We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Ordered rum received raspberry HORRIBLE SERVICE”

Jean-Jacques Bakery
Ranked #19 of 21 Bakeries in Richmond
Restaurant details
Richmond, Virginia
Level 5 Contributor
56 reviews
36 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
“Ordered rum received raspberry HORRIBLE SERVICE”
Reviewed December 29, 2012

Ordered a cake and drove into the city for my husband's 40th. When we cut into it, it was raspberry! He hates fruit in his cake. Called. First, they said we would receive a refund. Then, they said we could order the rum cake in the future. When we went to order it for Christmas, they REFUSED to give us the cake. We had offered to bring back the cake in Nov., but they said it wasn't necessary. Now, they say they needed the cake back. We threw it out and kept the cardboard base with RC on it as well as the receipt. My husband went into the city and the owner would not come out from the back. They blame employees that they fired. We ordered a rum cake, we should have gotten a rum cake! We will never return and tell our friends. So upsetting!

Visited November 2012
Helpful?
10 Thank Amy_and_3_Cockers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

82 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    16
    17
    11
    11
    27
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Richmond, Virginia
Level 5 Contributor
89 reviews
48 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
“good food, no pressure”
Reviewed December 13, 2012

This places knows how to livve! "Life is uncertain," so put the dessert counters at the front of the store. Great baked goods. The hidden surprise is a fine selection of quiches, soup and sandwiches served daily for lunch. Don't miss this hidden treat.

Visited November 2012
Helpful?
Thank nigel'smom
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Richmond, Virginia
1 review
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Bad customer service”
Reviewed November 23, 2012

The place looks decent when you walk in and smells great, but that is where the goodness stops. My wife stopped in with our 2 year old to get some stuff using a living social deal. When noted that it expired, she would not honor any of it, which is against their terms. Whe my wife said "Ok, I will call LivingSocial and deal with them." She was told that this is all Obama's fault, that she (the Counter person) has a Master's Degree and shouldn't have to deal with this. She was then thrown out of the store.

The stuff they had is decent (Can Can has better bread, candy store next door for anything else sweet.), but they have terrible service. I would watch out.

  • Visited November 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
11 Thank DrGalpern
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Richmond
Level 4 Contributor
35 reviews
26 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“American bakery with French name”
Reviewed November 17, 2012

Average bakery, croissant, pastry and bread same as your supermarket, very disapointed maybe its why they keep running groupon offers that are not valid on regular cake.

  • Visited November 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank se210
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Richmond, Virginia
Level 6 Contributor
95 reviews
57 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 56 helpful votes
“Excellent cakes!”
Reviewed October 12, 2012

I pick up a birthday cake for my wife every year from here. The cake is always fresh and delicious and the staff are more than accommodating!

Visited November 2011
Helpful?
Thank georgifisher
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Jean-Jacques Bakery also viewed

 

Been to Jean-Jacques Bakery? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing