We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Centrally located, clean & comfortable.”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Clarion Hotel Richmond Central
Ranked #68 of 82 Hotels in Richmond
Reviewed September 16, 2012

Just a one night stay by a couple of non-smoking seniors with a dog. First they are pet-friendly but the $25/night was a little steep. We typically look for hotel coupons when travelling on I-95. There were none for this hotel. The location (I95 exit 78) was just 3 miles from where we were visiting. The internet sites had a higher rate than what the concierge offered, plus we used our AAA card for a further discount. The parking was convenient, the room was CLEAN, did not smell, and was well insulated because we never heard the traffic from nearby I95. We also liked that they had 2 sinks in the room. Reviews of other hotels and chains in Richmond had us concerned about bugs, cleanliness and safety. This hotel was fine we'd stay there again.

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank SusieNavigator
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (220)
There are newer reviews for Clarion Hotel Richmond Central
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

199 - 205 of 220 reviews

Reviewed September 10, 2012

This is a very clean motel. Beds are very comfortable. Employees are helpful and seem to enjoy their jobs. This was my first stay at this motel, but not my last. I will be staying here again next year for the Nascar races. I've been staying the last 6 years at the Quality Inn on Broad St. This was my best move of the year.
Jack Concord,N.C.

  • Stayed: September 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Jack H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 3, 2012 via mobile

The only reason I could see staying here is that it's walking distance to the minor league ball park. I noticed an odor the moment I walked in the door which I thought was a result of the air conditioner leaking inside the room. What I didn't know until I went to lay down to sleep is that the smell was actually urine where sombody went to the bathroom on the floor between the beds. I can't believe this room was even being rented considering the building I was in was nearly empty.

  • Stayed: September 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Sweetlu4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 24, 2012

2 queen beds room hasnt renovated yet. A king bed room has flat screen tv, better bed, better towels and better smell. Friendly service and nice holel. Breakfast is ignored. No cup. No bowl. No fork. I told frontdesk that there was no bowl left. No one came and fill it up so i just a cup to have cereal.

  • Stayed: August 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Nanasify
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 24, 2012

Stayed with our daughter for a lacrosse event in Midlothian, about 20 minutes away. Room was spacious and fairly clean, slightly rundown. Large balcony, decent quality towels and bedding. Plenty of parking. This is a big, rambling '70s style hotel that has been updated, consisting of several buildings. The pool area is very pretty. Dining room nice but free breakfast a bit below average: oatmeal, cereals, muffins, bagels. No eggs or waffle maker. They do have a restaurant and you can order breakfast off of a menu. Most importantly, we slept well and comfortably with no noise or disturbances. Would recommend.

  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Karen E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 23, 2012

We arrived for a one night stay, there had been a mix up on the reservation and they were expecting us the next weekend. The front desk clerk was very accomodating and gave an option of 2 rooms. The first one was on the outside of the facility and there was a large pickup truck with large dual exhausts pointed right at the room door about 8 feet away. We went back and asked for the inside room which happened to be located directly next to the main stairway. We took it anyway and the Saturday night proved quiet despite the location.

We did not use any of the other facilities but there were people using the workout room. Since it was rainy, no one was in the pool but it looked well-maintained.

The room was good-sized and clean. The wall paper was pulling away in a few places. The air conditioner cooled the room well. The bathroom was clean and well-stocked but with a few chips and discolorations on the wall. But the beds were very comfortable and the TV worked great. The internet was free and worked well.

The breakfast had a few bagels, corn muffins and baked goods. The cold cereal had just too choices. The bananas and oranges had too much green coloration for my liking. The oatmeal was very good and appreciated. But there was not much there for choices. The ambience of the dining room was excellent, did not match up well with the styrofoam plates and cups.

The staff were very helpful and friendly.

  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank PassOut76
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 15, 2012

The Clarion on North Blvd. was clean. The staff wasn't real friendly but our stay was comfortable. Our room was clean, and seemed to be renovated in the last couple of years. When we travel we don't spend much time at the hotel so we didn't use any of the facilities.(swimming pool, exercise equipment, etc.). We were on the second floor and didn't use the elevator. The breakfast had fruit, bagels, bread and muffins. Not much to chose from but the price of our night stay was very reasonable. I would stay there again.

Room Tip: We stayed Wednesday through Friday so there weren't many people staying there. We were on the 2n...
  • Stayed: June 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank cynl57
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Richmond hotels
1.8 mi away
Holiday Inn Richmond I 64 West End
4.1 mi away
Sleep Inn
Sleep Inn
#34 of 82 in Richmond
140 reviews
7.9 mi away
Red Roof Inn - Richmond South
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
7.8 mi away
Holiday Inn Richmond South-Bells Road
5.0 mi away
Quality Inn West End
Quality Inn West End
#42 of 82 in Richmond
235 reviews
7.6 mi away
Candlewood Suites Richmond Airport
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Clarion Hotel Richmond Central? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Clarion Hotel Richmond Central

Address: 3207 N Boulevard, Richmond, VA 23230-4225 (Formerly Holiday Inn Central)
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Virginia > Richmond
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #68 of 82 Hotels in Richmond
Price Range: $54 - $104 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Clarion Hotel Richmond Central 3*
Number of rooms: 176
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to Clarion Hotel Richmond Central....Close To Everything...Far From Ordinary! Richmond's most centrally located hotel is just off I-95 & I-64 in the heart of Virginia's state capital. Closet Hotel to Greyhound Bus Lines, The Diamond and Race Track. One of the city's convention properties, we are just minutes from the Greater Richmond Convention Center. The historic and financial districts (including numerous Fortune 500 companies, Virginia Commonwealth University, Virginia Union University and the vast array of 'Museums on the Boulevard' are minutes from our door! The Richmond Raceway Complex, home to twice yearly NASCAR races is within miles of our hotel, and we are within walking distance of the Arthur Ashe Center. Clarion Hotel Richmond Central offers 176 deluxe accommodations, including three suites. The Executive King building with 32" Flat Screen LCD and Mirco/Fridge. We unveiled our new 'queen/queen' guest rooms! ZODIAC Restaurant & Lounge is open for breakfast and dinner daily. Our parking is plentiful - and complimentary! High -speed wireless Internet access is free and available property wide. . Our flexible meeting space can accommodate groups up to 600! At Clarion Richmond Central- memorable guest experiences happen daily! ** On To Richmond!' ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Choice Hotels, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia, Priceline, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, HotelsforEveryone, Agoda, Cancelon, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Clarion Hotel Richmond Central reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Richmond
Central Holiday Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing