We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“rude staff”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Holiday Inn Richmond I 64 West End
Ranked #46 of 82 Hotels in Richmond
GreenLeadersBronze level
Reviewed January 12, 2013

stayed here several times over the years. rooms are nice and updated but this place has really changed. desk staff is not very friendly and seemed put out to be bothered to check me in. i used to like this location.

Room Tip: stay somewhere else
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank beachbum045
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IHGCare, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Richmond I 64 West End, responded to this reviewResponded January 29, 2013

Dear beachbum045,

Thank you for taking the time to write your review following your recent stay. It is nice to hear that you are a regular visitor to the hotel. I'm sorry to see you received service that was less than satisfactory. I have taken note of your comments regarding the front desk staff, these will be passed on to the appropriate department. We greatly appreciate your feedback as this gives us the avenue to improve on our guest satisfaction.

If there is anything we can do to make your next stay more comfortable, please do not hesitate to ask the Manager on Duty.

Sincerely,

Connie D
Case Manager
IHGCare

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (217)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

147 - 153 of 217 reviews

Reviewed November 12, 2012

I stayed here the night before the Richmond Marathon (9 Nov 2012). Check-in was a lengthy process because of short staffing. The guy that helped me was nice, but his colleague (female) was rough around the edges. The room was ok - not great, not bad. They let me check out a little later than usual because I ran the marathon, so I appreciated that.

  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Matt P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
holinn, Front Office Manager at Holiday Inn Richmond I 64 West End, responded to this reviewResponded December 6, 2012

Thank you for recently staying with us and congratulations on finishing your race. We want to thank you for staying with us. We do appreciate your patience in the check-in process. We do our absolute best to make sure that all of our guests are taken care of and enjoy their stay. Thank you for responding and we hope to see you in the future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 27, 2012

This was not a great experience for 1 major reason. The staff is rude and unprofessional. I did NOT have 1 single experience with an employee that didn't tick me off. When I checked in, I got ...."last name please" instead of hello, the front desk staff does not have a clue how to treat a priority club member or any guest for that matter.

The woman who worked in the restaurant for breakfast horrible. We had coupons for breakfast, but they were apparently only for continental and she basically yelled at us for trying to get eggs, which she then threw away! She was so defensive, it was as if her job is to guard the bacon and not serve paying hotel guests!!

The ONLY reason I am not giving this place 1 star was because the beds were very comfy, That's it
I will never stay here again and a word to the general manager, fire everyone and start from scratch unless you want to close this hotel.

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Tony C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
holinn, Sales Manager at Holiday Inn Richmond I 64 West End, responded to this reviewResponded November 6, 2012

Dear Tony,

I would like to personally apologize for any mistreatment you may have suffered due to the performance of the associates here our property. As it is our intent to provide hospitality above anything else. We make that promise and I assure you everyone that’s affiliated with this property work to maintain that promise. When that is not done that disappoints me, and I thank you for bringing this to our attention cause it allows for growth within our staff. Myself or my GM would love to have a direct conversation with you I have included our direct contact information.

Thank You

Robert Peters
General Manager
804- 521-5480
rpeters@holidayinni64.com

Marvin Hymes
Sales Manager
Holiday Inn I64 Westend
804 521-5482
administrator@holidayinni64.com

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 18, 2012

This place is disgusting. Dirty, filthy, run down. My room smelled like it had been sprayed with bug killer (and probably had). Soap dish had black scum on it (see photo). Wallpaper peeling off the wall (see photo. No remote for the TV. Something I've never seen...the insulating glass in the window had water in it! (see photo). I reserved a room for $85 and when I checked in they tried to charge me $125. when I checked out, I was charged twice! I could go on and on, but won't bother. If you decide to stay here, you deserve what you get.

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank HotelsPro
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
holinn, Sales Manager at Holiday Inn Richmond I 64 West End, responded to this reviewResponded October 25, 2012

Dear Mr Hotelpro

I would like to first on behalf of the Holiday Inn I64 Westend thank you for the opportunity to be of service to you. I do apologize that our service fell short of our standards and your satisfaction. Through human error, you were given access to a room that should have been off market, As you clearly noticed. I can't apologize enough for our error and would love to communicate more with you on this issue in a more direct manner. Please contact us.

Robert Peters GM
rpeters@holidayinni64.com
(804) 359 - 6061

Marvin Hymes Sales Manager (myself)
administrator@holidayinni64.com
(804) 521 - 5482

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 3, 2012

Walked in to a lobby full of drunks. Not a great first impression. Front desk lady was very nice, rooms were nice and clean...wasn't impressed with the AC unit being old school, but everything elsed seemed to be updated, in the room. Elevators were very dated and slow.

Do NOT fall for the breakfast scheme...they're $11.95 buffet is what you get for free at a lot of places. Also, the "waitress" didn't tell this one group until after they got their plates and started eating that it was not free and it was $11.95. We were thankful that we asked about it when we checked in and got some "deal" that our family of 3 could eat the deluxe breakfast for a total of $16 instead of $12 each...we would have been happier eating at McDonalds.

Overall, it worked for us, for one night. We would not recommend it and would not stay here again,

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank jayandwhitney
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
holinn, Front Office Manager at Holiday Inn Richmond I 64 West End, responded to this reviewResponded September 4, 2012

First of all, I would like to say that we appreciate your business and for staynig with us. We apologize that we did not meet your expectations. We are steadily striving to improve our hotel property and make it more pleasing to our guests so that they may have a comfortable and enjoyable stay. We certainly appreciate you responding and letting us know the areas we need to improve.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 2, 2012

The only good point about this hotel is that there are a number of fairly good eating places nearby. The hotel is way outdated. Needs to be renovated. Rooms, carpets, and fixtures are old and worn out. Rooms do not have thermostats and the AC blasts out hard right next to where you are sleeping. Typical of 1970s Holiday Inns that have not kept up. Even at breakfast, the cereal bowls were not 100% clean as they still had food particles attached. Not awful, but stay somewhere else if choices priced the same.

  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank skordane
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
holinn, Front Office Manager at Holiday Inn Richmond I 64 West End, responded to this reviewResponded September 6, 2012

First and foremost, thank you for staying at our hotel property. We appreciate your business, but are saddened that we did not meet your expectations. While we are continuing to improve our hotel property and provide excellent service to our guest, we appreciate you letting us know our weak areas and where we still lack in hospitality for our guests. Again, we do apologize for those inconveniences you have experienced.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 16, 2012

Pros:great breakfast, comfortable beds/pillows, friendly staff, non-smoking rooms.

Cons:Filthy public bathroom, not enough counter space in the guest bathroom, horrible location for a hotel, and dingy carpet in public areas.

Overall:My family and I did not had a enjoyable time at this hotel. We're stayed at few Holiday Inn in the past and this is by far the worst holiday Inn we've stayed in. I was very disappointed because other Holiday Inn have stayed in we were very satisfied.

  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank JustSomeJoe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
holinn, Front Office Manager at Holiday Inn Richmond I 64 West End, responded to this reviewResponded August 29, 2012

Thank you for your recent stay with us. We appreciate your business at our hotel property. We are saddened that our hotel did not meet your expectations during your hotel stay. We always strive to make our guest comfortable and that they enjoy their stay. We certainly apologize for failing to meet your needs. Please feel free to call us directly so that we can better improve our customer service in the future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Richmond
7 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Richmond E - Midlothian Trnpke
1.4 mi away
Courtyard Richmond West
Courtyard Richmond West
#22 of 82 in Richmond
232 reviews
3.5 mi away
Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Richmond West at I-64
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Downtown Richmond
2.3 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Richmond/Glenside
1.9 mi away
DoubleTree by Hilton Richmond-Midlothian
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Holiday Inn Richmond I 64 West End? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Richmond I 64 West End

Address: 2000 Staples Mill Rd, Richmond, VA 23230-3109
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Virginia > Richmond
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#7 Green Hotel in Richmond
Price Range: $86 - $138 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Holiday Inn Richmond I 64 West End 3.5*
Number of rooms: 144
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Conveniently located off historic Broad Street near the I-64 and I-95 intersection, the Holiday Inn(R) Richmond - I-64 West End hotel offers easy access to everything "The River City" has to offer. The hotel is two miles from the Amtrak station and near Richmond International Speedway and downtown attractions. The surrounding neighborhood features several shops and restaurants, as well as business parks home to Fortune 500 companies. Our hotel's location is ideally close to historic Monument Avenue and a number of shopping centers like Willow Lawn and Crossroads. A short drive away, you'll find many attractions in bustling downtown Richmond, VA. The hotel is also near Richmond International Speedway and just five miles from famed Hollywood Cemetery. Business travelers appreciate our proximity to major corporations headquartered in Richmond, VA. Our hotel is close to Wellpoint, Anthem, Altria, Sears, Martins and more. On-site, the convenient 24-hour Business Center is equipped with copy, fax, print and Internet service. Hotel amenities include Crossroads Bar and Grille, a Fitness Center and free high-speed, wireless Internet access throughout the hotel. Visit Richmond, Virginia and enjoy the comforts of home at the Holiday Inn(R) Richmond - I-64 West End hotel. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Priceline, Hotwire, Orbitz, Cancelon, HotelQuickly, TripOnline SA and getaroom.com so you can book your Holiday Inn Richmond I 64 West End reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Richmond i 64 West End Hotel Richmond
Crossroads Holiday Inn
Richmond Holiday Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing