We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“My choice for staying when in Richmond.”
Review of Richmond Marriott

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Richmond Marriott
Ranked #22 of 81 Hotels in Richmond
Certificate of Excellence
Whitehouse Station, New Jersey
Level Contributor
14 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“My choice for staying when in Richmond.”
Reviewed December 17, 2013

Courteous staff, clean rooms and great location and the added value is the location when in Richmond. Parking fees are high as all other hotels in any major city. Highly recommended. Most staff have been there for years and know me on first name basis.

  • Stayed November 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jsantorro
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

697 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    252
    272
    109
    42
    22
See reviews for
139
108
38
336
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (119)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Western Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
109 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
Reviewed December 15, 2013

This hotel has the most pleasant staff I've ever encountered. Several times I saw employees walk guests out to the arrival court to show them the direction toward an attraction. The bedding is wonderful. The place is clean. If there's noise in the hall, you will hear it. The HVAC is a touch oppressive, but it's quiet. The room décor is very "Marriott." But the public facilities have an upscale look. Nice breakfast buffet.

Room Tip: There's no free parking, but it's cheaper if you drive around behind the hotel to the conven...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Ernest58
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Level Contributor
13 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed December 6, 2013 via mobile

My wife and I have stayed here twice, once for concert at The National, and once during the 2013 Virginia Wine Expo. The location is perfect and convenient to downtown Richmond, but we've had trouble sleeping and we've had horrible room service. Here's a quick rundown of our issues.

Sleep quality:
- light coming through door & curtain
- loud A/C and showers in other rooms
- employee was loud in hall picking up breakfast orders, woke us up at 3:00 AM

Breakfast:
- moved breakfast delivery, no confirmation until after I called back 15 minutes later, then breakfast was delivered early at wrong time
- scrambled eggs were dry, overcooked, and worse than McDonald's
- eggs Benedict was undercooked,
flavorless, and soggy
- bagel was low quality and barely toasted
- wrong type of muffin was delivered
- and last, the bacon was tough, rubbery, and tasteless. How can you mess up bacon!?

General
- no bottled water in the room and no vending machines in the hotel
- "at your service" button called a random phone number

We made several attempts to contact the general manager but we were ignored. I would only recommend this hotel for its convenience to the convention center and downtown Richmond.

Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank rjgale
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Silver Spring, Maryland
Level Contributor
36 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed December 4, 2013

I cannot think of one bad thing to say abt this Marriott - room and bathroom was super clean. The sports bar food was good and the service there was fine also. The breakfast was delicious. My husband and son went to the indoor pool and they said it was fine (and clean). Only possible issue was the price of the parking - pricey but I didn't know enough about the area to park elsewhere (also, the valet parking staff was wonderful and very helpful with directions). I would definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Momof1inMD
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Raleigh, North Carolina
Level Contributor
367 reviews
142 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 110 helpful votes
Reviewed November 24, 2013

This property is one of the cleanest full service Marriott's I have stayed in. The property had recently been renovated. No issues with service at all. The bed was extremely comfortable as well. Great location in downtown close to many attractions and VCU. Only issue was checking in at 11:30 am, and saw at least 5 room service trays still siiting outside of rooms from the night before in our hallway. Should have been removed much sooner but other than that, great stay.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ECU1987
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Durham, North Carolina
Level Contributor
196 reviews
35 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 60 helpful votes
Reviewed November 18, 2013

My family stayed here during the Richmond marathon and I spent quite a bit of time there over the course of the weekend. The restaurants all had pretty good food, however the service was pretty slow - 45minutes + waiting for breakfast. Aside from that, the staff was incredibly helpful with accommodating marathoners that weekend and were also very knowledgeable about the area. The facilities were very clean and updated. The room my inlaws stayed in was beautiful and had fantastic views of the city and beyond.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled with family
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Anngie22
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
boston
Level Contributor
24 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed November 10, 2013

Pleased by the very well trained staff, unfailingly courteous at all levels.
Mattress, pillows and bedding were excellent quality.

Conference AV in meeting rooms needs an upgrade. Image quality (resolution) was not what it should be these days.

Workout room was better than most: well maintained, plenty of equipment, clean and quiet.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank naraks
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Richmond hotels
0.1 mi away
Hilton Richmond Downtown
0.6 mi away
Courtyard Richmond Downtown
0.3 mi away
Linden Row Inn
Linden Row Inn
#6 of 81 in Richmond
1,013 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Crowne Plaza Richmond Downtown
0.3 mi away
Homewood Suites by Hilton Richmond - Downtown
0.5 mi away
Omni Richmond Hotel
Omni Richmond Hotel
#11 of 81 in Richmond
1,854 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Richmond Marriott? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Richmond Marriott

Property: Richmond Marriott
Address: 500 E Broad St, Richmond, VA 23219-1812
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Virginia > Richmond
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#16 Romantic Hotel in Richmond
#17 Business Hotel in Richmond
#18 Family Hotel in Richmond
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Richmond Marriott 3.5*
Number of rooms: 410
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Situated in the heart of downtown, the newly renovated Richmond Marriott offers a blend of luxury and Southern charm. Guests entering this award-winning hotel in downtown Richmond will enjoy prime location within steps of the Richmond Coliseum, the State Capitol Building, and CenterStage Theater, while being connected to the Greater Richmond Convention Center via skywalk. Guests will be greeted with a warm welcome to a stylish lobby that is highlighted by modern decor, a Starbucks Coffee Shop, and a concierge desk. The well-appointed guest rooms and suites offer stunning city views, Marriott's signature Revive(R) bedding, and flat-screen TVs with premium cable. The onsite T-Miller's Sports Bar & Grill provides a delicious menu of American favorites combined with craft beer and signature cocktails. Guests looking to head out for the evening can start off the night at the lobby's Liberty Bar, and take the complimentary shuttle to a number of diverse dining and entertainment venues. With over 26,000 sq. Ft. Of newly-renovated event space, this hotel also provides an excellent destination for hosting business meetings, corporate conferences, and wedding receptions in Richmond. Whether you are staying for business or taking a weekend getaway, the Marriott hotel is the perfect choice for your next trip to Richmond, VA. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Orbitz, Hotwire, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, Cancelon, Priceline, Cheap Tickets, HotelQuickly, Hotel.de and getaroom.com so you can book your Richmond Marriott reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Richmond Marriott Hotel Richmond
Marriott Richmond

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing