We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very nice hotel--all was great!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Omni Richmond Hotel
Ranked #13 of 82 Hotels in Richmond
Certificate of Excellence
New York, NY
Level 5 Contributor
49 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
“Very nice hotel--all was great!”
Reviewed August 4, 2011

We stayed at this hotel for a wedding and it was great. One of the few hotels in Richmond that provides a free shuttle which was important to us. It was very clean, up to date, and overall a very nice stay.

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Rachel W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
OmniMgr, Manager at Omni Richmond Hotel, responded to this review, September 9, 2011
We are delighted that you enjoyed your time at The Omni Richmond and are glad you were able to take advantage of our shuttle. Thank you for your review and we hope you will return soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,918 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    990
    546
    239
    95
    48
See reviews for
362
461
112
794
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (196)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Fredericksburg, Virginia
Level 4 Contributor
27 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed August 1, 2011

Went to a wedding on July 16, 2011 and stayed at the Omni Richmond. Next day, upon retrieving my car which had been valet parking the night before, for a hefty parking fee of $20, was DISGUSTED in seeing that my beautiful car and myself had been VIOLATED by a ruthless valet parking attendant who took my car for a joyride. The passenger seat was reclined all the way back, HEAVY FINGERPRINTS and HAIR were covering the dashboard. Little imagination is needed to know what happened that night. Issued a verbal complaint with the valet parking manager, M.HARRIS, who did not follow up on the issue. No phone call from the hotel, no mail received to this day. I am DISGUSTED and want my money back, room and all.
J, VA.

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank omp71
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
OmniMgr, Manager at Omni Richmond Hotel, responded to this review, September 9, 2011
It was very concerning for us to read this review of our hotel. Our management team has reached out to this guest to learn more about the situation. We take pride in providing excellent customer service in all areas of the hotel including valet. We would like to assure all guests that we are investigating this matter and will take all necessary steps to ensure that the property of our guests' is always treated with respect. Thank you for bringing your situation to our attention and we hope to work with you to find an adequate resolution.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed July 28, 2011

The room was clean, and the furniture was average. It was not as convienent to historic sights as the hotel's information claimed. The hotel's restaurant was above average in food and service.

  • Stayed June 2011, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank IslandTraveler2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
OmniMgr, Manager at Omni Richmond Hotel, responded to this review, September 9, 2011
Thank you for your review of The Omni Richmond. We are sorry that you felt as if our location was not as central to the historic sites of Richmond as you had hoped for. We have done our best to show distances to many of the historical sites on our website. Although many of the sites are within a few blocks of our hotel there are some that are a little further than walking distance. We are delighted that you enjoyed our restaurant and hope you will return soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dayton, Ohio
Level 5 Contributor
73 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
Reviewed July 27, 2011

We paid $80 for a room at the Omni on Priceline, having decided at the last minute to stop in Richmond on our way to the Outer Banks. Upon arrival, staff was attentive and parked our car immediately. Front desk staff told me there weren't any rooms left with 2 beds so they sent us a rollaway, free of charge. We took what we could get being that we booked on Priceline. Hotel was super crowded but quiet at night. My son loved the pool and the view from our corner room. Location was great, walked around the corner to find dozens of restaurants, pubs, shops. Omni perks also win me over every time. A backpack full of goodies for my son, free wifi, free bottled water, and free room-delivered coffee (or juice) in the morning. Be sure to join their frequent guest program to receive these perks.
Now for the TLC - I was shocked at the condition of this room! Dirty, old, stained chair with crumbs all over (and under) it. No outlets to speak of in the room. Old, uncomfortable beds (but great bedding). Just generally in disrepair. Even rollaway bed was an old rubber pad tied together (when unopened) with a frayed bungee cord. What? The Omni???? Clean this place up guys!! You've got the makings of a great hotel!
Bottom line - I'd stay here again for $80, or even more if it was cleaned up. We had a good experience with everything else in the hotel (even the Jehovah Witness conventioneers were nice). Would have loved nicer beds and a newer chair!

Room Tip: There are plenty of corner rooms at this hotel - ask for one.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank tdijetta
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
OmniMgr, Manager at Omni Richmond Hotel, responded to this review, September 9, 2011
We appreciate all of your compliments and even your constructive feedback about your stay at The Omni Richmond Hotel. Although it has always been a priority, we have a renewed focus and strategy in place to maintain the clean beautiful rooms that should be expected at any Omni. Thank you for your review and we do hope you will have the opportunity to return to experience a stay that meets all of your expectations.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Charlotte, North Carolina
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed July 27, 2011

I only stayed at this hotel one night. The area of downtown Richmond is borderline "seedy". North of the hotel its nice and south of the hotel is scary. Since I was on business the company paid for the hotel, I hate to pay $135.00 per night, $20.00 parking and $10.00 for internet. I believe a Courtyard would be an upgrade to this hotel.

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank dlatham
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
OmniMgr, Manager at Omni Richmond Hotel, responded to this review, September 9, 2011
We appreciate your feedback from your recent stay. It is always beneficial for us to understand the perceptions of our customers and thank you for taking the time to leave feedback.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Australia
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed July 26, 2011

We enjoyed our stay, the hotel was clean and quite well maintained. Our room had a very comfortable bed and no intrusive noise. We had a buffet breakfast included, and there was a good choice of healthy fruits, breads and cereals and also bacon, sausage and a chef to cook eggs any way you like. The hotel has a shuttle van that will take you (and return you) to anywhere with in about 3 mile. There are bars and restaurants within walking distance, if you are there on a friday night, walk down to Browns island for Friday Cheers - music and beer in the park, all well supervised and enjoyable.
The bell/doormen were always helpful with answers to "how do I get to" questions and especially Eddie, a gentleman.

Room Tip: We were on the 16th floor and we did not hear any noise from nightclubs or street etc
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Colonialboy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
OmniMgr, Manager at Omni Richmond Hotel, responded to this review, September 9, 2011
We are glad you enjoyed your time at The Omni Richmond. Thank you for your complimentary review and we hope to welcome you back soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Northern California
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed July 7, 2011

I could write a novel...and I did write a novel to the president of the Omni chain...but he hasn't responded back to me yet. I'll try to keep it brief. I travel A LOT on business and have stayed at several Omni Hotels. Never had a bad experience until staying at the Omni in Richmond VA. The rooms are old and dingy and dirty. The staff would not help me at 1:00 in the morning when I arrived. The bathroom tile had mold in the grout. The safe wasn't working properly, the elevators were broken and I had to wait 25 minutes to get downstairs in the morning, the coffee was awful. You get the picture. Oh, and to top it off...they charged my credit card over $1400.00 on THE FIRST DAY for NO REASON. It took me a week to get that fixed... I understand that things happen. The only way to judge a company is based on how they respond when things go wrong. The Omni did not live up to their promise as a 'five star' company in my opinion and I will never stay at an Omni again. This is coming from a person who used to RAVE about this hotel chain to anyone who would listen. It's a bad thing to lose a customer like me.

  • Stayed June 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
8 Thank Biztraveler777
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
OmniMgr, Manager at Omni Richmond Hotel, responded to this review, September 9, 2011
We were disappointed to read about your experience at The Omni Richmond Hotel. Please accept our apologies for the various issues that you experienced. We have spent the last few months making improvements and repairs to our guest rooms to ensure that all accommodations meet the luxury expectations of our customers. All of your comments and feedback are very important to us and we are certain that by now you have heard back from our guest relations department. We do not want any negative experience to go unaddressed. Please accept our apologies for your less than satisfactory experience and we hope for the opportunity to win back your loyalty to our company.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Richmond hotels
0.1 mi away
The Berkeley Hotel
The Berkeley Hotel
#8 of 82 in Richmond
869 reviews
0.8 mi away
The Jefferson Hotel
The Jefferson Hotel
#1 of 82 in Richmond
1,269 reviews
0.5 mi away
Hilton Richmond Downtown
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 mi away
Linden Row Inn
Linden Row Inn
#6 of 82 in Richmond
1,048 reviews
0.9 mi away
Quirk Hotel
Quirk Hotel
#9 of 82 in Richmond
711 reviews
0.5 mi away
Richmond Marriott
Richmond Marriott
#18 of 82 in Richmond
717 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Omni Richmond Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Omni Richmond Hotel

Property: Omni Richmond Hotel
Address: 100 S 12th St, Richmond, VA 23219-4012
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Virginia > Richmond
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Business Hotel in Richmond
#6 Family Hotel in Richmond
#7 Luxury Hotel in Richmond
#8 Romantic Hotel in Richmond
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Omni Richmond Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 361
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Ideally located in the heart of everything that makes Richmond the truly special destination city that it is, Omni Richmond Hotel invites you to experience refined Southern hospitality in an elegant contemporary yet refined and relaxing setting. Nestled within the historic and vibrant Shockoe Slip district, our guests enjoy the timeless architecture and gas lamp-lined brick streets beckoning from a time gone by. Alive with the vibrant sounds, sights and flavors of the many first-class dining and entertainment venues, the Slip offers guests the true taste of Richmond. The nation's most storied and treasured historical sites and attractions are also just mere minutes away, leaving a remarkable and unforgettable impression on all who visit those cherished sites. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Hotels.com, Omni Hotels & Resorts, Expedia, Booking.com, Priceline, Orbitz, Hotwire, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, HotelsforEveryone, HotelQuickly, getaroom.com and Evoline ltd so you can book your Omni Richmond Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Omni Richmond Hotel Richmond
Omni Hotel Richmond
Richmond Omni Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing