We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“reasonable price, nice accomodation and good management” 3 of 5 bubbles
Review of Super 8 Richmond/Broad Street

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Super 8 Richmond/Broad Street
Ranked #76 of 81 Hotels in Richmond
Bay Area
1 review
“reasonable price, nice accomodation and good management”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 10, 2010

I went there to attend a friends wedding and the my friend has reserved this motel for me. I was expecting this to be like any other motel where you get management is grumpy when you call them in the middle of the night to ask for one thing after another as your having a blast with your friends. But to my surprise, the management was very helpfull and patient with us. The rooms that we got were clean and nice and the price was very reasonable as well. I would easily recommend this place to my friends.

  • Stayed January 2010, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank traveller1432
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Super8richmond, FD Mgr at Super 8 Richmond/Broad Street, responded to this review, April 13, 2010
Thank you for such a great review! I'm so glad you love the place as much as I do! We really take pride in making your stay here a pleasant one. If we can do anything in the future, please do not hesitate to ask! Take care & we hope to see you again soon. Remember, You're Always Welcome!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

102 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    4
    12
    18
    20
    48
See reviews for
27
18
12
28
Rating summary
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    2.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    2 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    2.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    2.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    2.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (3)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Winchester,VA
Level Contributor
15 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 6, 2010

Spent (2) nights in Richmond checking out local colleges. Enjoyed my stay at Super 8 Broad Street. Many restaurants nearby, good central location. Great rate & wireless internet.

  • Stayed April 2010, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank roadwarrrior2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Super8richmond, PR MGR at Super 8 Richmond/Broad Street, responded to this review, April 7, 2010
Thank you for such a great review! I'm so glad you love the place as much as I do! We really take pride in making your stay here a pleasant one. If we can do anything in the future, please do not hesitate to ask! Take care & we hope to see you again soon. Remember, You're Always Welcome!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 6, 2010

Good choice for a its location is prime and very resonable prices and it was clean. We did not have any problem with the room but the continental breakfast is limited (english muffins, honeybuns and cereals, coffee and juice).They have free wifi and my room had a microwave and fridge to keep my beers cold so this is a plus, so got what i needed. As my main concern was to find a clean hotel i can recommend this one.

  • Stayed March 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Sean555
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Super8richmond, Frnt Dsk Mgr at Super 8 Richmond/Broad Street, responded to this review, April 13, 2010
Thank you for such a great review! I'm so glad you love the place as much as I do! We really take pride in making your stay here a pleasant one. If we can do anything in the future, please do not hesitate to ask! Take care & we hope to see you again soon. Remember, You're Always Welcome!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NEW YORK
1 review
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 13, 2009

This Hotel was really the deal and worth the money. I checked in the hotel the lobby is very small but the rooms are decent clean and on a prime location and the rates are very low, i got online deal for 44.99 and the i think what i paid for was very worthy., break fast is pretty basic like 2 types of cereal, english muffins/ bagel, juice, mufiins, honey buns and coffee was really nice. free wifi.
Would recommend it if you are not looking to spend too much for a night stay where u dont even stay in the room with those flat screen tv's and modern furnishing but pay twice or more than what i got here for.

  • Stayed November 2009, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank ROBERT96
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Super8richmond, PR MGR at Super 8 Richmond/Broad Street, responded to this review, April 7, 2010
Thank you for such a great review! I'm so glad you love the place as much as I do! We really take pride in making your stay here a pleasant one. If we can do anything in the future, please do not hesitate to ask! Take care & we hope to see you again soon. Remember, You're Always Welcome!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Philadelphia, PA
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 5, 2007

You have to enter just one door, and are greeted with a cramped area with a desk person behind bullet-proof glass. This is the only entrance door, and a doorbell rang every time you came in. The hallways were dark and scary, as well as smelly. The room was dirty - looked like someone blew their nose on one of the towels. The bathroom looked like it needed some major renovation. We were a bit late checking out, and two people came banging on the door yelling at us that it was time to leave. Overall, a terrible experience.

  • Liked — Location
  • Disliked — Everything else
  • Stayed July 2007, traveled on business
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Check in / front desk
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
1 Thank JohnP85
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
11 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 18, 2006

We picked this motel originally becuase of its low price, and location-decent part of Richmond, not far from our destination. My husband had an early am meeting at the Richmond Omni, where we would be staying the following nights (the Omni and its staff were wonderful!!!), and thought this location would be a good place to crash the night before rather than leaving our home at 3:30 am to make the meeting. Perhaps a good idea, but not a good hotel.
Upon check in, we encountered, not a real person, but a glass partition, similiar to what prisons and some gas stations use. We then had to use a house phone to call the desk person to come out from their room. Upon entering our room, this is what we found.
Pros-the King room was spacious.
Cons-We were in a basement of sorts. It was just really odd....when you looked out your tiny windows you had to gaze slightly up to see the "ground. The self contatinied bathroom was really teeny, and the whole room smelled musty and mildewy. Our king bed had two small pillows. Travelling with our daughter, I went down the stinky hallway, and I seriously mean stinky....think multiple wet ashtrays, and lots of old chineese take out hanging out in a damp enclosed room for a few days, pee-yeww!, to ask for some more pillows. Upon calling on the phone, someone finally comes out, motions for me to follow, then to stand out side another guest room. They go in and shut the door to this guest room, and then come out and hand me a pillow. Weird. We settle in take showers and our room becomes a hot steamy rainforest sauna. Try to urn on the ac, and it make this hideous (wallunit a/c, by the way. like what one would use in a college dorm), screackhing noice. You can hear it outside in the hall way. even with the door shut. Sooo bad, and it puts off this odor, which we discove is probally coming from all the fuzz and mold growing in its filter. The floor along the sides of the walland between the furniture were not vaccuumed....only the main floor area seems partially clean. We did not sleep much as it seemed elephant were moving furniture above us while we sweated in the room below. Oh, the "deluxe" continental breakfast was coffee???, oj, bagels, no butter, but some cream cheese and two or three muffins.
Here is the kicker. We contacted Super 8 after we returned home. They decided the best way to handle this was to call the general manager, and let him call us, several times, AT OUR HOME!!!!!!!!(I think this person was the owner as well, we found out that not all Super 8's are owned by Super 8, and that many are private owned, with franchise). Therefore the solution was this. After the phone calls we received a paper letter entitling us to best room with 20% discount....Umm hello, not trying to sound mean, but its not like we would go back after that kind of experience!! Yikes. I also want to say, this so far is the only Super 8 we have found to be yucky, we have one in our home town that I actually recommend to out of town visitors above higher class hotels in our area because of their friendly staff, and attention to cleanliness and maintence. Thank goodness for the Omni, which had us feeling better as soon as we pulled up .

Stayed June 2006
Helpful?
Thank WVA_Mommy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor Member
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 26, 2006

My husband, 3year son and myself stayed here 2 nights Columbus Day weekend 2005. We were looking for some place inexpensive and in a good location to shopping and restaurants. (location was great) I had stay at other Super 8's before but never one that was dirty. When we arrived the bathroom towels had somebody's long hair on them, the room smelled old and musty, the did not vaccum I don't even know if the have one. I was not expecting it to be like a Marriot but it could have at least been clean.

  • Stayed October 2005
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Richmond
0.2 mi away
Econo Lodge-Broad St
Econo Lodge-Broad St
#65 of 81 in Richmond
3.0 of 5 bubbles 22 reviews
0.3 mi away
BEST WESTERN Executive Hotel
0.9 mi away
Suburban Extended Stay Hotel - Richmond
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.0 mi away
Quality Inn West End
Quality Inn West End
#39 of 81 in Richmond
3.5 of 5 bubbles 214 reviews
0.4 mi away
Extended Stay America - Richmond - W. Broad Street - Glenside - South
0.4 mi away
Extended Stay America - Richmond - W. Broad Street - Glenside - North
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Super 8 Richmond/Broad Street? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Super 8 Richmond/Broad Street

Property: Super 8 Richmond/Broad Street
Address: 7200 West Broad Street, Richmond, VA 23294-3602
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Virginia > Richmond
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #76 of 81 Hotels in Richmond
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Super 8 Richmond/Broad Street 2*
Number of rooms: 44
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Super 8 Richmond / Broad Street hotel. Our handy amenities and convenient location off Interstate 64 help get you where you are going. Several popular attractions are near our hotel in Richmond, including the Science Museum of Virginia. Connect to free high-speed Internet to check email and look up local area attractions. Microwaves and refrigerators are available upon request in select rooms only for a nominal fee. In the morning, wake up to free 8-item SuperStart breakfast bonanza. Free parking makes it easy to get in, get out and get on with your day. Handicapped-accessible and non-smoking rooms are available. LOCAL ATTRACTIONS Our hotel in Richmond offers easy access to the area's most popular attractions. If you are traveling with your family, the Children's Museum of Richmond features exhibits that promote an engaging learning environment. The Art Studio within the Museum is great for kids of all ages. The Science Museum of Virginia offers interactive exhibits and fun, hands-on learning. If you are into the arts, the Virginia Museum of Fine Arts offers a truly unique experience, with permanent and temporary collections from across the globe. If you prefer to speed things up, Richmond International Speedway hosts NASCAR events that will get your heart pounding - do not miss the action on America's premier short track. DINING OPTIONS There are several dining options near our Richmond, VA, hotel. Firebird's Wood Fired Grill is a two-minute walk from our hotel, and serves delicious seafood and meat dishes for lunch and dinner. Take the short drive to Olive Garden for a great family-style meal, or Waffle House for tasty breakfasts, lunches, or dinners. For a quick and easy meal, McDonald's is only a two-minute walk away. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Priceline and Hotels.com so you can book your Super 8 Richmond/Broad Street reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Super 8 Motel Richmond/Broad Street Hotel Richmond
Richmond Super Eight
Richmond Super 8
Super 8 Richmond
Super Eight Richmond

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing