We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Best trained staff”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Omni Richmond Hotel
Ranked #12 of 81 Hotels in Richmond
Certificate of Excellence
Palm Beach, Florida
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Best trained staff”
Reviewed February 26, 2013

This hotel has perhaps the best trained staff for customer satisfaction of any hotel I have stayed at. Everyone, and I mean down to the most unsung employee, was courteous, friendly, accommodating. Service was instantaneous. When we called for our car, it was there before we were. When I had a minor issue with our door lock, it was repair instantly. Checking and checkout were painless. The shower heads were the best. Every shower was awake up massage. The hotel is well located for pleasant walking to the river, to government architectural charm, to quaint restaurants and nightlife. The one negative was the hotel restaurant. We did not eat there despite an adequate menu as it was so uninteresting in appearance and empty of customers whenever we went by it. The hotel did have a more than adequate Starbucks that served brilliantly for breakfast.
Except for this, the hotel stay was comfortable, pleasant and reasonably priced.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank docdhs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
OmniMgr, Manager at Omni Richmond Hotel, responded to this review, February 27, 2013
We are glad you had a great stay at the Omni Richmond and are thrilled to read your compliments of our associates. Thank you for sharing your experience on TripAdvisor and we hope you will return soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,898 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    981
    538
    237
    95
    47
See reviews for
358
454
109
788
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (196)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Virginia Beach, Virginia, United States
Level 4 Contributor
40 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed February 25, 2013

I am in Richmond every year attending a Legislative conference and always stay at the Omni, form valet to bellhop, many of these employees have been her for years. Easy check in prior to arrival and they can usually accommodate early check in as well. This is great as my meetings usually begin at 10 am on my day of arrival. Rooms are adequately appointed and by signing up for their rewards program, you receive complimentary beverages in the morning for up to two and free in room internet. While it is certainly not inexpensive, location is just two block from the Capitol/General Assembly. Although most of the young Pages for the House and Senate are housed at the hotel during session, you rarely see them and when you do, they are wonderful young people. The breakfast buffet is a little pricey but there are many option within the hotel/business facility for those in a hurry and who do not want to spend $20+ for the buffet. While not a big deal to me, there is a Starbucks also.

Room Tip: Always good to get a view of Mr. Jeffersons house if available. You will be overlooking other build...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Barry N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
OmniMgr, Manager at Omni Richmond Hotel, responded to this review, February 26, 2013
We are thrilled to read that year after year, you have a great experience at the Omni Richmond Hotel. Thank you for allowing us to read about your stays and we look forward to welcoming you back next year!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lynchburg, Virginia
Level 5 Contributor
38 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
Reviewed February 25, 2013

Over the weekend of February 22-24, 2013 my wife and I attended the Virginia Society Sons of the American Revolution Annual meetings, which were held at the Omni Hotel in Richmond, VA. From the moment we arrived the staff was efficient, polite, and welcoming. Our check in was done in moments and the we were quickly in our spacious and comfortable room relaxing. Going out to explore, I found that the hotel also contained a complex of restaurants and shops as well as a Wells Fargo Bank. The Sons of the American Revolution meeting rooms were spacious and very comfortable. For the Friday evening Board of Managers business meeting, we were housed in a large room overlooking an atrium, the furnishing were standard but of high quality. Our Saturday morning general membership meeting was conducted in a spacious room on the first floor off the main lobby. This room had a ante-room where registration was held for the attendees and there was also an area where coffee and comfort foods could be dispersed. The food for the Saturday evening banquet was excellent and the service was quick and professional. Overall the event staff at the Omni should be commended for the great work they did in support of our meetings.

Another plus for the Omni was it location in downtown Richmond. The area around the hotel was filled with fine dining opportunities. My wife and I particularly liked the Tobacco Factory which was directly across the street from the hotel. The Omni is also well positioned for those looking to tour the Virginia Capital or Museum of the Confederacy.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Mark D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
OmniMgr, Manager at Omni Richmond Hotel, responded to this review, February 26, 2013
We are glad you had a great series of meetings at the Omni Richmond. It is nice to read your compliments of our event services and we are thankful that you took the time to share on TripAdvisor. If you return to Richmond, we hope you will once again consider staying with us!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lynchburg,Virginia
Level 5 Contributor
73 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
Reviewed February 24, 2013 via mobile

Got a good deal with Priceline. Definitely recommend joining their membership rewards program. You instantly get some upgrades such as upper floor rooms, free morning coffee etc. Walls are thin so ask for room away from elevator, so ask for a "quiet room". This is an older hotel. Room was average but nice. Cleanliness was average. Service was outstanding. Asked for extra pillows, they were here in 10 minutes. Didn't use valet parking. Public parking across street much cheaper.

  • Stayed February 2013
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
Helpful?
Thank Legendsingray
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
OmniMgr, Manager at Omni Richmond Hotel, responded to this review, February 26, 2013
We are glad you enjoyed your time at the Omni Richmond and appreciate your recommendation of our Select Guest Program. Thank you for reviewing our hotel on TripAdvisor and we hope you return soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
College Park, Maryland
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed February 18, 2013

We stayed here for one night with two children ages 6 and 10. Check-in was smooth. We were served complementary champagne in the lobby. The hotel does not have a pool, but when we asked, we were given 2 backpacks with toys/books for the children. Bathrooms are large and well stocked. The hotel only has valet parking for $20/day, however you can park across the street in garage for $4. Also, we were charged for minibar items which we had not consumed. We called, and will be credited back. Suggestion is to sign up for Gold level membership online (free) to avoid wi-fi charges and it will also give you a voucher upon check-in for free coffee/tea delivered to your door. Starbucks and restaurant in building.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank MalinLjM
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
OmniMgr, Manager at Omni Richmond Hotel, responded to this review, February 21, 2013
We are glad your family had a nice visit to the Omni Richmond. We regret that our associates didn't communicate that we do in fact have an indoor pool. If you return, we hope you will check it out! Thanks for sharing your experience on Tripadvisor and we hope you will return soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chesapeake, Virginia
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed February 17, 2013

This hotel is about average for a hotel at this star level--which means it's a nice place to stay.
Outside of the lobby, the decor in the hotel is relatively bland, but the beds are nice, the carpet is soft, and I've never had a bad view. (Some of the rooms have views of Shockoe Slip).

By far, the best feature of this property is the remarkable heated indoor pool. The temperature is nice and warm, and the pool is clean and blue.

This hotel also has a great location if you're interested in exploring Shockoe Slip or Shockoe Bottom, or if you're doing business downtown. Nice restaurants are just steps away.

Front desk staff are a mixed bag with respect to customer service skills, but my overall experiences here have always been pleasant. The bellmen I've encountered have displayed excellent customer service skills, but the same can't be said for the valets, who sport condescending attitudes.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank VABizTraveler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
OmniMgr, Manager at Omni Richmond Hotel, responded to this review, February 21, 2013
We appreciate you sharing your feedback from your stay at the Omni Richmond. We enjoyed reading how much you like our pool but regret that you haven't experienced more consistency regarding service. We will share your feedback with those departments and hopefully your next stay will reflect the great service that we strive to offer during each stay.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Potsdam, Germany
Level 6 Contributor
121 reviews
52 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 55 helpful votes
Reviewed February 13, 2013

The Omni is a decent hotel in downtown Richmond. In quality and surrounding it is not comparable to the OMNI in Washington, DC, but still a typical and good Omni property. The overall service was good, great staff and especially the waiters in the restaurant were very friendly and helpful. Every question was answered and they never showed any sign of rush.
The valet and bag service was reasonable, the employees very friendly. The room was clean with a good size, but nothing special. The overall location for people visiting with dogs is not to be recommended, as there is neither any park in the close vicinity nor a good opportunity to walk the dog. The next greater walking trail is around 1.5 miles away, but you have to cross several busy streets. For visitors without dogs it is a good starting point to explore the City of Richmond.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank gspla
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
OmniMgr, Manager at Omni Richmond Hotel, responded to this review, February 21, 2013
Thank you for giving us the opportunity to read about your stay at the Omni Richmond. We are glad you had a wonderful experience but regret that you did not find the immediate vicinity ideal for walking your dog. We hope this won't prevent you from returning as we would be pleased to welcome you back in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Richmond hotels
0.1 mi away
The Berkeley Hotel
The Berkeley Hotel
#8 of 81 in Richmond
854 reviews
0.8 mi away
The Jefferson Hotel
The Jefferson Hotel
#1 of 81 in Richmond
1,248 reviews
0.5 mi away
Hilton Richmond Downtown
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 mi away
Linden Row Inn
Linden Row Inn
#6 of 81 in Richmond
1,034 reviews
0.9 mi away
Quirk Hotel
Quirk Hotel
#9 of 81 in Richmond
692 reviews
0.3 mi away
Crowne Plaza Richmond Downtown
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Omni Richmond Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Omni Richmond Hotel

Property: Omni Richmond Hotel
Address: 100 S 12th St, Richmond, VA 23219-4012
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Virginia > Richmond
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Business Hotel in Richmond
#6 Family Hotel in Richmond
#7 Luxury Hotel in Richmond
#8 Romantic Hotel in Richmond
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Omni Richmond Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 361
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Ideally located in the heart of everything that makes Richmond the truly special destination city that it is, Omni Richmond Hotel invites you to experience refined Southern hospitality in an elegant contemporary yet refined and relaxing setting. Nestled within the historic and vibrant Shockoe Slip district, our guests enjoy the timeless architecture and gas lamp-lined brick streets beckoning from a time gone by. Alive with the vibrant sounds, sights and flavors of the many first-class dining and entertainment venues, the Slip offers guests the true taste of Richmond. The nation's most storied and treasured historical sites and attractions are also just mere minutes away, leaving a remarkable and unforgettable impression on all who visit those cherished sites. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Omni Hotels & Resorts, Expedia, Orbitz, Priceline, Hotels.com, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, HotelsforEveryone, Cancelon, getaroom.com, Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Omni Richmond Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Omni Richmond Hotel Richmond
Omni Hotel Richmond
Richmond Omni Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing