We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Meeting rooms not good”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Courtyard Richmond West
Ranked #22 of 82 Hotels in Richmond
Certificate of Excellence
Jacksonville, Florida
Level 6 Contributor
98 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
“Meeting rooms not good”
Reviewed July 4, 2014 via mobile

The hotel rooms are nice and are comparable to other courtyards. Staff was nice but many times they weren't present. That's especially true with the meeting facility. There may have been a problem with the A/C but it was very hot in the room and it was set on 65. Rarely saw anyone to check on us. I'm not picky, but I can't recommend having meetings here. I've held meetings in over 12 places in the past few months and this one was my least favorite. But again, the rooms were nice and I would have no problem staying here again.

Stayed July 2014
Helpful?
Thank Robert R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Steven P, General Manager at Courtyard Richmond West, responded to this review, September 1, 2014
Thanks for taking the time to provide us with this valuable feedback. I’m pleased that you found our rooms to be nice and that you will return to our hotel the next time you are in the Richmond area. However, it is our goal to meet or exceed your expectations in every aspect of your stay. It is apparent that we need to make some improvements in regards to servicing our meeting rooms.
I’m pleased to inform you that we have just recently hired a new associate that will be in charge of ensuring that our groups and meetings have an excellent experience from arrival to departure. I’m confident that you will notice a marked improvement in our attention to detail if you happen to hold another meeting here.
Thanks again for the feedback and we look forward to your return.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

210 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    70
    81
    41
    17
    1
See reviews for
54
38
15
80
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (41)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Ellicott City, Maryland
Level 6 Contributor
485 reviews
82 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 213 helpful votes
Reviewed July 2, 2014

This is a typical Courtyard property. The room was fine, with a good air conditioning system (too often they don't do the job right, but not here). The front desk was efficient, and the room was ready, despite our early arrival of 2:30 PM. I wouldn't go out of my way to stay here, but for the price it was just fine.

Room Tip: Ask for third floor room, which don't have anywhere near the traffic of people walking by, as no...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank EC13091
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed June 4, 2014

The hotel is clean and you can tell it is an older property that was renovated rather recently. The location is quiet considering it is off of a busy street. I have stayed at other Courtyard properties where the service was exceptional, here this was not the case however I was not treated rudely by any means but what was different was that in other properties the staff would go out of their way to welcome you and show you around as opposed to hear are your keys look for entrance "X" and take the elevator to your room. In comparison to other courtyards the internet is slower, the TV is smaller, and you get less channels (for example I couldn't watch the NHL playoffs because they do not offer NBC Sportsnetwork which is a basic cable channel). Those are just minor gripes but I will say that the bed was extremely comfortable.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank KB630
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Steven P, General Manager at Courtyard Richmond West, responded to this review, June 7, 2014
Thank you for taking the time to provide your feedback regarding our hotel. I’m glad you loved our beds and noticed that our hotel was clean and recently renovated. My entire staff is extremely proud of our hotel and we strive to deliver world class service to every customer. I regret that we did not deliver the service you expect when staying a Courtyard property this time.

I’m pleased to say that our internet performance rating from Courtyard’s internal guest surveys program currently has us in the top 25% of the entire Courtyard brand. We receive very few complaints regarding our internet service now and in the next few weeks we will be upgrading our main internet switch which will enhance our service even more.

Our guest rooms have 37’’ LG flat screen TV’s in every room with 40 channels including HBO. In addition we have 6 TV’s in our Bistro area that have 272 channels available. Our Bistro is open for breakfast and dinner with a full bar and our guests have access to these TV’s 24 hours a day. I’m sorry you missed the game. Perhaps next time you could catch the game in our lobby while grabbing a bite to eat.

Thanks again for choosing Courtyard. We sincerely hope to get another chance to show you our spirit to serve the next time you are in the Richmond area!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ellicott City, Maryland
Level 6 Contributor
180 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 60 helpful votes
Reviewed May 28, 2014

Very nice person at the front desk. Room was clean. Walls are thin, but many hotels have the same issue. Only problem during the stay--and it wasn't Courtyard's fault--was rude guests. There were kids running up and down the halls during the evening hours. Then adults coming back late at night being loud and slamming doors. Got woke up several times throughout the night. Pretty good location on a main road with lots of shopping and wonderful restaurants within 10 miles.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Becky K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Darien, Connecticut, USA
Level 5 Contributor
73 reviews
43 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
Reviewed May 28, 2014

The hotel is nice, its updated and the rooms have all the amenities you would expect from a courtyard. There is an outdoor pool and a nice central courtyard with grass and a sitting area.

Customer service was pretty bad, we arrived at 10 or so and there was only one person on staff. Check in was fast and courteous. Then things went downhill. We had a room with a sofa bed. when I opened the sofa bed the bed was not made. I called the front desk a couple times and no one answered, I then walked over to the front desk and was told that the linens were in a drawer and I would have to make the bed. I then had to ask for pillows as there were none for the sofa bed. Not the best start to our stay. I did look for other hotels in the area for the next 2 nights but could not find one that could accommodate us so we stuck it out.

Our last day we went to the bistro for coffee and breakfast but were told by a gentleman that it had closed 10 minutes ago and there was nothing he could do. Never mind that there was still coffee in the pots, bakery items and fruit cups on the counter. After insisting he gave us some paper cups to serve ourselves but he would charge us at the check in counter. As I finished making my coffee a lady came out from behind and said we could have anything we wanted and charged us right there.

Room Tip: First floor rooms facing the inside have access to the grass courtyard, the rooms facing the outside...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Wandering-from-CT
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Greenwich, Connecticut
Level 6 Contributor
672 reviews
51 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 164 helpful votes
Reviewed April 16, 2014

Very nice hotel with great staff
It was a Comfortable stay . Beds were very good.
The only problem was the air c onditioner.
It would not stay on and then would make a tremendous noise
This needs to be fixed. Otherwise great and close to university of Richmond

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Summersnuggles
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Emmaus, Pennsylvania
Level 5 Contributor
71 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed April 7, 2014

I have now stayed at this hotel three time in the last few months. While this hotel has been around for many years, it has been renovated and is current with most newer Marriott Courtyards. The rooms are large, the lobby area has a small café. The business center and workout room were ample.

This hotel offers very competitive rates and is in a great location just off I-64 not far from I-95. Parking is easy and complimentary. Staff is very friendly and knowledgeable of the local area. May restaurants are only blocks away on Broad St..

Room Tip: Book early for best rate
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank David P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Richmond
0.2 mi away
Candlewood Suites Richmond - West Broad
0.1 mi away
Residence Inn Richmond West End
0.9 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Richmond/Glenside
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.4 mi away
Holiday Inn Richmond I 64 West End
0.9 mi away
Best Western Executive Hotel
0.6 mi away
The Westin Richmond
The Westin Richmond
#3 of 82 in Richmond
731 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Courtyard Richmond West? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Courtyard Richmond West

Property: Courtyard Richmond West
Address: 6400 W Broad St, Richmond, VA 23230-2012
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Virginia > Richmond
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#26 Business Hotel in Richmond
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Courtyard Richmond West 3*
Number of rooms: 145
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Immerse yourself in the charming ambiance and modern comforts of Courtyard Richmond West. With a convenient location outside of downtown, our hotel is near the Carytown district, University of Richmond, Virginia Commonwealth University and Richmond International Raceway. Following a day of meetings or exploration, settle into our contemporary hotel rooms and suites. We offer free Wi-Fi, plush bedding and spacious workstations to satisfy all of your needs. After a well-rested night, get your pulse racing at our fitness center and sparkling outdoor pool for your daily workout. Whenever hunger strikes, delight in a tasty meal or snack at our Bistro restaurant and 24-hour Market. We also feature two event venues, perfect for hosting your productive meeting or memorable social gathering. Don't forget to take advantage of our planning and catering services. Whether you're visiting for business or pleasure, enjoy a satisfying stay at Courtyard Richmond West. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Marriott, Booking.com, Priceline, Expedia, Hotels.com, Orbitz, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, Travelocity, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets and HotelQuickly so you can book your Courtyard Richmond West reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Courtyard By Marriott Richmond West Hotel Richmond
Richmond Courtyard
Richmond Marriott

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing