We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good, but...”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
The Westin Richmond
Ranked #3 of 81 Hotels in Richmond
Certificate of Excellence
Level Contributor
100 reviews
78 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 81 helpful votes
“Good, but...”
Reviewed September 19, 2011

All in all a nice hotel with good service. They treat Starwood members great here.

Some issues, however:

- there was a strange, thumping noise coming every tenth second or so from above (we were on the top floor, so not sure what is was). It drove me crazy through out the night. A phone to front desk did not help much: "We well send someone from maintance to check it out". Not sure if they did, noone came to our room and the noise did not go away.
- the hotel is pet friendly, and there were long, white (dog?-) hairs on the carpet in our suite. Maybe we should have asked for a pet-free room at check in? But we thought that was obvious as long as we did not bring a pet ourselves.
- more chairs/tables in the lounge is needed. Had to stand during breakfast.
- Dirty trays from finished roomservice next door were standing in the hall for at least 8 hours.
- the hotel is quite a long drive to the city center of Richmond. Could be a plus, but as the highway is just outside your window, the area is not particularly secluded.

As the hotel is pretty expensive, we were expecting more.

Stayed August 2011, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank jens h
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WestinRichmond, General Manager at The Westin Richmond, responded to this review, September 23, 2011
Dear Jechho, thank you for staying with us and for taking the time to provide positive and helpful feedback regarding your experience as it helps us to improve both our product and service levels. Regarding the noise in your room...we actually responded directly to the roof to see if the noise was coming from a unit above your room but should have followed up with you accordingly. Also, the pet hairs are unacceptable and we will definitely place a greater focus on ensuring guestroom cleanliness to this regard. I also can appreciate your comments about the space available in our club lounge and I am currently reviewing opportunities to expand the lounge as it is becoming a very popular place. Regardless of the above, we are very proud to be the top ranked Westin hotel in North America and we will continue our pursuit of excellence. I thank you again for the feedback and we hope to see you again soon should your travels return you to the area. Regards, Feliks Schwartz - General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

703 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    455
    191
    36
    12
    9
See reviews for
217
150
41
229
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (124)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Korean first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
NC
Level Contributor
227 reviews
57 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 57 helpful votes
Reviewed September 13, 2011

This is a very nice Westin property. The rooms are well appointed, new and clean. The lobby area is very nice and modern. The staff at this location are always top notch as well.

While the price may sit this hotel apart from others in the area, the value is definitely present.

  • Stayed June 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MBFNCNative
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WestinRichmond, General Manager at The Westin Richmond, responded to this review, September 23, 2011
Dear Mbsef2000, thank you for being our guest and for taking the time to share your feedback. I am glad you had a great experience with us and we look forward to your return soon. Stay well, Feliks Schwartz - General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Richmond, Virginia
1 review
Reviewed September 12, 2011

We had the reception at Westin this year, we had a great experience working with the catering manager and event coordinator. We were glad that they were able to put in most of our ideas into our reception. Staff was always available and very friendly. The event coordinator called our vendors (flowers and dj) a week before our wedding to make sure everything was available for them during the day of our wedding. I was a laid back bride- so having someone work in the background in our behalf was a major plus. However, I thought I did not have to oversee some of the details- like the seating/# of chairs per table (we had uneven number of people per table- so we were specific with this one), I was wrong. I was glad I got to see the set up the day before and the staff was able to fix it for us, the setup was perfect the following day.
On the day of the reception, everything was going smoothly. The event coordinator was in the reception up to the 1st half of the night. We had a male staff attending to just and me and my groom. The coordinator left after saying bye to us and had assured us that a staff of hers will take over the night, and that she knew everything. However, the night went on and that staff who was supposed to take over was nowhere to be found. She was not in the room, she didn't know about the schedule and sequence for the reception. We had to look for her and tell her that toast was coming and that we didn't have any wines yet. Our maid of honor and best man were waiting and because of this we had to rearrange the sequence for the reception. Good thing our DJ got to play around the situation and made it less obvious. SOme of our guest noticed this glitch.
The last glitch, we were at the end of the reception, my groom asked the front desk which room (compliementay suite) we were supposed to go. The front desk did not know about this, apparently she was not informed that we were supposed to have a complimentary suite. We were at the front desk waiting for about 15 mins. She had to call the catering manager to confirm with this one. We had a nice room and we had a late check out. That female staff who supposed to take over did not know which room we were supposed to go to.
I just wished there was better communication with the event coordinator and her staff. The event coordinator was awesome and great!!!!! However, the one who took over did not do justice at all.
Overall, we had a great reception at the Westin. We loved the modern feel which we did not find in any other hotels. The staff was awesome and very friendly. Food was absolutely great!!!

  • Stayed January 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Bride C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WestinRichmond, General Manager at The Westin Richmond, responded to this review, September 23, 2011
Dear Brice C, congratulations on your recent wedding. We were very proud that you chose us to share your special day and trust you will have many fond memories of your wedding and The Westin Richmond for many years to come. I am pleased to hear that overall you had a great experience and we pride ourselves on our ability to provide great memories. Thank you as well for your feedback as to how we could have better communicated to ensure we met your expectations through your event and I can assure you that we have reviewed this in an effort to prevent recurrence. Thank you again and we look forward to seeing you again soon should your travels return you to the area or perhaps on a future anniversary. Stay well! Regards, Feliks Schwartz - General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
13 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed September 12, 2011

Centrally located near many of the big businesses, the Westin Richmond lives up to the reputation of this chain. Rooms are comfortable and clean, food is good, and the rates are reasonable. Staff is very accommodating should you need to arrange for an event on site.

  • Stayed June 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank mama0105
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WestinRichmond, General Manager at The Westin Richmond, responded to this review, September 23, 2011
Dear Mama0105, thank you for staying with us recently and for taking the time to share your positive comments with us and the Tripadvisor community. Your feedback is appreciated and we look forward to seeing you again soon. Be well, Feliks Schwartz - General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Charleston, South Carolina
Level Contributor
73 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 54 helpful votes
Reviewed September 11, 2011

We go to Richmond four or five times a year to visit family and were so delighted when this new Westin opened! We had always stayed at The Jefferson, which is very historic and lovely in the lobby, but the rooms leave a lot to be desired. The staff at the Westin is so friendly and helpful, the rooms are the well-designed quality expected of a new Westin, and they have a great business center. They are located across the street from Altria headquarters (formerly Phillip Morris) so a lot of their employees stay there, even long term. We met one couple who had been transferred to Richmond and had been staying at the Westin with their adorable Boxer dog (yes, they are pet friendly!) for several weeks while they closed on their new house. They loved the Westin and joked that they were going to stay there permanently. Highly recommend this property.

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank toodogsus
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WestinRichmond, General Manager at The Westin Richmond, responded to this review, September 12, 2011
Dear Toodogsus, thank you for the great review of our hotel and your recent stay. I am very happy to see that we exceeded your expectations and that we will be your new home away from home in Richmond. We are very proud of the product and service levels we provide and we look forward to seeing you in the future. Thank you again. Stay well, Feliks Schwartz - General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Roanoke, Virginia
1 review
Reviewed August 28, 2011

We arrived after driving three and a half hours in heavy rain. We walked into the Westin wet, tired, and hungry. The staff made us feel right at home. At the restaurant, our server Omer put us in good spirits and made wonderful menu suggestions for us. We enjoyed a wonderful dinner. Thanks to Omer and an incredible staff, our spirits soon were lifted, Omer and the Westin saved the day. In the end, we had a happy and pleasant visit.

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Rick S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WestinRichmond, General Manager at The Westin Richmond, responded to this review, September 12, 2011
Dear Rick S, thank you for styaing with us and for taking the time to write some great comments about your recent experience at The Westin Richmond. I was very pleased to see that my team took good care of you, especially Omer in the restaurant. I will be sure to recognize him and thank him for exceeding your expectations. I trust that we will see you again should your travels return you to the area. Thank you again and be well. Regards, Feliks Schwartz - General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dresher, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
100 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 58 helpful votes
Reviewed August 26, 2011

Stayed at the Westin RIchmond while visiting the University of Richmond with my son. It is a very nice hotel that offers a University of RIchmond rate. Not a great location as it is in an industiral park,however Nick at the front desk was so helpful and arranged for Evan the van driver to take us to Carytown for shopping and dinner. Evan was so nice and accomodating, he pointed out different sights and points of interest. Gave my son a flavor of RIchmond from a young adult's perspective and even made restaurant suggestions. He came and picked us up after dinner. After driving 5 hours the last thing we wanted to do was get back in our car. The shuttle was a perfect way to experience RIchmond after a long day of travelling. Nick and Evan were great. We look forward to staying here often if my son ends up going to UR.

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank cathy2921
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WestinRichmond, General Manager at The Westin Richmond, responded to this review, September 12, 2011
Dear Cathy2921, thank you for staying with us recently while visiting U of R. We are their preferred hotel partner and enjoy our relationship. I was so glad to receive your review and I am thrilled that Nick and Evan took such good care of you and your son. I will be sure to recognize them for their efforts. Thank you for taking the time to write a nice review for us and we hope that your son will be attending U of R and that we will see you more often at The Westin Richmond. Stay well, Feliks Schwartz - General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Richmond hotels
5.7 mi away
The Jefferson Hotel
The Jefferson Hotel
#1 of 81 in Richmond
1,224 reviews
7.2 mi away
Hilton Richmond Hotel & Spa / Short Pump
0.5 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Richmond/Glenside
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.7 mi away
Quirk Hotel
Quirk Hotel
#9 of 81 in Richmond
669 reviews
6.5 mi away
Omni Richmond Hotel
Omni Richmond Hotel
#11 of 81 in Richmond
1,854 reviews
6.1 mi away
Hilton Richmond Downtown
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Westin Richmond? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Westin Richmond

Property: The Westin Richmond
Address: 6631 W Broad St, Richmond, VA 23230-1723
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Virginia > Richmond
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Luxury Hotel in Richmond
#3 Family Hotel in Richmond
#3 Romantic Hotel in Richmond
#6 Business Hotel in Richmond
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — The Westin Richmond 4*
Number of rooms: 250
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to The Westin Richmond Hotel conveniently located on Broad Street just off of Interstate 64 at Reynolds Crossing. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Travelocity, Hotwire, Orbitz, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, Cheap Tickets and getaroom.com so you can book your The Westin Richmond reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Westin Richmond Hotel Richmond

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing