We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good Hotel and Great Location”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Omni Richmond Hotel
Ranked #16 of 82 Hotels in Richmond
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed April 29, 2013

We stayed at the Omni for a wedding weekend. The hotel is centrally located in downtown Richmond. Its a very quick and easy walk to the action down on 17th street. The 17th Street Farmers Market is great and the restaurants and bars that surround were really wonderful too.
The Omni staff were amazing and helpful. Espcially, Cherita who kindly chatted with us in the lobby during Champagne Happy Hour on Friday afternoon. Yes, you read that corectly the hotel hosts a Champagne Happy Hour every friday afternoon. We had a ball. There is a Starbucks and an Italian restaurant in the lobby as well, if Champagne isnt your style. My friends and I frequented the pool and sun deck on Saturday all day. The sun deck was outfitted very simply, but it did the job.
My only criticisms are that our room smelled moldy because the bathroom has no fan or ventilation. The shower is steamy that the bathroom gets very wet. Without proper ventilation the room gets a moldy smell. Also, the cleaning staff did not clean our room on Saturday. We had seen them in the hall, but they skipped our room. We had to call down stairs and ask to have housekeeping come up. It was annoying, but housekeeping did eventually come and everything was fine.
In conclusion, if you are headed to the Richmond area and you need a standard hotel with a great location I would highly suggest The Omni its great.

  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ChicagoAly
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
OmniMgr, Manager at Omni Richmond Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded May 7, 2013

We appreciate all of your comments from your recent visit and are glad you enjoyed the Friday evening Happy Hour. We do apologize for the oversight with housekeeping and are glad it was resolved. We will be sure to share your comments with our housekeeping team to make sure they follow up on all rooms to make sure they have been serviced. Thank you for taking the time to suggest us on TripAdvisor and we hope you will stay with us again soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (2,040)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

1,695 - 1,701 of 2,040 reviews

Reviewed April 25, 2013

The above reference hotel is located near the Capital and popular Shocko Slip and the Shocko Bottom area. Located across from the popular restaurant Tobacco Company and just a few blocks from another great restaurant The Hard Shell. We had a little problem with our reservation but front desk manager did a great job in resolving the matter.

  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Al G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
OmniMgr, Manager at Omni Richmond Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded April 26, 2013

We are glad you enjoyed the Omni Richmond's location in historic downtown on Shockoe Slip. We regret that there was an issue with your reservation but are glad to read that it was quickly resolved. If you return, please do not hesitate to let us know if there is anything we can do to assist with planning your stay.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 21, 2013

We booked this hotel based upon trip advisor reviews and we had a wonderful stay. We booked on Tingo.com and received a very reasonable room rate and the hotel provided us an extra discount. We meet the general manager: Holly and congratulated her with the wonderful reviews. The front desk staff: Laura was very accomodating. There is a beautiful lobby and one afternoon there was complimentary champagne or lemonade and fresh fruit.

We had a gorgeous room on the 15th floor with a view of the capital building. The room was immaculately clean. The king bed with oversized pillows was very comfortable. There is a in room safe and stocked refrig. The only negative was we had an adjoining room and the room next to us have very loud guests that you could hear every single word. Although the room door closed loudly that sound did not permeate into the room.

The hotel has a very nice warm indoor pool that has receding roof allowing fresh air into the pool area. There are pool towels available. There is a sun deck outside the pool area.

There is valet parking for about $21 per day or a much more frugal option is self parking across the street for about $4-$6 per day (overnight). There is also a complementary shuttle that will take you to the local sites. The hotel is in perfect location: there are multiple restaurants all within walking distance as well as the historic sites of Richmond are also within walking distance.

Richmond is absolutely a beautiful city: we walked to the capital building and had a wonderful walking tour lead by Martha. The walk to Museum of the Confederacy and White House of the Confederacy really wasn't too far. The new city hall has an observation deck that provided breathtaking views. The old city hall is beautiful inside and out. Tredegar, Hollywood Cemetery and Chimborazo Hospital are beautiful sites but too far to walk to. One block up there is a bell tower and chimes that go off every 1/2 hour and a canal barge with donkey move in a circular pattern within the bell tower: really cool. We also walked along the canal to Brown Island and Belle Island and took the boat tour ($6 per person: great value).

This hotel had it all, wonderful service, comfortable room and fabulous location: definitely a wonderful place to stay.

  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank ontheroadagain33
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 20, 2013 via mobile

Stayed here after booking through another third party site and was pleased with the stay. The hotel was walking distance to some really cool restaurants in a historic district. Staff was nice. The room was nice, although a bit small. Would recommend this hotel to anyone staying in the Richmond area.

  • Stayed: May 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ddc4ua
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
OmniMgr, Manager at Omni Richmond Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded April 23, 2013

Thank you for recommending the Omni Richmond Hotel to those traveling to the area. We are glad you were pleased with your experience and we hope for a future opportunity to have you as our guest.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 17, 2013

The Omni Richmond is a nice hotel with a good location in down town RIchmond. It is convenient to restaurants and bars within walking distance of the hotel. Parking is at the hotel, by valet or there is a convenient garage across the street which is cheaper. The Hotel restaurant / bar is nothing to write home about but doesn't matter because there is a lot in the local area to do and see. The room was nice and clean. There was some minor mildew in the shower area which is probably the reason I did not give this a higher review.

Upon arriving, there was a pleasant greeting by the hotel desk clerk. She was informative about the Select Guest program and this is worth while as it provides free wi-fi services. I was disappointed to learn that the hotel shuttle service is only offered on week days. I was going to a theater show further down town and it would have been nice to have this service for weekend travelers instead of havign to drive and worry about parking. I was also impressed upon a rrival with the hotel concierge who was welcoming guests with a glass of champagne. It was a nice touch and made the welcome even better!

Overall, the hotel is nice and location is good. I would recommend a stay at the Omni. The rooms were nice but mostly the staff was pleasant and made the stay nicer.

Room Tip: If elevator noice bothers you, ask for a room that is not next to the elevators as there was a noise...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank SGDelaware
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
OmniMgr, Manager at Omni Richmond Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded April 19, 2013

Thank you for writing a review about your recent stay at the Omni Richmond. We are glad you had a great stay and appreciate your kind compliments of our staff. We will share your suggestion regarding a weekend shuttle with our Executive Team to consider for a future enhancement to our service. If you return to Richmond, we hope you will once again consider us for your accommodations.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 16, 2013 via mobile

From the gentleman who holds the door to the front desk, smiles are abundant, rooms are good, beds are soft and there are ample pillows, shower is screaming hot.. What else can,i ask for a 48" plasma tv, oh yeah they have that too... First time at omni, hope rest of country is the same, i am sold

  • Stayed: April 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Doug K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
OmniMgr, Manager at Omni Richmond Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded April 17, 2013

We are so glad that your first experience at Omni was a great one. Thank you for sharing all of your complimentary words about your stay and we look forward to a future opportunity to serve you.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 14, 2013

I cannot express how disappointed I was in the hotel. I found it depressing and on the dirty side. Dirty doors, carpet not in the best shape, scrapes on the doors, etc. There is a very small lobby, but it is really dark (dark wood), old fashioned furniture. Much different from the lobby at the Mariott, which we visited frequently, near the convention center. The rooms are ok. If you ask for a minifridge, they will bring one. Plenty of towels and of good quality. The restaurant across from Starbucks is mediocre at best. Starbucks in the lobby doesn't open until 7am, which, coming from New York, is disappointing. I would not recommend this hotel or stay here again. I expected so much more. On the positive side, there is a nice pool with a sitting area.

  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank doctoradler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
OmniMgr, Manager at Omni Richmond Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded April 19, 2013

We are also disappointed to find out that we did not meet your expectations during your time at our hotel. Please accept our sincerest apologies and we hope you will consider giving us a second chance to provide you with the great stay that you deserve.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Richmond hotels
0.5 mi away
Hilton Richmond Downtown
0.1 mi away
The Berkeley Hotel
The Berkeley Hotel
#8 of 82 in Richmond
943 reviews
0.8 mi away
The Jefferson Hotel
The Jefferson Hotel
#1 of 82 in Richmond
1,313 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 mi away
Linden Row Inn
Linden Row Inn
#6 of 82 in Richmond
1,078 reviews
6.5 mi away
The Westin Richmond
The Westin Richmond
#4 of 82 in Richmond
759 reviews
0.3 mi away
Delta Hotels by Marriott Richmond Downtown
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Omni Richmond Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Omni Richmond Hotel

Address: 100 S 12th St, Richmond, VA 23219-4012
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Virginia > Richmond
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Business Hotel in Richmond
#6 Family Hotel in Richmond
#7 Luxury Hotel in Richmond
#8 Romantic Hotel in Richmond
Price Range: $143 - $263 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Omni Richmond Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 361
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Ideally located in the heart of everything that makes Richmond the truly special destination city that it is, Omni Richmond Hotel invites you to experience refined Southern hospitality in an elegant contemporary yet refined and relaxing setting. Nestled within the historic and vibrant Shockoe Slip district, our guests enjoy the timeless architecture and gas lamp-lined brick streets beckoning from a time gone by. Alive with the vibrant sounds, sights and flavors of the many first-class dining and entertainment venues, the Slip offers guests the true taste of Richmond. The nation's most storied and treasured historical sites and attractions are also just mere minutes away, leaving a remarkable and unforgettable impression on all who visit those cherished sites. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Omni Hotels & Resorts, Booking.com, Hotwire, Hotels.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Priceline, Orbitz, HotelsforEveryone, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, HotelQuickly, getaroom.com and Evoline ltd so you can book your Omni Richmond Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Omni Richmond Hotel Richmond
Omni Hotel Richmond
Richmond Omni Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing