We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“What a dump”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Holiday Inn Richmond I 64 West End
Ranked #42 of 81 Hotels in Richmond
GreenLeadersBronze level
Rochester, ny
Level Contributor
22 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“What a dump”
Reviewed November 23, 2013

They gave the new sign and lobby but that's about it. Place was a major dump in a scary location. Room was old, dated and trashed. No cover on heating unit. Just really not up to the current holiday inn standards. I'd find so egging close but sure not here again!

Room Tip: Pick another hitel
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Cbrooks294
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IHGCare, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Richmond I 64 West End, responded to this review, December 9, 2013
Dear Cbrooks294,

Thank you for taking the time to your review. We apologize for the shortfalls during your recent stay with us. We constantly strive to provide an environment of comfort and value to our guests, therefore, we are sincerely concerned when we fall short of your expectations. We have taken note of your valuable comments and will use these to monitor and improve the quality of services we offer to our guests.

Thank you for staying with us, and we hope to have an opportunity to serve you again.

Sincerely,

Ferdinand G
Case Manager
IHGCare
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

210 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    48
    53
    43
    33
    33
See reviews for
45
26
18
74
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (32)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Glass House Mountains, Australia
Level Contributor
14 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed November 22, 2013

Was totally unimpressed with this hotel. I was so glad that we only had one night there and will not be going back again. We had a king sized room. A small list of the issues were:
* No luggage rack in the room so both suitcases ended up either on the floor or the couch (which meant that we then sat on the bed.
* The airconditioning was chronic. It had only two fan speeds - low and high (auto was not working) so it meant that the fan was blowing all the time. On low speed it sounded like a chaff cutter, on high speed it was like a supersonic jet. I had to turn it off halfway through the night so I could get some sleep.
* The chair at the desk was ripped and torn. I only sat on it with a towel on the seat because in places it was through to the foam.
* The bathroom was the size of a mouse hole. Okay, I don't care if a bathroom is small as long as it has the essentials. In this case the basin took up the entire vanity area (they even had a wall rack with the soap, shampoo etc because it wouldn't fit on the vanity. There was no space to put anything down. To reach the toilet paper when sitting on the loo you needed to bend forwards and around a corner to the front of the vanity. And the non skid mat in the bottom of the bath was not stuck down properly, so guess what - it slipped!! The one light in th bathroom was small and yellow so it was totally useless for putting on makeup.
* Everything in the room looked tired and run down. Wall paper was peeling off the walls and there was mould marks under the window.
* Dinner time - hmmm - my first choice became a no go when they told me they didn't have the ingredients to make it. I admit my second choice was nice and well cooked. Dessert - there are five choices on the menu. When we indicated that we would like dessert the waitress (who also doubles as the bartender because there are so few people to serve) disappeared, we assumed to get the menus again. No - she came back and told us that there was cheesecake available for dessert. One choice out of five?? Guess what - we didn't have dessert.
* Breakfast this morning - we had to go and ask for our vouchers because we had paid for a room and breakfast package. When we got downstairs for brekky the lady on duty asked us for our voucher. When we said we didn't have one she told us we would have to pay. We told her we had paid in our room package. We then had to go to the reception desk to get our vouchers. In my opinion the staff member should have a list of those who have already paid and not put the onus back on us to prove that we had paid (in fact we prepaid our hotel six months ago).
So as you can see it hasn't been the happiest of stays. I am a priority club member and stay in Holiday Inn's all the time. In fact I'm sitting in another one while I am typing this review. We are on a 4 week holiday and staying at Holiday Inn properties exclusively. This one is brilliant (Lynchburg - separate review tomorrow). My advice - find another motel in Richmond, VA (Holiday Inn or not). Just don't stay at the one on I64 West End.

Room Tip: Lots of traffic noise both at the front and back of the hotel. Just don't go there
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank PossumMum
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
holinn, Public Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Richmond I 64 West End, responded to this review, November 25, 2013
Dear Guest PossumMum,

I want to first apologize for these issues you encounteres here with us and assure that this is not a standard of service that management agrees with. I would love to have some direct communication with you to further discuss your stay

M. Hymes
Assistant General Manager
mhymes@holidayinni64.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Richmond hotels

Houston, Texas
Level Contributor
55 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed October 29, 2013

I had a room on the eighth floor, so I got a very nice view. The room was big and clean and perfect for what I needed.

The guy who checked me in was very nice, and even greeted me by name when he saw me walk by the next day.

Breakfast looked good, but was much too expensive for me to try it!

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank txag08
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
holinn, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Richmond I 64 West End, responded to this review, October 30, 2013
Dear Guest txag08,

Thank you for allowing us to be of service to and we thank you for giving us the valuable feedback.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Richmond, Virginia
1 review
Reviewed October 18, 2013

We have been meeting at the Holiday Inn every month for a few years now. Their staff is OUTSTANDING. They could not be more accommodating. Max goes above and beyond any coordinator I've ever dealt with. They make every event easy and delicious. Can't thank them enough for all of their hard work.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Amanda F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chesapeake, Virginia
Level Contributor
9 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed October 14, 2013

Hubby and I stayed the weekend here to go to the Virginia folk festival. Location was perfect--right across from the free shuttle lot. The room was large and quiet with a comfortable bed. It obviously was not new, but was reasonably clean. But don't expect any extras. Breakfast is not free, it is very expensive! And you might better bring your own sugar and creamer for the measly little cup of coffee you can make in the room.
Perhaps the scariest part is that the check in clerk announced to everyone that "the back door is never locked. You (and anybody else in the world) can get in any time." I would not have felt safe if I were traveling alone. We did note that they were scrupleous in changing the room key with every guest change.
Would I stay here again? Yes. A clean, comfortable bed in the right location at the right price works for me.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank JeannieRN
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
holinn, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Richmond I 64 West End, responded to this review, October 17, 2013
Dear Guest JeannieRN,

We thank you for staying with us and for providing us with great feedback. We can't wait to be of service to you again. I would love to communicate with you more on your stay.

Marvin Hymes
Assistant General Manager
mhymes@holidayinni64.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Raleigh, North Carolina
Level Contributor
144 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 80 helpful votes
Reviewed October 14, 2013

Stayed here one night on way to Philly. Booked hotel thru priceline and it was fine for one night. Front desk kindly changed us to two beds when realized that my sister and I were staying in the room. The walls were kinda thin, could here kids yelling in hallway. There was also a lack of plugs. We plugged clock on nightstand in order to charge cell phones. Plenty of restaurants close by so don't have to rely on hotel restaurant for meals. Close to highways and easy to get to.

Stayed October 2013, traveled with family
Helpful?
Thank bk_essence
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IHGCare, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Richmond I 64 West End, responded to this review, October 31, 2013
Dear bk_essence ,

Thank you so much for taking the time to leave us your feedback. Your comments are highly valuable to us and will assist us in our continuous efforts to maintain and improve the service level we aim for. I am pleased to know that you had a satisfactory stay at our hotel and apologize for the shortfalls you have encountered. I appreciate feedback that we receive, whether positive and negative to ensure we provide the best level of service and facilities that we can give to our guests. Thank you again for your review and I hope to have an opportunity of welcoming you back again soon.

Sincerely,

Krysllin G.
Case Manager
IHGCare
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Williamsburg, Virginia
Level Contributor
41 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed September 9, 2013

Our room was dusty. One of us took a shower and it was short-lived. Yes.. mold. We all checked the dusty room for other problems and there were plenty: No vacuuming in corners, wallpaper peeling, etc. Very early the next morning, check out 8 different rooms: all had various stages of filth. A long talk with manager did not satisfy us. Room was refunded, but please, do not try this hotel. It needs more than just a new management team.

Room Tip: Choose another hotel
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Tony A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
holinn, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Richmond I 64 West End, responded to this review, September 11, 2013
Dear Guest Tony A,

We thank you for staying with us and it was unfortunate we were not able to reach the proper level of service that we promise our guest. We assure you based on face to face conversation that this is not our practice. And again thank you for staying with us and taking the time to give feedback

Marvin Hymes
Assistant General Manager
mhymes@holidayinni64.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Richmond
1.4 mi away
Courtyard Richmond West
Courtyard Richmond West
#23 of 81 in Richmond
197 reviews
1.6 mi away
Candlewood Suites Richmond - West Broad
1.8 mi away
Clarion Hotel Richmond Central
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.3 mi away
Embassy Suites by Hilton Richmond
1.5 mi away
Residence Inn Richmond West End
2.0 mi away
The Westin Richmond
The Westin Richmond
#3 of 81 in Richmond
703 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Holiday Inn Richmond I 64 West End? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Richmond I 64 West End

Property: Holiday Inn Richmond I 64 West End
Address: 2000 Staples Mill Rd, Richmond, VA 23230-3109
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Virginia > Richmond
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#7 Green Hotel in Richmond
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Holiday Inn Richmond I 64 West End 3.5*
Number of rooms: 144
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Conveniently located off historic Broad Street near the I-64 and I-95 intersection, the Holiday Inn(R) Richmond - I-64 West End hotel offers easy access to everything "The River City" has to offer. The hotel is two miles from the Amtrak station and near Richmond International Speedway and downtown attractions. The surrounding neighborhood features several shops and restaurants, as well as business parks home to Fortune 500 companies. Our hotel's location is ideally close to historic Monument Avenue and a number of shopping centers like Willow Lawn and Crossroads. A short drive away, you'll find many attractions in bustling downtown Richmond, VA. The hotel is also near Richmond International Speedway and just five miles from famed Hollywood Cemetery. Business travelers appreciate our proximity to major corporations headquartered in Richmond, VA. Our hotel is close to Wellpoint, Anthem, Altria, Sears, Martins and more. On-site, the convenient 24-hour Business Center is equipped with copy, fax, print and Internet service. Hotel amenities include Crossroads Bar and Grille, a Fitness Center and free high-speed, wireless Internet access throughout the hotel. Visit Richmond, Virginia and enjoy the comforts of home at the Holiday Inn(R) Richmond - I-64 West End hotel. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with IHG, Booking.com, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Orbitz, Travelocity, Priceline, Hotwire, Hotels.com, Hotel.de, Cheap Tickets, Cancelon, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Holiday Inn Richmond I 64 West End reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Richmond i 64 West End Hotel Richmond
Crossroads Holiday Inn
Richmond Holiday Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing