but I'm happy to read you were able to find parking.
Thanks again!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 24, 2013

This European style hotel located in the historic district of Richmond VA (the Shockoe Slip neighborhood) was recommended, among others, by the service representative at the Convention Center. Our choice proved to be very wise.
This elegant hotel is within walking distance of the “Canal Walk”, Belle Island, Tredegar Iron Works, the State Capitol and government buildings enclave. It is very close to many good restaurants and you can benefit from free street parking on weekends, if lucky enough to find an empty space.
The staffs were very pleasant. We appreciated the free WI –Fi and the business center.
We stayed on the sixth floor. The room was of fair size, with high ceilings, large windows, decorated with good taste. We made good use of the private terrace with views on the Canal side. The bed and sheeting were very comfortable.
On the down side, our room was located across from the popular Tobacco Company Restaurant and Club which is very busy especially on weekends. Unfortunately their customers are noisy late into the night. It is best to get a room that does not face the Cary Street.
We highly recommend this charming hotel.

  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank ClaudeC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jim F, General Manager at The Berkeley Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded May 14, 2013

ClaudeC,
Thank you for the 5 star review! Your positive comments are very much appreciated, and we thank you for the "highly recommend!"
We hope to see you again,

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 22, 2013

This was an elegant, well located hotel. Valet parking ($20 a night), full dining room, complimentary coffee, excellent location, friendly and sophisticated staff. There is a starbucks right across the street, which came in handy.

  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank lmpulfer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jim F, General Manager at The Berkeley Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded May 14, 2013

Greetings Impulfer,
Thank you for taking the time to review the Berkeley Hotel. Your comments about our location, amenities, and staff are always wonderful to read.
Thank you again, and we look forward to seeing you again.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 12, 2013

We spent 3 nights at the property in a 3rd floor room with a balcony on Cary St. Being right across from a large, popular bar/restaurant we were afraid it would be noisy at night, but we never heard a thing. The bed was comfortable, the room clean and spacious. Can't ask for much more from a hotel.

The bar and restaurant staff was great. Ken Wall, their food & beverage manager, is a great guy and really works to make sure you have a wonderful experience. Their chef, Carly Herring, produces some AMAZING meals. Make sure you have dinner in their restaurant, it's a hidden gem.

  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Michael P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tamika Q, General Manager at The Berkeley Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded April 22, 2013

Thank you so much for your kind words. We strive to ensure all guests have a stay as enjoyable as yours. Ken and Carly are definately valued employees and I am glad they could contribute to your experience. We hope you will continue to stay with us when in Richmond.

Best Regards,

T.Quarles

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 11, 2013

I would tell everyone about this wonderful hotel, and in a Great area...the staff was great and the room and resturant was the best.
The next time I come back to the area I will be there again,and I will tell my friends about this hotel.

Room Tip: They did not have a gym,but we were able to go across the street. Great!!!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Annskurka
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jim F, General Manager at The Berkeley Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded May 14, 2013

Hi Annskurka!
Thank you for such a nice review of the Berkeley Hotel. It's always great to see wonderful reviews regarding our room quality, staff service and our dining room. I'm glad you found the off property gym to your liking.
Thank you for telling your friends!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Richmond hotels
0.7 mi away
Linden Row Inn
Linden Row Inn
#6 of 82 in Richmond
1,092 reviews
0.9 mi away
The Jefferson Hotel
The Jefferson Hotel
#1 of 82 in Richmond
1,336 reviews
0.5 mi away
Hilton Richmond Downtown
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.9 mi away
Quirk Hotel
Quirk Hotel
#9 of 82 in Richmond
802 reviews
0.1 mi away
Omni Richmond Hotel
Omni Richmond Hotel
#16 of 82 in Richmond
2,059 reviews
0.1 mi away
Courtyard Richmond Downtown
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Berkeley Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Berkeley Hotel

Address: 1200 E Cary St, Richmond, VA 23219-4116
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Virginia > Richmond
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#5 Luxury Hotel in Richmond
#9 Romantic Hotel in Richmond
#23 Business Hotel in Richmond
Price Range: $141 - $248 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — The Berkeley Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 55
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, TravelClick, Expedia, Travelocity, Priceline, Orbitz and HotelQuickly so you can book your The Berkeley Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Berkeley Hotel Richmond

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing