We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The Staff was very caring.”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Holiday Inn Richmond I 64 West End
Ranked #47 of 82 Hotels in Richmond
GreenLeadersBronze level
Reviewed July 8, 2013

We were unable to stay because after we entered our room, we found out that the handicap toilet did not fit my husband's needs. There was no railing around the toilet and the seat was too low. Also, the railing was in the back of the toilet which didn't allow him a way to pull up after using the toilet. Also, he needed a roll-in shower. I went back down to the front desk and spoke to the lady on duty. Her name was Dawn Scott and she was very polite and accommodating to me. She apologized profusely. At that time, she appeared to be very busy, being the on, only one on duty during the busiest part of the day. But that did not stop her from trying to help us with our situation. She got on the phone and called the Holiday Inn Express to see if they could accommodate my husband, even though she was very busy at that time. She found us a room their (Holiday Inn Express) and sent us on our way. After arriving at the Holiday Inn Express, and attempting to check in, we found that our credit card had already been charged at the previous Holiday Inn. Our card was denied and having no other means of paying. My son- in- law, who was with us at that time, paid for our rooms at that Holiday Inn. That clerk was not very receptive to our predicament. She practically shoved us aside, and which was embarrassing to us especially when there was a crowd standing around waiting to be served, thank God for my son- in-law or we really would have been in a fix. After, arriving to our room, I immediately got on the phone and called Dawn Scott who was the receptionist at the previous Holiday Inn. She was sorry to hear of our predicament and said she would do everything in her power to help us to get our money put back on our card. She explained to my husband what he needed to do. So we called our bank and was directed to the wrong department, who after we explained again what our situation was , we were finally directed to the correct department at our bank. After speaking with an employee at the bank, who then told us that we needed to do a three way call to the receptionist at the Holiday Inn. I phoned Dawn again, ( who had already stated that if we needed anymore help to call her), which, we did. At the time, dawn was not at the front desk, but, another employee was able to reach her. I told her what the bank had said and she said to call them back and she would get on the line with us while we called the bank. We called the bank, (getting the right department this time) and told them what our problem was, we were told what to do, which we did and they told Dawn to hang up, got her number and called her back to get the information they needed from the Hotel. Dawn went beyond the " call of duty" to help us. During the time she waited for the bank to call her back, she was off duty. I have never in all of my years staying at hotels, have I ever had any employee to care enough about us to go out of their way to help us. Dawn was very professional, courteous, polite, caring understanding, helpful, and lots of other words to describe what a wonderful and caring person she was.

If the other receptionist at the Holiday Inn Express had been as caring and understanding , we could have also gotten our
our problem resolved. Our money was refunded and thanks to Dawn Scott at the Holiday inn at 2000 Staples Mill Road in Richmond, VA, our vacation was very enjoyable. Dawn Scott should be rewarded for her caring and wonderful attitude.


Note: We are both senior citizens in our 70's and to us having someone who cares about the elderly and not just push them aside because you were too busy and when you found out their card was denied, that meant your job was done. That other receptionist could haven been a little more understanding. All she needed to do was get on the phone, call the other Holiday Inn, to see if anything could be done. I explained to her when we arrived that Dawn said she didn't think we would have a problem with our card. She told me that if Dawn told me that, then she was wrong.

We had saved up just to go on this trip only to have it turn out to be a nightmare. I will never ever forget what Dawn did to help us. Especially, when she was off duty. We were a long ways from home and if it weren't for Dawn, we had no idea what we would have done, especially, since all the money we had was "tied up", in our credit card.

  • Stayed: June 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank JeanieLy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IHGCare, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Richmond I 64 West End, responded to this reviewResponded July 28, 2013

Dear JeanieLy,

We appreciate that you took the time to leave a detailed review of your stay with us. We value your comments, as they enable us to further improve our services and to surpass the very high standards our guests expect.

First and foremost, I am truly sorry to hear your troubles and how it negatively affected your visit. I sincerely apologize for the inconvenience you had with your reservation and the issues you had with your credit card. Despite your dissatisfaction, I am happy that your issues were resolved and pleased at how our staff diligently assisted you in rectifying these unsatisfactory circumstances.

We thank you for your valuable feedbak and the special mention you have made to a member of our team. Your comments will certainly be looked into and necessary actions will be taken. It is only with both positive and negative feedback that we can strive to improve our service to our guests and I do hope that this incident will not deter you from staying with us again.

Sincerely,

Dhan M
Case Manager
IHGCare

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (215)
There are newer reviews for Holiday Inn Richmond I 64 West End
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

118 - 124 of 215 reviews

Reviewed June 16, 2013

If you're looking for shady parking lot behavior and a card game in the lounge, this is the place. Unfortunately, I'm not. The staff was great - in fact, if I were rating the staff, this property would receive an excellent rating. However, upon checking in to my room I noticed the carpet had not been vacuumed. In fact, there were nail clippings on the carpet. As I was leaving for dinner, I asked the front desk clerk if he could have housekeeping "just vacuum it all up real quick". He said that he would get them right on it. When I returned, it hadn't been done. The next morning, I asked again - same reply. Got back from a work, and guess what? Nope - no vacuum (even though I left a note and a $5 bill on the TV stand - which was obviously taken). As I left for dinner that evening, I asked again. This time I was told, "if I can't get housekeeping, I will personally go do it". When I returned back, it hadn't been done. So.... the next morning I asked ONE MORE TIME. Not done again when I returned - so I just gave up.

Also, there are some shady things going down behind the hotel. I watched multiple cars pull up to one car, a lot of quick conversations before driving off, and some strange "crying / hugging episode". The lounge is weird - on one side there is a nice looking bar, and on the other side are some thugs playing cards who are locals.....?......

It's a shame, because I am a Sales Manager for a local company and am relocating to the area. I need a place to safely put up a lot of people multiple times per year, and I'm just not sure this place would make a good impression.... It's a shame because the staff seemed awesome... Not sure what the deal was.

Also, the hotel hallways were INCREDIBLY HOT. You'd walk outside your room and be drenched with sweat by the time you got downstairs. The pool looked okay, but there were always a group of middle-aged shady looking people hanging out by the pool - not a place to "send the kids".

Room Tip: Nowhere near the back unless you want a good view of shady stuff all night long.
  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Steve P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IHGCare, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Richmond I 64 West End, responded to this reviewResponded July 1, 2013

Dear Steve P,

Thank you for your recent stay with us and reviewing our property. Our staff always goes out of their way to be helpful and attentive to the guests and I am glad that you enjoyed their hospitality. Please accept our apologies for falling short of your expectations with the condition of our facilities. We have taken note of your valuable comments and will use these to monitor and improve the quality of services we offer to our guests.

Once again, thank you for your thoughtful comments. We look forward to the opportunity of serving you again in the future.

Sincerely,

Karen C
Case Manager
IHGCare

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 12, 2013

I was in Richmond with family for my son's High School graduation. My nerves were bad when I arrived but the staff calmed me down. The manager on duty that checked me in was Brandon Terry. He ensured me I would enjoy my stay and I did. The room was clean and fresh smelling. The graduation went great and I was happy. Upon my check out, I noticed I lost my wallet. I reported it to Brandon and the entire staff of the hotel went into action. Five minutes later, my wallet was recovered. To top it off Brandon took care of my breakfast for my family. The management and staff really showed me they cared. I would recommend this hotel to anyone and I would stay here anytime I have business here in Richmond, Va.

Room Tip: Odd floors have ice machines
  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Big_Bro_2013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 12, 2013

I used priceline to purchase this hotel, so beggars can not be choosers. It worked for one night but will never stay here again.

Rooms - muggy, clean on the surface but dirty and not well kept when you look below the surface.

Parking - Limited close to hotel entrance but it worked for us.

Lobby - Quick and easy check-in the gentleman working the desk was friendly but not welcoming.

Restaurant - HORRENDOUS SERVICE! The bar was moderately busy and the bartender/waitress was noticeably absent. When we finally just went to the bar to order drinks, I inquired about a certain beer asking if it was an IPA. She said "NO" - it was an IPA. Asked for menu's which were provided. 30 minutes later she asked us "What do you want" - I stated my check and we left..

I would never stay at this property again. This Holiday Inn does not live up to its standards.

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Wes F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IHGCare, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Richmond I 64 West End, responded to this reviewResponded June 26, 2013

Dear Wes F,

Thank you for taking the time to provide feedback on your stay. It is unfortunate the service received in the restaurant prevented you from fully enjoying your time at the hotel. We are confident the necessary adjustments will be made, in order to achieve complete guest satisfaction.

Thank you again for your comments, we look forward to serving you in the future.

Sincerely,

Ben J
Case Manager
IHGCare

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 4, 2013

I was there about two weeks ago for a volleyball tournament and stayed here. Checking in the hotel a guy by the name Brandon Terry helped us. He was very nice and gave us advice about the attractions around the area. My room was very cozy and clean. Overall my experience will make me return to this location next year.

  • Stayed: May 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Vball_mom1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 30, 2013

I arrived in Richmond by train over the weekend and had NO IDEA where anything was or how to get around...thank goodness for the staff at this hotel! Not only did Matthew pick me up from the train station, the staff was so informative and helpful, I had no problem finding anything. The hotel was nice as well, there was always someone there to answer any questions and help with any issues I had.

Room Tip: Higher floors are quieter
  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Anthony C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 28, 2013

I stay here regularly and the hotel is great. the staff is top notch, especially Matthew. He really went out of his way to make my stay absolutely fantastic. The hotel was located in a great part of town and the bar stayed open as long as i wanted to drink. lol

  • Stayed: May 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Adan6544
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Richmond
1.6 mi away
Candlewood Suites Richmond - West Broad
1.4 mi away
Courtyard Richmond West
Courtyard Richmond West
#23 of 82 in Richmond
216 reviews
2.3 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Richmond/Glenside
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.8 mi away
Clarion Hotel Richmond Central
2.4 mi away
Embassy Suites by Hilton Richmond
4.0 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Downtown Richmond
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Holiday Inn Richmond I 64 West End? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Richmond I 64 West End

Address: 2000 Staples Mill Rd, Richmond, VA 23230-3109
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Virginia > Richmond
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#7 Green Hotel in Richmond
Price Range: $99 - $157 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Holiday Inn Richmond I 64 West End 3.5*
Number of rooms: 144
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Conveniently located off historic Broad Street near the I-64 and I-95 intersection, the Holiday Inn(R) Richmond - I-64 West End hotel offers easy access to everything "The River City" has to offer. The hotel is two miles from the Amtrak station and near Richmond International Speedway and downtown attractions. The surrounding neighborhood features several shops and restaurants, as well as business parks home to Fortune 500 companies. Our hotel's location is ideally close to historic Monument Avenue and a number of shopping centers like Willow Lawn and Crossroads. A short drive away, you'll find many attractions in bustling downtown Richmond, VA. The hotel is also near Richmond International Speedway and just five miles from famed Hollywood Cemetery. Business travelers appreciate our proximity to major corporations headquartered in Richmond, VA. Our hotel is close to Wellpoint, Anthem, Altria, Sears, Martins and more. On-site, the convenient 24-hour Business Center is equipped with copy, fax, print and Internet service. Hotel amenities include Crossroads Bar and Grille, a Fitness Center and free high-speed, wireless Internet access throughout the hotel. Visit Richmond, Virginia and enjoy the comforts of home at the Holiday Inn(R) Richmond - I-64 West End hotel. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with IHG, Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Travelocity, Cancelon, Orbitz, Hotwire, HotelQuickly, Cheap Tickets, Agoda and getaroom.com so you can book your Holiday Inn Richmond I 64 West End reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Richmond i 64 West End Hotel Richmond
Crossroads Holiday Inn
Richmond Holiday Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing