We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Location & Staff if Small Rooms”
Review of The Berkeley Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
The Berkeley Hotel
Ranked #6 of 81 Hotels in Richmond
Certificate of Excellence
Fairfax, Virginia
Level Contributor
37 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
“Great Location & Staff if Small Rooms”
Reviewed January 21, 2013

Terrific location. Attentive staff. Room was pretty, well maintained, clean with a really comfortable bed & great pillows. The room (a premium king) was very small. Fine for an overnight but wouldn't have wanted to have tried to stay there with my husband for more than a night or two

Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank jackie b
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

836 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    466
    232
    66
    40
    32
See reviews for
173
341
49
171
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (138)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
20 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed January 9, 2013

We stayed at The Berkeley the Saturday night before New Year’s Eve in a Terrace View room. The trip was mainly a get-out-of-town overnighter to celebrate the holidays. The hotel has a lot of character, much more than the chains, and it’s surrounded by the restaurants and shops of Shockoe Slip. That was just the walk, drink, shop, dine, and drink some more weekend we wanted.

I enjoyed the free WiFi for my iPad. The service of the staff made us feel like honored guests. The room was clean and comfortable. I used the valet service for parking the car, which was fast and convenient. Valet service allows for unlimited in/out of the parking garage – not that we drove anywhere else for that one evening – but if you stay for more than one night, that’s handy when you want to go to Carytown or up to Shortpump.

I will stay again. This is the home-base hotel if you want to stroll around downtown Richmond.

Room Tip: Terrace View room is high enough that you don't hear street noise.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank AuthorGreg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Colorado Springs, Colorado
Level Contributor
53 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
Reviewed December 29, 2012 via mobile

We very much enjoyed our stay however once we arrived at our room we noticed several hairs on our pillows that did not belong to us. The front desk sent us new pillows but I was kind of grossed out. Also, FYI, we valet parked our car for $21/day but if you walk two blocks down the hotel parks your car in a covered parking garage that is $4 per day. We walked to dinner and saw our car less than two blocks away. Just in case you are looking to save some money.

  • Stayed December 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Travlerfor2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
dennypppp, General Manager at The Berkeley Hotel, responded to this review, January 2, 2013
Thank you for your overall 4 star review. Regarding cleanliness, please accept our sincere apologies that we did not upon arrival meet our housekeeping standards. We inspect all of our guestrooms on a daily basis and spend a considerable amount of time training our staff. We were pleased to see that your concerns were immediately addressed.
Please come back to stay with us soon. Thank you, Denny Pierce General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Level Contributor
84 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
Reviewed December 26, 2012

We had a very nice stay at this small boutique quality hotel in the Shockoe Slip area of historic downtown Richmond. The hotel is located within easy walking distance of the State Capitol and the historic canal surveyed by George Washington.

In touring the State Capitol you will see a full-size bronze copy of Houdon's George Washington statue. Washington was a very big man for his time 6'3" with broad shoulders.

We also very much enjoyed our hiking over at Belle Island which is only about 1 mile from hotel and you also explore the Trafagur Iron works.

We had a very nice dinner in the hotel restaurant and the breakfast is also worth your while.

The hotel provides complenary valet parking and all staff members where very pleasant and attentive.

The price for the quality is very reasonable and we plan to stay on our next visit to historic Richmond.

The hotel is also very close too many good restaurants that you can just walk to.

Enjoy!

Room Tip: Get a room with a front view where you can see river and downtown etc.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank GordonFScott
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Falls Church, Virginia, United States
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed December 13, 2012

My husband and I stayed at the Berkeley Hotel for our 10th anniversary and we were treated like royalty. The bed linen is so soft and comfortable you don't want to get up and there are pillows galore. The coffee is exquisite, there are big soft bath robes (that you can purchase, if you want). The dining room is quaint and the food, beyond explanation, other than Excellent! Every dish is carefully and delicilously prepared and makes you feel you're in heaven. Your mouth and tastebuds will be most pleased! I highly recommend The Berkely to everyone looking to escape for a weekend or more. Also, my compliments to the manager, Denny, his Chef and Staff who just put the icing on top of the cake!!! This was by far the best hotel experience we have ever had! See you again soon Berkely!!!

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Lorette B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Falls Church VA
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed December 10, 2012

It is to the point not knowing what to select as your meal. The rooms and the atmosphere are so relaxing you do not want checkout time coming about! The Berekley is my choice in RICHMOND to stay always!!

Room Tip: Weekends are great times for those looking for what the area and night life have to offer.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Leroy B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington DC, District of Columbia
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed December 7, 2012

I have stayed in many hotels in Virginia but none of them live up to the quality and superior staff that the Berkeley has. There is no other hotel that has this charm and southern hospitality. Their Front Desk is marvelous I have never met such a courteous staff that goes above and beyond any expectation that I might have. The bellmen know what you need with out even asking. If I could duplicate this hotel, I would. I have never had such a delightful experience in my life. Trust me you will love this place. Enjoy!

Room Tip: Ask for a terrace room
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Charles E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Richmond hotels
0.7 mi away
Linden Row Inn
Linden Row Inn
#7 of 81 in Richmond
1,015 reviews
0.1 mi away
Omni Richmond Hotel
Omni Richmond Hotel
#11 of 81 in Richmond
1,859 reviews
0.8 mi away
The Jefferson Hotel
The Jefferson Hotel
#1 of 81 in Richmond
1,229 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.9 mi away
Quirk Hotel
Quirk Hotel
#9 of 81 in Richmond
671 reviews
0.5 mi away
Hilton Richmond Downtown
0.4 mi away
Crowne Plaza Richmond Downtown
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Berkeley Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Berkeley Hotel

Property: The Berkeley Hotel
Address: 1200 E Cary St, Richmond, VA 23219-4116
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Virginia > Richmond
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Luxury Hotel in Richmond
#9 Romantic Hotel in Richmond
#23 Business Hotel in Richmond
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — The Berkeley Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 55
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Travelocity, Cheap Tickets, Hotwire, TravelClick, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your The Berkeley Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Berkeley Hotel Richmond

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing