We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Simple”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Holiday Inn Richmond I 64 West End
Ranked #46 of 82 Hotels in Richmond
GreenLeadersBronze level
Reviewed November 1, 2011

The hotel may not be rated a five star but the employees deserve the rating. The women we dealt with were courteous, kind and above all else, attentive to our needs. The linens were crisp and the bed was comfortable. For the price we paid, I could not bring myself to find an issue to complain about.

  • Stayed: October 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank mcmalvarez
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (217)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

174 - 180 of 217 reviews

Reviewed September 13, 2011

I stayed at the Holiday Inn, Richmond for 5 straight days in August 2011. My reasons for choosing this hotel was that it was bang opposite the place I had business at and they were offering me a corporate discount. I guess the one thing I would recommend is checking for corporate discounts & also getting on their priority club member list. I just had to give a few simple details at the front desk and I was on it. And thanks to being on that list I had free wireless, free express breakfast and 20% off my dinner throughout my stay. The staff at the friend desk was very friendly and also arranged for pick up from the amtrak station. So I was feeling kind of pleased until I walked into the room. It's a pretty standard room - a bed, a little office table and sofa. Everything looked clean but was very utilitarian - not the plush hotel feel. You definitely need to have low expectations and then you can avoid disappointment. The bathroom was again very tired looking and oh there was a sticky spot on the carpet in the bedroom that I had to tiptoe around. Food is okay at that place and there are a few fast food restaurants nearby. I ordered Chinese food 1 day and had it delivered right to my room. Staff were very nice to arrange a drop to the station late in the evening even though I had checked out by 11am that day. So overall, nice people, good intentions - just need to remind yourself you are checking into a Holiday Inn not a Hilton ;)

  • Stayed: August 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank travelbug45963
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 12, 2011

I was pleased with the aesthetic of the hotel and the conveniences found in the guest room, but the service leaves a lot to be desired.
I didn't have too many issues with housekeeping - just a few hairs in the shower. My co-worker had to change rooms twice, however, due to maintenance and cleanliness issues. The service in the bar/restaurant was horrible, to the point where I actually needed to ask if I needed to pay for the buffet meal I just had. They didn't seem interested in introducing any servers to the table, let alone presenting a bill. The front desk service was fair as far as speed and accuracy, but they clearly wanted to be anywhere but there.

  • Stayed: August 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Chris B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 27, 2011

My wife and I stayed at this property for 3 days in June 2011 when we traveled to Richmond to see our older daughter. It is easy to get to from I-64 and anyone travelling I-95 but not from the area (more on that later) will find this convenient. The building itself is older but the rooms are large and the building services were average.

What we found particularly appealing were the front desk staff. They were very helpful and pleasant to talk too any time of the day or night. This goes a long way when you need some support at 11pm.

Although the restaurant was very nice the breakfast was not included and was more pricey than I would have imagined at ~15/person all in. There are so many options in the area that this is not an issue though.

Because the property is right off Broad at Staples Mill, it is basically one road to get downtown, the museums, Shockoe Bottom, Main or Carey St. These are the places you will likely want to spend time if you're there for pleasure. It was less than 4 miles to just about anything we wanted to see. (now back to my comment above) ... For whatever reason, the locals we met in Richmond, mostly my daughters friends, thought that driving 4-5 miles was "far". They kept encouraging us to stay downtown.

Since we were coming from 360 miles away, the 4 miles we commuted to see them was certainly worth the plentiful parking, ease of access, and convenience to a plethora of local establishments.

Bottom line -- It's an average building with above average people in an area that's convenient for travelers.

Room Tip: Ask for a room on the top two floors as it gets you above the surrounding buildings and the automoti...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Orlando72
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 14, 2011

Our family was coming back from SC and needed a hotel halfway through. Got this so called 3 Star hotel via hotwire, but after booking and learning of our location- I read the prior reviews and was hoping they were wrong.
They were not. Friendly staff however the hotel was filthy, from the dusty AC units to the ripped room chair and carpeting. They did cosmetic renovations with the beds, sink and furniture, but the carpet, bathroom tub/fixtures, floor were from 20 years ago.
The elevator is very tired, dirty and worn...scary.
The outside was packed (100) with people smoking and drinking, and upon asking the staff what was happening- they have Poker Nights Thursday and Sunday nights, not my type of crowd.

Room Tip: Ask to for another hotel
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Walter B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 21, 2011

I am a Platinum Priority Club member so I stay about 90 days a year in Holiday Inn/Exprsses, Crowne Plazas, Intercontinentals. This is the worst Holiday Inn I have ever seen. I was upgraded to a suite, in which I was pleased. Although, the AC unit sounded like a jet taking off in my room. All the furniture had tears, I actually had better furniture in my frat house days. Also, none of the phones in the room worked and when you took a shower you felt like you were filling a bath, as I was done the water was past my ankles. The final shot---THE BED. This is the worst bed I have ever slept in, and I have stayed my share of nights in your budget hotels (i.e. Super 8's, Motel 6's). At one point my wife elected to spend the rest of the night on the pull out sofa. DO NOT STAY HERE FOR ANY REASON.

  • Stayed: May 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank HIExpTraveler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 30, 2011

We had a very pleasant stay. I have to say that was the best restful sleep I have had in over 6 months. Nice and very friendly helpfull staff. My over 2 night stay was a great experience.

  • Stayed: April 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank sunshine111_2002
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Richmond
1.4 mi away
Courtyard Richmond West
Courtyard Richmond West
#22 of 82 in Richmond
232 reviews
7 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Richmond E - Midlothian Trnpke
3.5 mi away
Country Inn & Suites by Radisson, Richmond West at I-64, VA
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Downtown Richmond
3.5 mi away
Quality Inn West End
Quality Inn West End
#43 of 82 in Richmond
247 reviews
5.8 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Richmond I-64 Short Pump Area
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Holiday Inn Richmond I 64 West End? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Richmond I 64 West End

Address: 2000 Staples Mill Rd, Richmond, VA 23230-3109
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Virginia > Richmond
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#7 Green Hotel in Richmond
Price Range: $85 - $139 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Holiday Inn Richmond I 64 West End 3.5*
Number of rooms: 144
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Conveniently located off historic Broad Street near the I-64 and I-95 intersection, the Holiday Inn(R) Richmond - I-64 West End hotel offers easy access to everything "The River City" has to offer. The hotel is two miles from the Amtrak station and near Richmond International Speedway and downtown attractions. The surrounding neighborhood features several shops and restaurants, as well as business parks home to Fortune 500 companies. Our hotel's location is ideally close to historic Monument Avenue and a number of shopping centers like Willow Lawn and Crossroads. A short drive away, you'll find many attractions in bustling downtown Richmond, VA. The hotel is also near Richmond International Speedway and just five miles from famed Hollywood Cemetery. Business travelers appreciate our proximity to major corporations headquartered in Richmond, VA. Our hotel is close to Wellpoint, Anthem, Altria, Sears, Martins and more. On-site, the convenient 24-hour Business Center is equipped with copy, fax, print and Internet service. Hotel amenities include Crossroads Bar and Grille, a Fitness Center and free high-speed, wireless Internet access throughout the hotel. Visit Richmond, Virginia and enjoy the comforts of home at the Holiday Inn(R) Richmond - I-64 West End hotel. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline, Travelocity, HotelQuickly, Orbitz, Cancelon, TripOnline SA and getaroom.com so you can book your Holiday Inn Richmond I 64 West End reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Richmond i 64 West End Hotel Richmond
Crossroads Holiday Inn
Richmond Holiday Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing