We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“You get what you pay for”
Review of Econo Lodge

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Econo Lodge
Ranked #60 of 82 Hotels in Richmond
Reviewed July 11, 2012

The price was right, and the location (re both I-95 and downtown Richmond) was reasonable, and supermarket very close. There was a microwave (which I didn't use) and a frig, but no coffee maker. Breakfast was sparse, but acceptable. Air conditioner was noisy, and seriously interfered with sleep. I never did figure out how to turn on the TV. I might return, maybe.

Room Tip: Listen to the AC before you decide
  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank SickleSam
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (40)
There are newer reviews for Econo Lodge
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

26 - 32 of 40 reviews

Reviewed June 27, 2012

When I arrived I wasn't all that sold on this motel. But we received a room downstairs in the corner. It was very spacious everything was clean... It was a smoking room but you wouldn't have been able to tell. The bathroom was large, the tv was rather small but manageable. Overall it was a very decent pleasant experience for a motel. I would recommend it for sure!!!

Room Tip: Choose a corner room!
  • Stayed: June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Misspookie4u2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 5, 2012

The Manager and his staff at this Econo Lodge are outstanding. After arriving late on a Saturday night and finding that my reservation had been messed up by ORBITZ(I had reserved NON-SMOKING rooms. ORBITZ had reserved SMOKING rooms), the manager helped me resolve the PROBLEM with ORBITZ. Had to cancel the ORBITZ reservations. The rooms I finally got, which were not through ORBITZ, were very clean. Beds, sheets, towels, and floors were very clean. Each time I walked in to the lobby they asked how everything was and if we needed anything. Very good staff. Very nice rooms.

  • Stayed: May 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Anderson_1957
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 24, 2012

This hotel's bathtub was the filthiest I ever seen...I wore flip flops to take a shower.....The bed was uncomfortable, and sheets had cigarette burns everywhere. Very dirty hotel STAY AWAY.

  • Stayed: May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank colemanlatisha
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 25, 2012 via mobile

Trip to Orlando, Fl, with 2 year old! Paid 60 for 1 night. Thought it was expensive but we were tired & just wanted to sleep the night! The room is outdated, smelly, cigarette burns on sheets! Definitely not worth that kind o money...

  • Stayed: April 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Miza23
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 24, 2010

We got to the hotel pretty late and to be fair the staff are friendly and keen to ensure that you have settled in well. However, when we got to our rooms there was an appalling smell of mould. Everything was dirty as well. For example, under the beds there were cigarette butts and the chairs also had strange stains on them. The thing that did make us laugh was that when we had a shower, from walking from the shower to the bed bare foot our feet were dirty due to the state of the carpet.

There is nothing to do there, we ended up sitting in a mcdonalds as that was the only thing that had wireless internet. I would AVOID this hotel!

  • Stayed: August 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank jacko1980
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 25, 2010

rooms were clean, people were friendly and we were well taken care of.

Stayed: July 2007, traveled with family
1  Thank ChelseyW2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Richmond
0.1 mi away
Sleep Inn
Sleep Inn
#34 of 82 in Richmond
140 reviews
0.2 mi away
Days Inn Glen Allen
Days Inn Glen Allen
#18 of 23 in Glen Allen
212 reviews
0.5 mi away
Americas Best Value Inn & Suites-Glen Allen/Richmond
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.6 mi away
Econo Lodge-Broad St
Econo Lodge-Broad St
#62 of 82 in Richmond
25 reviews
0.2 mi away
Best Western Plus Glen Allen Inn
4.3 mi away
Clarion Hotel Richmond Central
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Econo Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Econo Lodge

Address: 8350 Brook Road, Richmond, VA 23227-1106
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Virginia > Richmond
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #60 of 82 Hotels in Richmond
Price Range: $54 - $100 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Econo Lodge 2*
Number of rooms: 31
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Choice Hotels, Priceline, Expedia, Travelocity, Orbitz, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Econo Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Econo Lodge Richmond
Richmond Econo Lodge

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing