We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
$25 Amazon.com Gift Card Get yours when you book a hotel on TripAdvisor and review your stay!

“Nice weekend stay” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Omni Richmond Hotel

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Omni Richmond Hotel
Ranked #11 of 88 Hotels in Richmond
Certificate of Excellence
Browns Summit, North Carolina
Level Contributor
16 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Nice weekend stay”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 28, 2013

The hotel overall was very nice. The front desk staff, the valets and the bellmen were all very helpful and friendly. We ventured across the street to hit the cobblestone street and found plenty of restaurants and bars to choose from. We returned to the hotel later in the afternoon and were greeted with champagne in the lobby. Nice touch.
The room was spacious, but by no means upper level luxury. Huge bed, but the feather pillows were flat and uncomfortable.
We returned to the hotel rather late the following evening,and there were several groups of young people hanging out where you pulled up for the valet service. Did not like that.
Where was security? One of the elevators was closed for cleaning. I think someone had gotten sick in it. This is not my idea of upper level luxury.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Joseybelle
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
OmniMgr, Manager at Omni Richmond Hotel, responded to this review, February 21, 2013
Thank you for writing a review of our hotel. We are glad you had a great first impression but regret that later in the evening your experience changed. We are committed to providing our guests with a safe and secure place to stay and provide on site security at all times. We do appreciate all of your comments and hope that we will have a future opportunity to provide you with a great stay from start to finish.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,543 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    800
    455
    180
    76
    32
See reviews for
288
367
96
637
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (178)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Rehoboth Beach, Delaware, United States
Level Contributor
42 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 24, 2013

I like to stay here occasionally when I come to Richmond with my kids. The room is a good size, the bathroom is ok. The upgraded rooms are nicer than than the standard. It is right downtown and there isn't a whole lot to do, but it is in a convenient location to much of the Richmond area. The pool is a nice option. I really like the access to the gym located in the building, it is a YMCA and one of the nicest I've ever been to. The restaurants are impressive. Great options for ethnic cuisine. The riverwalk is a nice stroll.

Room Tip: Go for the upgrade.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Sparrow84
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
OmniMgr, Manager at Omni Richmond Hotel, responded to this review, January 28, 2013
We are delighted to read that your family enjoys their occasional visits to the Omni Richmond. Thank you for sharing your review on TripAdvisor and we look forward to your next visit!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
chambersburg,pa
Level Contributor
61 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 24, 2013

in reading about this hotel before my stay, i saw the term 'upper level luxury' somewhere and i was dubious. The rooms were nothing special...adequate i would say. Sadly, there was very little soundproofing. Walking down the hall, i could hear people speaking at normal conversational levels in their rooms! And i could hear any one talking outside my room as they walked by speaking in normal tones. I am just glad we didnt have a party floor or a honeymoon suite next door. And i do apologize to anyone in the room next to mine since i forgot to take my snoring appliance..sorrrrry! i booked the room for a trip my son and i took, he had checked online and emailed me that i could get a AAA rate but i had already booked online and was not offered that option. I asked at check-in and they said since i was already given a 'discount' they could not offer me the AAA rate...granted the difference was only $5 less, but it was the perception that they didnt want to go the extra step to please the customer. I have a feeling the desk person at the Ritz-Carlton would have made the decision to give me $5 off. i did feel lucky though, when asking for the discount, the person checking in beside me was told they had no reservation even after he explained he booked it online and even talked to someone who he called when he got an email that his card was refused. Oh man, i didnt stay around to hear that conversation! It was very convenient to downtown restaurants, nite spots etc and the expressway to get outta town for other venues. i would stay again, the price was reasonable, i just wouldnt call it a 'luxury' hotel unless you were having an event there and needed the sweeping staircase or ornate event rooms.

Room Tip: i was at the end of the hall....i would recommend that too....keeps the noise level down outside you...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank drsteve76
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hampton, Virginia
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 23, 2013

The Omni in Richmond Virginias Downtown is a jewel, ( Great price, beautiful rooms, great staff )Shopping on the ground floor and It sits at the top of one of the best blocks in downtown Richmond. Great variety of restaurants, quaint shops, great place to walk and take in the sites(cobblestones and all). The hotel is within walking distance of 5 great museums. It's family friendly and takes dogs. It was a great experience. Can't wait to go back. You want a great dinner. The Tobacco Company is steps away, if you want one of the best deals in town Check Out City Dogs at the bottom of the block. City Dogs is a great example of some of the best and least expensive food at it's best. Hot dogs,sandwiches, burgers and the best Bloody Mary's I have ever tasted. Our waiter Kevin was a fountain of information as well as a great waiter, we tried all his recommendations he was brilliant. Have fun and CHECK IT OUT.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Saundra B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
OmniMgr, Manager at Omni Richmond Hotel, responded to this review, January 28, 2013
We are glad you had a great stay at the Omni Richmond and in our lovely historic neighborhood. Thank you for sharing your complimentary feedback and we hope you will stay again soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chesapeake
Level Contributor
8 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 23, 2013

This was my second stay at the Omni downtown Richmond. It's right in the heart of downtown. There are plenty of resturants near by. The hotel is great. The bed in the room was comfortable. I had no problem falling asleep. :)

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Ayesha H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
OmniMgr, Manager at Omni Richmond Hotel, responded to this review, January 28, 2013
Thank you for reviewing the Omni Richmond. We are glad you had a great night's sleep and we hope to have you back again soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
hu10 6as
Level Contributor
186 reviews
45 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 63 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed January 23, 2013

arrived at the omni got out the taxi,no help from the bell hops ,no greeting from reception ,this attitude continued for the rest of the stay ,walls were paper thin rooms very big bed large and comfortable .that was it felt very let down and isolated .on leaving we were not asked if we had enjoyed our stay would not stay again.

Room Tip: avoid the lifts and ask for a high room
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank bizzyinn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
OmniMgr, Manager at Omni Richmond Hotel, responded to this review, January 28, 2013
Thank you for choosing to stay with us at the Omni Richmond Hotel. We truly appreciate your honest feedback. We can assure you that your concerns will be taken very seriously and will be addressed. Our goal is not only to meet you expectation but also exceed them and we hope that you give us another chance to prove to you who we truly are. We look forward to hosting you back soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Virginia
Level Contributor
247 reviews
49 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 107 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 22, 2013

The Omni in Richmond is spacious, well-appointed and in a great location. The hotel is located on the corner of Cary Street (where there are some great restaurants and shops) and is just 2 blocks from the Capitol Square. My room was on the corner of the hotel on the 16th floor and it had a great view of Cary Street and downtown Richmond. The room was very spacious, clean and neat. The hotel staff were friendly and courteous at all times and very helpful. I will definitely stay here again.

Room Tip: Chose a higher floor and a corner suite for a great view
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Hotrod_Hammer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
OmniMgr, Manager at Omni Richmond Hotel, responded to this review, January 28, 2013
We enjoyed reading your review of the Omni Richmond. Thank you for sharing your compliments of our property, our associates, and our location. It will be our pleasure to welcome you back again soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Richmond hotels
0.5 mi away
Hilton Richmond Downtown
Hilton Richmond Downtown
#10 of 88 in Richmond
4.5 of 5 stars 1,214 reviews
0.8 mi away
The Jefferson Hotel
The Jefferson Hotel
#1 of 88 in Richmond
4.5 of 5 stars 1,056 reviews
0.1 mi away
The Berkeley Hotel
The Berkeley Hotel
#9 of 88 in Richmond
4.0 of 5 stars 613 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Crowne Plaza Richmond Downtown
13.6 mi away
Hilton Richmond Hotel & Spa / Short Pump
0.7 mi away
Linden Row Inn
Linden Row Inn
#7 of 88 in Richmond
4.0 of 5 stars 876 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Omni Richmond Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Omni Richmond Hotel

Property: Omni Richmond Hotel
Address: 100 S 12th St, Richmond, VA 23219-4012
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Virginia > Richmond
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Business Hotel in Richmond
#6 Family Hotel in Richmond
#6 Luxury Hotel in Richmond
#8 Romantic Hotel in Richmond
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Omni Richmond Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 361
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Ideally located in the heart of everything that makes Richmond the truly special destination city that it is, Omni Richmond Hotel invites you to experience refined Southern hospitality in an elegant contemporary yet refined and relaxing setting. Nestled within the historic and vibrant Shockoe Slip district, our guests enjoy the timeless architecture and gas lamp-lined brick streets beckoning from a time gone by. Alive with the vibrant sounds, sights and flavors of the many first-class dining and entertainment venues, the Slip offers guests the true taste of Richmond. The nation's most storied and treasured historical sites and attractions are also just mere minutes away, leaving a remarkable and unforgettable impression on all who visit those cherished sites. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Omni Hotels & Resorts, Expedia, Hotwire, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Otel, Cancelon, HotelTravel.com, Odigeo, Travelocity, Priceline and Jetsetter so you can book your Omni Richmond Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Omni Richmond Hotel Richmond
Omni Hotel Richmond
Richmond Omni Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing