We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Pho!”
Review of Vietnam 1

Vietnam 1
Ranked #150 of 1,950 Restaurants in Richmond
Price range: $5 - $10
Cuisines: Vietnamese
Restaurant details
Reviewed 3 weeks ago via mobile

The place has acceptable decor, but it can be a little noisy on a crowded evening. A small kid, assuming it’s the owners’ grandson, was crying and whining loudly! But don’t let the distractions and harried staff fool you, the food is really good. The combination pho was very good! The noodles tender and fresh and the broth just the right flavor and salinity. Brisket and tender were tasty. Really enjoyed it!

Date of visit: September 2019
Thank dadrulz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a reviewReviews (60)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

1 - 5 of 60 reviews

Reviewed March 12, 2019 via mobile

We have been here several times, at least 2 times a month. We normally Oder the vermicelli with grilled pork, which is great. The Vietnamese curry is good, very light curry sauce, very different From Thai curries.The Pho is also good

Date of visit: March 2019
Thank rindydf
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 12, 2019

This is one of my daughter's favorite restaurants; it has good food, decent prices and is pretty quiet. While I've had better food elsewhere, this was more than acceptable. They were out of hot and sour soup, so we all had wonton soup. The broth was flavorful but the wontons were pretty chewy. The noodle dish we ordered was chosen partly because it did not have onions, but when it showed up, it did. The vermicelli bowls looked good, with lots of meat. I would like to return and try the pho.

Date of visit: February 2019
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank swimmom1dc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 11, 2019 via mobile

From the outside, the restaurant looks small and unassuming, but the aromas that greet you inside are a promise of the fantastic treat that awaits. My husband and I "found" this gem several months ago and were delighted.

The atmosphere is friendly and comfortable and the staff are attentive. Everything we have tried here has been delicious! The banh mi is a favorite!

Date of visit: January 2019
Thank Sarah W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 10, 2018

On this particular visit on a Saturday evening, the place was packed: quick service albeit a bit indifferent(the lady-owner was pleasant and tried to answer your questions,the gentleman-owner[??] not as welcoming, a little smile would surely help!!), the menu is quite extensive with all the ubiquitous Vietnamese dishes, particularly the Pho soups; the different vermicelli dishes with pork/beef/shrimp/crunchy spring rolls (the best) you would find in any Vietnamese restaurant. Plus: huge servings thus the great value; Minus:the Bun Bo Hue (Central Vietnam-style noodle soup) has the right ingredients but not enough lemon grass, the beef cuts with tendons not properly cooked thus quite chewy and not eatable, the pork/shrimp/cha lua quite delcious..so the food was rated AVERAGE instead of VERY GOOD. Better luck on the next visit!

Date of visit: November 2018
Thank Ntee6603
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Vietnam 1? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing