We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Ohhh, no.”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Courtyard Richmond West
Ranked #23 of 81 Hotels in Richmond
Certificate of Excellence
upstate ny
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Ohhh, no.”
Reviewed December 16, 2011

We have stayed a Courtyard Marriot Hotels before and thought they were really fine, but this one was different. The staff at the front desk were dressed in very casual clothes and not very attentive to us. We stood at the counter for a few minutes, politely waiting, until one of the staff finally look up from the computers and asked if we needed anything. The rugs in the hallways and room needed cleaning, as well as the wood around the door knobs and elevator pad. It was visibly dirty. Our room was tidy, but not clean. The counters and table tops had not been wiped down, there were hairs and what looked like tooth paste on the shower walls, and it was very musty. The towels smelled musty too. We let the staff know and they did not seem concerned in front of us. We were given another room, but it was not much better. We always try to look for the positive in places, but here, we just were not pleased. It did make us consider staying in our car for the night, but we didn't.

Room Tip: Please pick another hotel. This is not a place we have stayed before and would not recommend it.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank y0uwh0
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

205 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    67
    80
    40
    17
    1
See reviews for
53
37
15
79
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (41)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Harrisonburg, VA
Level 4 Contributor
36 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed November 21, 2011

My daughter and I stayed here while in town to attend a comedy show. We arrived late on a Friday afternoon and I had actually used rewards points to cover the cost of this stay. I have Elite member status but no special recognition was given to me at arrival and there was no overview of amenities and services offered at the hotel. We were very surprised when we noticed a sign on the way to our room that said breakfast was $9.99/guest. I couldn't believe it since there is a Denny's restaurant practically next door to this hotel. Our room was large and clean and considering how chilly the day was, we were pleasantly surprised to come into a room that was not freezing but actually had a comfortable temperature setting. We were here only briefly after check-in and headed on out to get to the show. We got back late and crashed or attempted to until our noisy neighbors arrived and decided to hold a loud conversation in the hallway before finally retiring to their rooms. We were too tired to even call the front desk and just waited them out. The next morning, we had no plans so we thought we would sleep in a little (check-out is at noon). We had just started to stir when at 9:30 a.m. housekeeping knocked on the door. I answered in my pj's and let them know that it would be a little while before we were ready to check-out but of course, this made us feel rushed and we hurried to get dressed after that. I stepped into the bathroom first and noticed water on the floor. There was a leak in the valve behind the commode--there was a visible crack in the hardware but water was dripping out so slowly that it must have taken all night to make the puddle on the floor but at that point, we didn't even call about this issue. We just got dressed and told them at the desk when we checked out. Can't believe we were the first to notice this.

The accomodations were nice, the rooms were large and I have no complaints about the condition of the hotel. Staff was not rude but not overly friendly either and their indifference also makes me indifferent about whether I will return to this hotel or not.

We were excited to find the Krispy Kreme shop not far away and we stopped at Burlington Coat Factory across the street before heading home. The hotel was close to Carytown which is where the show we attended was held so there were a few pluses to staying here.

Room Tip: We were on the first floor and that may be why our late arriving neighbors were so loud. We also ha...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank VATravelingmommy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Alexandria, Virginia
Level 5 Contributor
21 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed November 12, 2011

I stayed here one night while in town for a wedding nearby. The room was clean and the bed was comfortable, as per usual at Marriott properties. I have no complaints, but will say the bathrooms are a bit out dated.

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank stace11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Illinois
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed October 24, 2011

I stayed at this hotel for business on a Thursday night, got switched from my first room because the door lock malfunctioned (door wouldn't close). I was told this is a common occurrence. Went to a second room and there was a party next door. Front desk clerk (Allison) came to my room, switched me to another one and when asked about the party was told "there is nothing I can do".

I complained on Facebook, was promptly responded to by their moderator, and asked to contact customer service. I contacted customer service and got a canned response asking me to re-provide details of my experience. I provided the link and got the same canned response again.

Room Tip: Go to a different hotel
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MinivanDave
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Victoria, Minnesota
Level 6 Contributor
135 reviews
43 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 53 helpful votes
Reviewed October 14, 2011

Very average, but no surprises. Would stay again
Counter person on the evening of oct13 was efficient but gruff. I had to wait at the counter for help while she argued with a customer about how to get to the hotel. Called me "honey", which was odd.

Trash can in my room had trash in it when I arrived.

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Midnightdiner
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bristow, Virginia
Level 6 Contributor
719 reviews
96 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 238 helpful votes
Reviewed October 11, 2011

Had to make a quick trip to Richmond to the Office of Vital Statistics. This hotel location was perfect being only 2 miles away from Vital Statistics Office. Located on W. Broad St. so there are numerous restaurants within a few miles from fast food all the way up to upscale restaurants. We ended up going to the Short Pump Shopping area (about 7 miles away) where there is fantastic shopping and many restaurants.

The hotel is very clean both in the rooms and lobby. The front desk staff was friendly and check in and check out was a breeze. The furnishings are nice. We also had complementary breakfast buffet in the morning which had many choices from eggs, to waffles and cereal. Also coffee and a business center is located in the lobby and an area with cards about several restaurants.

Our only complaint was the air conditioner rattled and was very loud. Our room was on the second floor and had a sliding glass door and screen so we thought "great let's open the door and turn off the a/c since it was cool outside". Couldn't get the door open. There is a door lock on the base on the door and it was jammed. Calls to the front desk at 2:30 a.m. went unanswered (let it ring 40 times). Did see the General Manager and front desk manager upon checkout who noted our concerns and apologized. But that was all.

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank kes1639
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dallas
Level 5 Contributor
76 reviews
63 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
Reviewed September 1, 2011

This is a dated property with updated rooms. I would recommend the Westin or Hampton Inn which are within 1/2 a mile.

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank demetgolf
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Richmond
0.2 mi away
Candlewood Suites Richmond - West Broad
0.1 mi away
Residence Inn Richmond West End
1.4 mi away
Holiday Inn Richmond I 64 West End
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.9 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Richmond/Glenside
0.9 mi away
Embassy Suites by Hilton Richmond
0.6 mi away
The Westin Richmond
The Westin Richmond
#3 of 81 in Richmond
722 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Courtyard Richmond West? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Courtyard Richmond West

Property: Courtyard Richmond West
Address: 6400 W Broad St, Richmond, VA 23230-2012
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Virginia > Richmond
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#26 Business Hotel in Richmond
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Courtyard Richmond West 3*
Number of rooms: 145
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Immerse yourself in the charming ambiance and modern comforts of Courtyard Richmond West. With a convenient location outside of downtown, our hotel is near the Carytown district, University of Richmond, Virginia Commonwealth University and Richmond International Raceway. Following a day of meetings or exploration, settle into our contemporary hotel rooms and suites. We offer free Wi-Fi, plush bedding and spacious workstations to satisfy all of your needs. After a well-rested night, get your pulse racing at our fitness center and sparkling outdoor pool for your daily workout. Whenever hunger strikes, delight in a tasty meal or snack at our Bistro restaurant and 24-hour Market. We also feature two event venues, perfect for hosting your productive meeting or memorable social gathering. Don't forget to take advantage of our planning and catering services. Whether you're visiting for business or pleasure, enjoy a satisfying stay at Courtyard Richmond West. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Marriott, Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Orbitz, TripOnline SA, Travelocity, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Courtyard Richmond West reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Courtyard By Marriott Richmond West Hotel Richmond
Richmond Courtyard
Richmond Marriott

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing