We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“property getting old”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Omni Richmond Hotel
Ranked #12 of 81 Hotels in Richmond
Certificate of Excellence
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Level Contributor
87 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
“property getting old”
Reviewed November 14, 2013

Having been in the Omni on numerous occasions, I find the place getting old and less of a first class hotel. I sure hope how Omni takes care of this hotel is not a reflection of how they are going to take care of the Homestead and the Grove Park Inn, recent historical properties they bought. While the hotel staff was friendly, the carpet is wearing out, the rooms are getting ragged and the overall condition of the property is declining. Attached is a photo of the carpet.

Room Tip: I would not advise staying here but if you do, stay in a corner toom.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank exptrave101
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
OmniMgr, Manager at Omni Richmond Hotel, responded to this review, November 22, 2013
We appreciate your loyalty to our hotel and regret that during your most recent stay your felt the hotel was in need of some updates. We are happy to report that we will soon undergo a revitalization process. We continue to take great pride in our service and our property and hope that you will return soon to find that comments such as yours have been heard and changes have taken place to improve the experiences of our guests.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,833 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    946
    520
    230
    92
    45
See reviews for
341
441
107
762
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (194)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Orlando, United States
1 review
Reviewed November 13, 2013

Join the Omni Loyalty program first - it's free and you get a room upgrade and free wifi in the room. You also get free Starbucks for every morning, delivered to your door, that you stay at the hotel. Parking is expensive, there is a $5 garage across the street.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Omni Hotels & Resorts

Helpful?
Thank Gurinder V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oxford, NC
Level Contributor
278 reviews
65 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 146 helpful votes
Reviewed November 13, 2013

The Omni is in the best location in Richmond, bar none. There are many excellent restaurants nearby all of which are in walking distance. The best bar in town, Sine, is just down the street. The rooms are well furnished with plenty of space. The bathrooms are large. The best rooms are odd numbered on the higher floors. The hotel is beginning to show some wear and tear but this is trumped by the location. The only negative was the breakfast buffet was just okay given the fact that the eggs were not fresh and the grits were cold and lumpy. The River City Diner near the Market is a better choice. Overall good hotel.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank NCSmokey
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
St. Petersburg, United States
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed November 13, 2013

While customer service appears to be on the decline, my experience here was just the opposite. I encountered a slight problem which was addressed immediately, followed up with a phone call and a complimentary gift for me and every one in my party. The customer service was GREAT…The staff was very polite and very accommodating.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Omni Hotels & Resorts

Helpful?
Thank Jenee S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Albuquerque
Level Contributor
26 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed November 12, 2013 via mobile

The staff at the Omni is extremely friendly and welcoming. The location is convenient to many restaurants offering a diverse set of dining options. I walked 5 min to the River City Diner for a great breakfast. The access to the YMCA in the same complex was a huge plus. The Y isn't the nicest gym by any means, but trumps any hotel fitness center.

Stayed November 2013, traveled on business
Helpful?
Thank bonesdiferous
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed November 12, 2013

I recently stayed at the Richmond Omni for two nights and it was great. The staff is super friendly and beyond accommodating, which was great as we had a 1 year old with us. His hotel is really clean, super convenient, friendly staff, has a nice restaurant within as well as a Starbucks, river views and right downtown. We went on Priceline as we were driving here and our bids were accepted both times for nearly half price which was a bonus to say the least! I would recommend to anyone to stay here.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Elaine E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Montgomery Village, Maryland, United States
1 review
Reviewed November 11, 2013

Wonderful experience with being at the Omni hotel. I would recommend family and friends to visit the Omni on your next vacation or get away. I have been at three Omni properties and plan on visit more of the Omni. All the staff members are friendly and very helpful. Go Omni!

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Omni Hotels & Resorts

Helpful?
Thank Lanette W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Richmond hotels
0.8 mi away
The Jefferson Hotel
The Jefferson Hotel
#1 of 81 in Richmond
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,211 reviews
0.1 mi away
The Berkeley Hotel
The Berkeley Hotel
#7 of 81 in Richmond
4.5 of 5 bubbles 804 reviews
0.5 mi away
Hilton Richmond Downtown
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 mi away
Linden Row Inn
Linden Row Inn
#8 of 81 in Richmond
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,003 reviews
0.9 mi away
Quirk Hotel
Quirk Hotel
#6 of 81 in Richmond
4.5 of 5 bubbles 639 reviews
13.6 mi away
Hilton Richmond Hotel & Spa / Short Pump
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Omni Richmond Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Omni Richmond Hotel

Property: Omni Richmond Hotel
Address: 100 S 12th St, Richmond, VA 23219-4012
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Virginia > Richmond
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Business Hotel in Richmond
#6 Family Hotel in Richmond
#7 Luxury Hotel in Richmond
#8 Romantic Hotel in Richmond
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Omni Richmond Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 361
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Ideally located in the heart of everything that makes Richmond the truly special destination city that it is, Omni Richmond Hotel invites you to experience refined Southern hospitality in an elegant contemporary yet refined and relaxing setting. Nestled within the historic and vibrant Shockoe Slip district, our guests enjoy the timeless architecture and gas lamp-lined brick streets beckoning from a time gone by. Alive with the vibrant sounds, sights and flavors of the many first-class dining and entertainment venues, the Slip offers guests the true taste of Richmond. The nation's most storied and treasured historical sites and attractions are also just mere minutes away, leaving a remarkable and unforgettable impression on all who visit those cherished sites. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Omni Hotels & Resorts, Booking.com, Orbitz, Hotwire, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Priceline, Cancelon, HotelsforEveryone, TripOnline SA, getaroom.com, HotelQuickly and HotelsClick so you can book your Omni Richmond Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Omni Richmond Hotel Richmond
Omni Hotel Richmond
Richmond Omni Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing