We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Leaves a lot to be desired...”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Holiday Inn Richmond South-Bells Road
Ranked #39 of 81 Hotels in Richmond
Salem, Virginia
Level Contributor
21 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Leaves a lot to be desired...”
Reviewed October 6, 2013 via mobile

The reviews that I read about this place leading up to our stay we're pretty accurate. Although, I came in with an open mind I was not persuaded otherwise. We were able to get a really good deal via Groupon for our stay. This is the only thing that made the stay worth it. I only paid $66 night with the Groupon voucher and after staying here I wouldn't want to pay any more than that. $66 is a fair value for this place so I'm not sure how they continue to lure guests in here with rates in the $80-90 range. It is close to I-95 and 64 which makes it convenient for traveling.

It really wasn't like they did a bunch of stuff wrong, they just didn't overwhelm me with service or cleanliness. Our room was adequately furnished, had an A/C unit that worked well, and didn't smell like cigarette smoke so that was a plus. However, our bathroom was a bit small and very dark with only one light. The toilet seat has no lid which is not sanitary. There was a patch job above the shower that looks like it might have been done by an apprentice or someone just learning to do patchwork. Around 4:30 on Saturday (we checked in Friday night and left on Sunday) we returned from a day of shopping in Williamsburg and wanted to shower and freshen up before heading out for dinner. We were informed that there was a shortage of towels and that we would not be able to get any for another hour or more. This was a problem since we had already thrown our towels onto the bathroom floor expecting to get new ones. We were not pleased with that.

Overall, this was a good value at $66, but paying anything more than that would not be appropriate for this place. I have stayed in many Holiday Inn's, but none have been this below average.

Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Corey F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Amit V, Manager at Holiday Inn Richmond South-Bells Road, responded to this review, October 13, 2013
Dear Corey F,

We appreciate you posting your thoughts about our hotel. We apologize that we did not live up to our high standards with your stay. Your comments will be passed onto the appropriate departments so they are made aware. We look forward to seeing you again.


Sincerely,
The Management Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

259 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    108
    65
    40
    24
    22
See reviews for
84
38
27
62
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (55)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Richardson, Texas
Level Contributor
22 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed October 2, 2013

We stayed at the Holiday Inn South-Bells Road for one night in September after attending a NASCAR race in Richmond. We arrived very late after the race so I guess the front desk person was very tired but he (I don't think he even had a name tag) barely spoke to us. The lobby looked okay though some of the furniture looked a bit tired and was coming apart at the seams. We went to our room and everything seemed to be okay. The beds were reasonably comfortable though I was sleeping on the side next to the AC unit so it blew on me all night.

The next morning while getting ready we noticed issues with the room and specifically the bathroom. First of all it appeared that a previous guest let (I assume) a child play with nail polish as it was all over the floor in different areas and on the wall in the bathroom.

The bathroom has a large counter which was nice so we all had somewhere to put our things. It REALLY grosses me out that there is no toilet lid to close when you flush the toilet. The amount of germs that are spread from flushing the toilet without the lid closed is well known and it would be easy enough for the hotel to have seats with lids. The towel bar in the bathroom looked as though it was about to fall off the wall. It appears there may have been a recent remodel in the room but it wasn't finished completely. The "ring" to the shower head was loose so you could see the hole in the wall, the faucet to the tub wasn't flush so water could (and will) get behind the wall along with the overflow drain was not properly installed.

There was a small refrigerator, coffee pot and a microwave with plugs in the front to plug in the coffee pot. The room was also very dirty from a lack of a thorough cleaning. The housekeeping manager needs to be spot checking rooms daily to make sure things are being taken care of.

Our biggest issue was breakfast the next morning at the restaurant "Sporting News Grill". We arrived and there was nobody at the hostess stand to seat us, we waited over 10 minutes and at one point a hotel employee walked by us and another group twice without so much as a word to us or to someone working at the restaurant to let them know we were waiting. We eventually gave up and sat ourselves at one of the few clean tables. The chairs in the restaurant should have been replaced a couple of years ago as they show a lot of wear. We waited at least another 10 minutes for someone to take our drink order - waters and coffee. After waiting a LONG time I gave up, went behind the bar to grab a pitcher, filled it with water and then went to the server station and got styrofoam cups with coffee.

By the time the Banquet Manager, Robert Anderson came to take our food order we were quite frustrated. There were only seven tables with people at them and it seemed as though he was working one table at a time. To his credit, Mr. Anderson handled our complaints well and apologized saying he had two employees that did not show for their shift and he was supposed to be preparing for a banquet that afternoon. I felt bad for him and wondered why there was no restaurant GM, someone from the hotel or ANYONE that could help in the restaurant. The restaurant should be ran separately from banquets and should have their own manager and staff. Whoever is in charge of the restaurant should be fired as they apparently did not properly prepare for the fact that the hotel would be busy due to the race. I understand people not showing up for shifts but I do not understand hotel employees milling about while one person runs around in the restaurant like a chicken with his head cut off because he is the only one there. Mr. Anderson was very kind, apologetic and handled the situation as best he could but there needs to be systems in place to make sure there is enough help in the restaurant when needed. Every single Holiday Inn employee who was working that morning should be ashamed of themselves for not pitching in and helping where help was needed whether it was their job or not.

Based on this experience I doubt we will ever return to this Holiday Inn again when in the Richmond area.

Room Tip: Chose another hotel
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank The_Picky_Traveler21
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Amit V, Manager at Holiday Inn Richmond South-Bells Road, responded to this review, October 3, 2013
Dear Britterich,

Thank you for taking the time to post your comments about your recent stay with us. We apologize that we did not live up to our high standards. We would like to discuss this further with you if you would like to contact us 804-592-2900 and ask for Dawnita or Amit (GM). I will make sure that your comments are passed onto the appropriate departments so they are made aware.

Sincerely,
The Management Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tucker, Georgia
1 review
Reviewed September 25, 2013

My family and I booked a stay here a month ago. We weren't familiar with the area, but through observation when we arrived, it seemed to be one of the better hotels in that part of town.

The staff was nice and the room was clean without odors. Unfortunately, the room we stayed in had numerous flaws. A light fixture by one of the beds didn't work. Next, the TV had trouble getting a decent reception from time to time. The two major problems I had involved the WiFi and the AC unit in the room. With the WiFi, I could barely get a signal in the room. I had to go down to the lobby just use the WiFi on my phone. The worst issue we had was the AC unit. We couldn't shut it off and it stayed on all night long! It was very loud and the sound would sometimes wake me from my sleep.

For the price, it's an average hotel. The convenient access to I-95 is probably its best feature.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Michael H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Amit V, Manager at Holiday Inn Richmond South-Bells Road, responded to this review, September 28, 2013
Dear Michael H,

We appreciate you posting your comments about your stay at our hotel. We apologize for the issues you had during your stay. I have passed the information on to our engineering department. Thank you and we look forward to seeing you when you are in Richmond.


Sincerley,
The Management Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
11 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed September 3, 2013 via mobile

have stayed here about 30 times. Great rooms, ncely decorated and always clean. Good restaurant & bar. Nothing else around the area. Easy access to I-95. Friendly and curtious stay. Nice exercise room.

  • Stayed August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank bigmook
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Amit V, Manager at Holiday Inn Richmond South-Bells Road, responded to this review, September 8, 2013
Dear Big Mook,

Thank you, so much, for taking the time to post your very kind comments! We are so happy that you enjoy staying with us. We look forward to your next visit with us. Your comments will be passed onto the entire staff.


Sincerely,
The Management Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Staten Island, New York, United States
Level Contributor
47 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed August 15, 2013

Needed to get a room for the night as my wife was injured on vacation and we were driving from SC to NY and she needed to rest. Problem was we had our dog. We stopped and asked for availability of a pet friendly room that would also accommodate a wheelchair . Te front desk staff was very accommodating and we got a nice room, vey clean and decorated well. I took a dip in the pool and later had dinner at the Sports Pub adjacent to the lobby. Good food and service .

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank JimCowan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Amit V, Manager at Holiday Inn Richmond South-Bells Road, responded to this review, August 18, 2013
Dear Jim,

We appreciate you taking the time to post such a positive review. We are very pleased that you had such a great time and experience. Your comments will be passed onto the entire staff.

We hope to be of service to you in the future.

Sincerely,
The Management Team,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mountain Top, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
9 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed August 13, 2013

I really wanted to like this hotel, I really did.
Pictures show a newly renovated property. I thought it would be perfect decently priced hotel to stay overnight for a halfway mark on a family trip to SC.

Walking in, we received a super warm and extra happy welcome...... however it was from a very drunk Southerner drinking Budweiser out of his pickup truck parked conspicuously in FRONT of the hotel main entrance where EVERY guest could see him. Guess that kind of thing is the norm 'round those parts. All the staff saw him, he was there for quite some time.

Next we received a standard "Name? Credit Card?" list of questions and no real welcoming feeling from staff. Fair enough, wasn't expecting much. We were told where our room was and directed to the elevators. There we were then joined by yet another DRUNK Southerner drinking alcohol IN the elevator with yes, a Budweiser. A little uncomfortable w my two kids...but it was fine.

When we got to our floor I noticed there was absolutely NO A/C in the hallways (A/C on the 1st floor hallways, but every subsequent floor was humid and sticky. Maybe it was broke on all levels except 1st, I don't know. Our room was very pretty, very clean, very modern, was very pleased w room accomodations: down comforter, fluffy choice of firm or soft pillows, fridge, microwave, desk. Down point, did not like the A/C units in the room ( was not central air), they were loud and blew our curtains upwards each time the air was on. The walls were thin and could hear everyone who passed in the hallways or shut their door. We also had a view of the pool---which actually we were afraid to swim in after viewing iur view. From our room we sawa bunch of gangster looking people drinking Forty Ounces by the pool.

Then there's the restaurant The SPorting News Grill located on sight. I did a separate review of the eatery, check it out. Looked nice from appearance, but WAY below average food, service and overall atmosphere.

All in all, the rooms were clean, I slept well, there was a coffee pot in a special space above the fridge (with NO outlet so I had to plug in the bathroom...weird....and no toilet cover on the toilet so I always felt like something was going to fall in) but the rooms and bathrooms were very nice

Richmond is a poor area, so if staying in this area, don't expect much of scenery in ALL respects, and a sub par stay at a nicely redone hotel at Hoilday Inn Bells South.

Room Tip: Choose a different town.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank tamarajoy9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Amit V, Manager at Holiday Inn Richmond South-Bells Road, responded to this review, August 18, 2013
Dear Tamarajoy9,

Thank you for your feedback. I am sorry that your experience at the Holiday Inn Richmond-South fell short. I would welcome the opportunity to speak with you, at your convenience, so I can address the specifics of your stay. I can be reached at 804-592-2900 . We value all comments so that we may continually improve guest experience, and I sincerely apologize for your inconvenience.

Respectfully,

Dawnita Bernier
Front Desk Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Atlanta, Georgia
Level Contributor
58 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed August 12, 2013

Went to Richmond for a wedding with my family. The Location was excellent, right off 95. The rooms were a little cramped but the beds were very comfortable. The cleaning staff did an awesome job, and were very accommodating, the Front desk staff were all very friendly. Had breakfast at their restaurant grill. Food was good, service was slow. Overall, I would recommend this hotel.

Room Tip: I stayed on the upper floor, asked for the pool view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Gladys G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Amit V, Manager at Holiday Inn Richmond South-Bells Road, responded to this review, August 18, 2013
Dear Valued Guest,

Thank you for taking the time to share your thoughts about our hotel and staff. We will pass your comments on to the entire staff. We are happy that you enjoyed your stay with us and look forward to you staying with us whenever you are in the Richmond area.


Sincerely,
The Management Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Richmond hotels
0.1 mi away
Red Roof Inn - Richmond South
0.1 mi away
Candlewood Suites Richmond-South
0.1 mi away
Hampton Inn Richmond South
Hampton Inn Richmond South
#29 of 81 in Richmond
403 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
8.5 mi away
Best Western Plus Governor's Inn
12.4 mi away
Quality Inn West End
Quality Inn West End
#44 of 81 in Richmond
230 reviews
6.5 mi away
Candlewood Suites Richmond Airport
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Holiday Inn Richmond South-Bells Road? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Richmond South-Bells Road

Property: Holiday Inn Richmond South-Bells Road
Address: 4303 Commerce Rd, Richmond, VA 23234-2239
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Virginia > Richmond
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #39 of 81 Hotels in Richmond
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Holiday Inn Richmond South-Bells Road 3*
Number of rooms: 167
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
WARM WELCOME A new signature arrival will welcome you to the property including new lighting, to guide your way, landscaping & design features that creates an energized & branded sense of welcome that is universally recognizable. Customized music & scent selections engage guests in a full sensory experience. New Service Promise: A Best-in-Class service culture Stay Real to further ensure the team develops the behaviors & skills to serve guests so they feel like individuals & not numbers; genuine people delivering real service. We are Richmond s NEWEST Holiday Inn located near the airport (RIC). Located off of I-95 at Belles Rd., exit 69 & near I-64 & I-895. Our full-service facility will take care of all your needs & exceed your expectations! See a different game in the Sporting News Grill, a sports themed restaurant to provide the perfect place to connect, dine & catch your favorite team in action during a stay at the Holiday Inn Richmond. CLOSE TO WHERE YOU NEED TO BE Minutes away from; Richmond International Airport (RIC), Phillip Morris, Honeywell, Dupont & Fort Lee & the other many companies in the area. Also, enjoy the many attractions in Richmond; Richmond International Speedway, Kings Dominion & Brown s Island. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, IHG, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Hotwire, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, Cheap Tickets, HotelQuickly, getaroom.com and Hotel.de so you can book your Holiday Inn Richmond South-Bells Road reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Richmond South-Bells Road Hotel Richmond

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing